Loudoun County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Loudoun County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Leesburg
Organized: 01 Jul 1757[1]
Parent County(s): Fairfax
Variant Spellings: Loudon
Neighboring Counties
Clarke  • Fairfax  • Fauquier  • Frederick (MD)  • Jefferson (WV)  • Montgomery (MD)  • Prince William  • Washington (MD)
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaLoudounCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Loudoun County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Loudoun County is located in the northern portion of Virginia. The county was named for John Campbell, fourth Earl of Loudoun, a Scottish nobleman who served as Commander-in-Chief for all British armed forces in North America and titular Governor of Virginia from 1756 to 1768.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Loudoun County Courthouse
18 East Market Street
Leesburg, VA 20176
Phone: 703-777-0312
Loudoun County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1853-1859, 1864-1866, 1869-1879, death records 1853-1866, marriage records from 1793, divorce, probate and land records from 1757, court records from 1858, and tithables 1758-1786[3]

Loudoun County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1793 1853 1858 1757 1757 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Loudoun County has suffered some record loss. The following records cannot be found:
  1. Survey books.
  2. A few original wills.
  3. Pre-1793 marriage bonds (only "F" groom surname bonds survive). Ministers' returns can be used as a substitute for many of the marriages occurring between 1757 and 1793.
  4. One court minute/order book.
  5. Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

4th Earl of Loudoun

Loudoun County is named after Major General John Campbell, 4th Earl of Loudoun (1705-1782). Campbell, a Scottish nobleman, served as Governor General of Virginia (1756-1758) at the time Loudoun County was organized.[8] [9] When Loudoun County was organized, the eastern border was Difficult Run. Officials moved the line further northwest to near Sugarland Run in 1798. The boundary, a straight line, does not follow the stream. This boundary change impacts genealogists, because this land and its occupants, which had originally belonged to Fairfax County, fell under the jurisdiction of Loudoun County for 40 years, from 1757 to 1798, after which time it went back to Fairfax County.[10]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • "Beard Account Book," Loudoun: The 1757 Legacy, Newsletter of the Loudoun Genealogy Club, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Sep. 1997):1; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Dec. 1997):3; Vol. 6, No. 1 (Mar. 1998):3. FHL Collection [Identifies persons with accounts 1790s-1840s.]
  • Binns, John. A Treatise on Practical Farming. Thomas Balch Library, Leesburg, Va.
  • "Business Directory of Leesburg: Containing the Names of Merchants and Mechanics with Their Places of Business, published by William L. Stork, Bookseller & Stationer, Leesburg, VA, 1860," Loudoun: The 1757 Legacy, Newsletter of the Loudoun Genealogy Club, Vol. 5, No. 1 (Mar. 1997):1; Vol. 5, No. 2 (June 1997):3; Vol. 5, No. 3 (Sep. 1997):2. FHL Collection
  • Business Licenses, 1757-1900. Available online, courtesy: The Archives of the Clerk of the Loudoun County Circuit Court. [Includes liquor, mill, ordinary, restaurant and hotel, and retail indexes.]
  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. FHL Collection [Includes a section on Leesburg silversmiths.]
  • "Hillsboro General Store, Post Office and Lending Library 1821-1836," Loudoun: The 1757 Legacy, Newsletter of the Loudoun Genealogy Club, Vol. 6, No. 2/3 (Sep. 1998):1; Vol. 6, No. 4 (Dec. 1998):3. FHL Collection [Indexes persons with accounts.]
  • List of Male and Female Indentures (Apprenticeships) from 1757-1872. Available online, courtesy: The Archives of the Clerk of the Loudoun County Circuit Court.
  • Marsh, Helen Hirst. "Early Loudoun Water Mills," The Bulletin of the Historical Society of Loudoun County, Virginia, 1957-1976. Leesburg, Va.: Goose Creek Productions, 1998, pp. 29-34. FHL Collection
  • Marsh, Helen Hirst. "Hometown Banking: The Loudoun Company," The Bulletin of the Historical Society of Loudoun County, Virginia, 1957-1976. Leesburg, Va.: Goose Creek Productions, 1998, pp. 111-116. FHL Collection
  • U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Patents, 1790-1909. Available online, courtesy: Ancestry ($). [Lists dozens of inventions patented by residents of Loudoun County, Virginia.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Loudoun County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1830 21,939 —
1840 20,431 −6.9%
1850 22,079 8.1%
1860 21,774 −1.4%
1870 20,929 −3.9%
1880 23,634 12.9%
1890 23,274 −1.5%
1900 21,948 −5.7%
1910 21,167 −3.6%
1920 20,577 −2.8%
1930 19,852 −3.5%
1940 20,291 2.2%
1950 21,147 4.2%
1960 24,549 16.1%
1970 37,150 51.3%
1980 57,427 54.6%
1990 86,129 50.0%
2000 169,599 96.9%
2010 312,311 84.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

