Louisa County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Louisa County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Louisa
Organized: 01 Dec 1742[1]
Parent County(s): Hanover
Neighboring Counties
Albemarle  • Fluvanna  • Goochland  • Hanover  • Orange  • Spotsylvania
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaLouisaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Louisa County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Louisa County is located in the central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named in honor of Princess Louisa, daughter of King George II and Queen Caroline of England.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Louisa County Courthouse
314 West Main Street
PO Box 524
Louisa, VA 23093
Phone: 540-967-5330
Louisa County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1867-1896, marriage, divorce and probate records from 1742 and land records[3]

Louisa County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1742 1864 1742 1742 1742 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Order books before 1761 (with the exception of 1742-1748) have been lost.
  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1810, 1890
  • Bell, John C. "Louisa County Records: Some Effects of Clerk James Littlepage's Succession by John Nelson," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 29, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1985):163-174. Online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 29 (1985).
  • Bell, John C. Louisa County Records You Probably Never Saw of 18th Century Virginia. Nashville, Tenn., 1983.
  • Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.


For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit https://virginia.hometownlocator.com/counties/cities,cfips,109,c,louisa.cfm HomeTown Locator]. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]


VAGenWeb's free Louisa County Master Index is an excellent place to start searches for your Louisa County ancestors.

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Louisa Court House silversmiths.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Louisa County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 8,467
1800 11,892 40.5%
1810 11,900 0.1%
1820 13,746 15.5%
1830 16,151 17.5%
1840 15,433 −4.4%
1850 16,691 8.2%
1860 16,701 0.1%
1870 16,332 −2.2%
1880 18,942 16.0%
1890 16,997 −10.3%
1900 16,517 −2.8%
1910 16,578 0.4%
1920 17,089 3.1%
1930 14,309 −16.3%
1940 13,665 −4.5%
1950 12,826 −6.1%
1960 12,959 1.0%
1970 14,004 8.1%
1980 17,825 27.3%
1990 20,325 14.0%
2000 25,627 26.1%
2010 33,153 29.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 - Exists. Available in print:

  • Davis, Rosalie Edith Davis. Louisa County, Virginia, Tithables and Census, 1743-1785. Manchester, Missouri: Heritage Trails, 1981. Available at FHL. [Includes 1782 Census of Louisa County, Virginia.]

1790 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.
1800 - Exists, but it is not included in Ancestry or Heritage Quest Online databases. A subsitute is also available, see Taxation.
1810 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.

1850 - Exists. Available in print:

  • Hiatt, Marty and Craig Roberts Scott. Louisa County, Virginia 1850 Federal Census. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1995. Available at FHL.

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Bera (1791). A history has been published: Louisa County Historical Magazine, Vol. 34, No. 1 (Spring 2003).
  2. Little River (1774).[8] A history has been published: Louisa County Historical Magazine, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Fall 1992) and Vol. 24, No. 1 (Spring 1993).
  3. Louisa (1770).[9]
  4. Roundabout (1791)
  5. Scarrot's (1777) A history has been published: Louisa County Historical Magazine, Vol. 20, No. 1 (Spring 1989).
  6. Thompson's, or Goldmine aka Gold Mine (1770). A history has been published: Louisa County Historical Magazine, Vol. 5, No. 1 (Summer 1973).
  7. Williams (by 1778).
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Louisa County fell within the bounds of the Goshen Association.

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Fredericksville Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Martin's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Trinity Parish

  • Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Louisa County is available online.[10]


Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Camp Creek Monthly Meeting (1747-1790).[11] Hinshaw published the early records: FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.[12]
  • Fork Creek Monthly Meeting (1746-1778)
  • 1739-1793 Quaker Records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793 by Mary Marshall Brewer. Colonial Roots, Lewes, DE., 2002. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b

In the 1700s and 1800s, Friends from Louisa County, Virginia Genealogy also attended the Cedar Creek Meeting House in Hanover County, Virginia.[13]


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

  • Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index can be used to search digital images of Louisa County chancery records for the years 1753-1913.
  • Post-1913 Louisa County chancery court records are located at the Circuit Court Clerk's office.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American
In 1860, Louisa County had one of the largest enslaved populations in the state (10,194 slaves). Ten years later in 1870, it had one of the largest African American populations in Virginia (10,063).[14]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Blankenship, Gayle King. Virginia Families of Louisa, Hanover and Monroe Counties. Poquoson, Va.: G.K. Blankenship, 1991. FHL Book 975.5 D2bg
  • Hansford, Thelma Ironmonger. Miscellaneous Records for the Hill and Related Families. MSS., Microfilmed 1990: FHL Film 1728880 Item 1.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Sullivan. 790 patents dated 1718-1838 in what is now Louisa County, Virginia placed on a map). DeedMapper, 2003. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Orange CountySpotsylvania CountyHanover CountyGoochland CountyFluvanna CountyAlbemarle CountyVA LOUISA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Westmoreland County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Louisa County, see pp. 88, 111.]
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.


Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Louisa County on page 131.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.

Louisa residents' participation in the Revolutionary War.[15]

Regiments. Service men in Louisa County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Louisa County supplied soldiers for the:

- 3rd Virginia Regiment
- 14th Virginia Regiment



War of 1812

  • Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL. [Includes Louisa County.]
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Louisa County, pp. 88-89. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
  • Militia records, Sept.-Dec. 1814; accounts, 1816-1822 Virginia Militia Regiment 40th (Louisa County), Virginia, Militia, Brigade, 3rd, Virginia Militia, Brigade, 4th1 Microfilm, FHL Film 32234 Item 1

Regiments. Louisa County men served in the 40th Regiment.[16]

Civil War

Regiments. Men from Louisa County can be found in the following regiments:

- 13th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (The Louisa Blues).[17]
- 23rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Louisa Rifles), Company D (Louisa Grays), and Company G (Frederick's Hall Grays).[18]
- 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Ambler Grays).[19]
- 56th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies C (Louisa Holiday Guards) and F (Louisa Nelson Grays).[20]

Records and histories are available, including:

  • Louisa County men most often served in regiments (and companies) from their home county. At times, however, individuals and small groups can be found serving in regiments from neighboring counties. Be advised that later in the war Confederate units often reorganized.

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Louisa County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865



World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1743-1785 Davis, Rosalie Edith Davis. Louisa County, Virginia, Tithables and Census, 1743-1785. Manchester, Missouri: Heritage Trails, 1981. Available at FHL.
  • 1767 Louisa County, Virginia 1767 Tithables & Census (partial) at VAGenWeb
  • 1769 Tax List, 1769, St. Martins Parish, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 1 (Jan. 1976). Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • 1782-1800 Louisa County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1800 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782 Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Available through the FamilySearch Catalog ; FHL. [1782 personal property tax list of Louisa County.]
  • 1782 Tax Book, 1782, Louisa County Historical Magazine, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Jun. 1969).
  • 1782-1814 Heinegg, Paul. "Louisa County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1814," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Louisa County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • 1791 Indexed images of the 1791 Personal Property Tax List of Louisa County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1798 Images of the 1798 Personal Property Tax List of Louisa County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 37, No. 3 (Jul. 1993); Vol. 37, No. 4 (Oct. 1993); Vol. 38, No. 1 (Jan. 1994); Vol. 38, No. 2 (Apr. 1994). Available at FHL.
  • 1810 Schreiner-Yates, Netti. A Supplement to the 1810 Census of Virginia: Tax Lists of the Counties for which the Census is Missing. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1971. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1810 personal property tax lists. Louisa County is included because the 1810 Census for that county has been destroyed.]
  • 1810 Personal Property Tax 1810, Genealogical Forum of Portland Oregon Bulletin, Vol. 15, No. 4 (Dec. 1965); Vol. 15, No. 5 (Jan. 1966); Vol. 15, No. 6 (Feb. 1966); Vol. 15, No. 7 (Mar. 1966).
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Louisa County is included in Vol. 1.]
  • 1890-1900 Mineral City Tax List, 1890-1900, Louisa County Historical Magazine, Vol. 21, No. 1 (Spring 1990).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Louisa County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Louisa County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Louisa County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

VAGenWeb's free Louisa County Master Index is an excellent place to start searches for your Louisa County ancestors.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. https://www.louisacounty.com/549/History-of-Louisa
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Louisa_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Louisa_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 13 February 2020.
  8. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 186. Digital version at Google Books.
  9. Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772), 93-94. Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
  10. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  11. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  12. William Wade Hinshaw, Thomas W. Marshall and John Cox, Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy (Ann Arbor, Mich.: Edwards Bros., 1950). Vol. 6. FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.
  13. Mary Marshall Brewer, Quaker Records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793 (Lewes, De.: Colonial Roots, 2002), Introduction. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b.
  14. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  15. J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 36-37. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  16. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 129. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  17. David F. Riggs, 13th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 49.
  18. Thomas M. Rankin, 23rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 14.
  19. Kevin C. Ruffner, 44th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 39.
  20. William A. Young Jr. and Patricia C. Young, 56th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 63.
  21. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).