All extant Loudoun County, Virginia census records (population, mortality, and slave schedules) have been published and indexed and volunteers are available to do free lookups for most census years, see: Loudoun County, Virginia Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Many old Loudoun County church records survive. Select Baptist, Catholic, Church of England, Episcopal, German Reformed, Lutheran, Presyterian, and Quaker records have been abstracted and published, see the Loudoun County, Virginia Church page.

  • 1742-1775 Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1742-1775. Vol. II. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1997. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Gotoarrow.png See also Cameron Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Shelburne Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Truro Parish

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Abstracts of several of Loudoun County's courts have been published, including chancery court, county court, criminal cases, Dumfries district court, fee books, and loose papers. These resources are outlined on the Loudoun County, Virginia Court page.

Law and Legislation

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American
Many resources relating to the free and enslaved black population of Loudoun County have been collected, indexed, and published to help genealogists trace their ancestors. Loudoun County, Virginia African Americans details these handy resources.

Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized records related to African Americans of Loudoun County.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Biographical Files Index, Thomas Balch Library, Leesburg, Va., available online.
  • Presgraves, Jim. Loudoun County Families and History. [Includes Memoir of Loudoun Co. 1853 by Yardley Taylor; the Loudoun Co. section of Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia by Hardesty; the Loudoun Co. section of The German Settlement by Goodhart; the Loudoun Valley Academy reunion of 1914; and Virginia Business Directory and Gazeteer 1911 for Loudoun.] Free Lookups Available!
  • Sparacio, Ruth Trickey and Sam Sparacio. A Digest of Family Relationships. 4 vols. Virginia?: R. & S. Sparacio, 1990-. Available at FHL. [Includes relationships drawn from Loudoun County, Virginia deeds.]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records
Loudoun County has a rich collection of land records. Many deeds, grants, land causes, patents, and superior court deeds have been published and indexed. Some finding aids are available online, while volunteers offer to make free lookups for others records. Loudoun County, Virginia Land assists researchers in locating finding aids and accessing the original records.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

The History of Loudoun County, Virginia website includes many articles about Loudoun's past, including the following topics: African American chronology, Civil War, Colonial history, and Indians. Other local histories include:

  • Divine, John, Brownen and Souders. When Waterford & I Were Young. Free Lookups Available!
  • Head, James W. History and Comprehensive Description of Loudoun County, Virginia. [Washington? District of Columbia]: Park View Press, 1908. FHL Collection; digital versions at Archive.org, Google Books, Heritage Quest Online ($), and World Vital Records ($).
  • "How Loudoun Fought an Epidemic in 1793," Loudoun: The 1757 Legacy, Newsletter of the Loudoun Genealogy Club, Vol. 10, No. 4 (Dec. 2002):1-2. FHL Collection
  • Nichols, Joseph V. "Tales of Old Virginia," The Bulletin of the Historical Society of Loudoun County, Virginia, 1957-1976. Leesburg, Va.: Goose Creek Productions, 1998, pp. 117-120. FHL Collection Free Lookups Available!
  • Osburn, Penelope M. "Establishing the Towns in Loudoun County," The Bulletin of the Historical Society of Loudoun County, Virginia, 1957-1976. Leesburg, Va.: Goose Creek Productions, 1998, pp. 71-75. FHL Collection Free Lookups Available!
  • Osburn, Thomas. "Former Citizen Writes Interestingly of the Inhabitants of Bluemont in the '50's," written 1923, published in Loudoun: The 1757 Legacy, Newsletter of the Loudoun Genealogy Club, Vol. 6, No. 4 (Dec. 1998):1-2; Vol. 7, No. 1 (Mar. 1999):2; Vol. 7, No. 2 (Jun. 1999):2. FHL Collection
  • Phillips, John T. The Historians Guide to Loudoun County, Virginia. Leesburg, Virginia: Goose Creek Productions, c1996. FHL Collection Free Lookups Available! [One section of this book was republished as "Colonial Ferries and Ordinaries at Goose Creek," Loudoun: The 1757 Legacy, Newsletter of the Loudoun Genealogy Club, Vol. 2, No. 1 (Fall 1993):1-2. FHL Collection
  • Scheel, Eugene M. The Story of Purcellville. Free Lookups Available!
  • 1660-1800 Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 at Ancestry — index ($)
  • Weatherly, Yetive. Lovettsville, the German Settlement. Free Lookups

House Histories
House histories have become a popular hobby. Learning about the inheritance of specific estates can aid genealogists in piecing together family trees. Loudoun County, Virginia House Histories points readers to such resources.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Clarke CountyFauquier CountyPrince William CountyFairfax CountyMontgomery CountyFrederick CountyJefferson CountyWashington CountyVA LOUDOUN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Several historic maps of Loudoun County survive. Modern maps, created to show county boundary changes, and to plot land owners, are also available, see: Loudoun County, Virginia Maps.

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1976):199-208; Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1978):43-50.. FHL Collection; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Loudoun County's 1790 Delinquent List appears on 20:201-202; 1786 and 1788 Delinquent Lists appear on 22:44-45.]
  • Loudoun Co., Virginia to Ohio: Migration of Families, courtesy: USGenWeb.
  • Moore, Robert P. "New Jersey Families in Loudoun Co., Va., Tithable Lists in the 1700s," The Nelson County Genealogist, Vol. 9, No. 1 (Autumn 1992):9-10. FHL Collection
  • "Pennsylvania-Germans in Loudoun Co., VA," Pennsylvania German, Vol. 9, No. 3 (Mar. 1908).
  • Weatherly, Yetive. Lovettsville, the German Settlement. Free Lookups Available!

Transportation

  • Constantino, Roberto. Miscellaneous Road Cases, Loudoun County, Virginia, 1758-1782: Loudoun County Circuit Court, Clerk of Circuit Court, Archives: Miscellaneous Road Cases, Files No. 38 to 48, Leesburg, Virginia. Westminster, Maryland: Willow Bend Books: Heritage Books, 2003. FHL Collection
  • Rose, Murray. "Potomac River Bridges into Loudoun County," Loudoun: The 1757 Legacy, Newsletter of the Loudoun Genealogy Club, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Spring 1993):1-2; Vol. 1, No. 4 (Summer 1993):1. FHL Collection
  • Saffer, Wynne. "Overseers of the Road in Southern Loudoun in 1801," Northern Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 3, No. 4 (Oct. 1998):166-169. FHL Collection
  • "Seven Ferries Served Loudoun in 1700s," Loudoun: The 1757 Legacy, Newsletter of the Loudoun Genealogy Club, Vol. 10, No. 4 (Dec. 2002):2-4. FHL Collection

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Records regarding Loudoun County veterans are kept in diverse archives and repositories. The Loudoun County, Virginia Military page will assist you in finding these resources.

Civil War

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Loudoun County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Loudoun Co. Newspapers: Information Regarding Newspapers Previously Published in Loudoun Co. is a helpful guide, courtesy: USGenWeb.

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Loudoun County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.

  • 1800 True American (Leesburg, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
  • 1810-1811 Washingtonian (Leesburg, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
  • 1810s-1820s "Marriage Records from the Genius of Liberty," [1810s-1820s] Loudoun: The 1757 Legacy, Newsletter of the Loudoun Genealogy Club, Vol. 10, Nos. 1 & 2 (Mar.-June 2002):2-4. FHL Collection
  • 1817-1820 Genius of Liberty (Leesburg, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).

Historical Information

  • "The Genius of Liberty," Loudoun: The 1757 Legacy, Newsletter of the Loudoun Genealogy Club, Vol. 10, Nos. 1 & 2 (Mar.-June 2002):1. FHL Collection
  • Osburn, Penelope M. "A Hometown Newspaper: 'The True American,' The Bulletin of the Historical Society of Loudoun County, Virginia, 1957-1976. Leesburg, Va.: Goose Creek Productions, 1998, pp. 97-110. FHL Collection

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

  • Researchers should not limit their searches to records kept by government officials and religious organizations. Diaries, business account books, and family Bibles, kept in private hands, though they can be difficult to track down, yield valuable genealogical data. Loudoun County, Virginia Private Papers points researchers to some of these resources.

Officials

  • "Some of the Officials of Loudoun County 1757 - The Civil War," Loudoun: The 1757 Legacy, Newsletter of the Loudoun Genealogy Club, Vol. 6, No. 2/3 (Sep. 1998):4; Vol. 7, No. 1 (Mar. 1999):1. FHL Collection. [N.B. This serial article was published backwards, includes Court Clerks, Deputy King's Attorneys and Commonwealth Attorneys, and Sheriffs.]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007administrations, and guardianship records survives for Loudoun County, see: Loudoun County, Virginia Probate.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Online School Indexes and Records

  • History of Secondary Education in Loudoun County. 1948. Thomas Balch Library, Leesburg, Va.
  • "Virginia Public School Register, Broad Run District, Frankville School, 1886-1893," Loudoun: The 1757 Legacy, Newsletter of the Loudoun Genealogy Club, Vol. 4, No. 2 (June 1996):1; Vol. 4, No. 3 (Sep. 1996):1. FHL Collection

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records
Virginia tax records provide valuable clues to genealogical relationships. Many survive and have been published and indexed dating back to the county's formation, see: Loudoun County, Virginia Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Loudoun County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Loudoun County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Thomas Balch Library, Leesburg, Va., is an excellent facility devoted entirely to the area's local history and genealogy. It is supported by the Town of Leesburg.Website

The Friends of the Thomas Balch Library, Leesburg, Va., is an organization devoted to supporting the Thomas Balch Library and its collections.Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Loudoun County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Finding out if a genealogy has been published about your Loudoun County family is often a good first step. Many resources are easily available online, such as the census. After checking those sources, you might wish to examine vital records (births, marriages, and deaths), and land, and probate. If you are researching families who lived in Loudoun County, Virginia between the 1750s and 1790s, the Sparacios' book indexes are a great time saver: Surname index of Antient Press publications

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Loudoun County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 16, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1972):126-129. FHL Collection; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • The WPA Survey for Loudoun County. Thomas Balch Library, Leesburg, Va.; microfilmed reproduction: FHL Collection

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Newberry
  2. ↑ http://www.loudounhistory.org/history/history-loudoun/
  3. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. ↑ Newberry
  6. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Loudoun_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loudoun_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 13 February 2020.
  8. ↑ Michael Gulland, "History of Loudoun County Courthouses in Leesburg," The History of Loudoun County, Virginia, http://www.loudounhistory.org/history/leesburg-courthouse.htm.
  9. ↑ "John Campbell, 4th Earl of Loudoun," Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Campbell,_4th_Earl_of_Loudoun.
  10. ↑ Marty Hiatt, CG, "Loudoun County, Virginia - WIKI," [Updates], unpublished document, 2010.
  11. ↑ Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  12. ↑ Heritage Preservation Services. Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 3 August 2012).
  13. ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  14. ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).


v • d • e
Links to Virginia-related articles   (see also West Virginia-related articles)
Topics
Counties
Accomack • Albemarle • Alleghany • Amelia • Amherst • Appomattox • Arlington • Augusta • Bath • Bedford • Bland • Botetourt • Brunswick • Buchanan • Buckingham • Campbell • Caroline • Carroll • Charles City • Charlotte • Chesterfield • Clarke • Craig • Culpeper • Cumberland • Dickenson • Dinwiddie • Essex • Fairfax • Fauquier • Floyd • Fluvanna • Franklin • Frederick • Giles • Gloucester • Goochland • Grayson • Greene • Greensville • Halifax • Hanover • Henrico • Henry • Highland • Isle of Wight • James City • King and Queen • King George • King William • Lancaster • Lee • Loudoun • Louisa • Lunenburg • Madison • Mathews • Mecklenburg • Middlesex • Montgomery • Nelson • New Kent • Northampton • Northumberland • Nottoway • Orange • Page • Patrick • Pittsylvania • Powhatan • Prince Edward • Prince George • Prince William • Pulaski • Rappahannock (New) • Richmond • Roanoke • Rockbridge • Rockingham • Russell • Scott • Shenandoah • Smyth • Southampton • Spotsylvania • Stafford • Surry • Sussex • Tazewell • Warren • Washington • Westmoreland • Wise • Wythe • York
Independent
Cities
Extinct Counties/Cities
Counties
gone to KY
Bourbon • Fayette • Jefferson • Kentucky (extinct) • Lincoln • Madison • Mason • Mercer • Nelson • Woodford
Counties
gone to WV
Barbour • Berkeley • Boone • Braxton • Brooke • Cabell • Calhoun • Clay • Doddridge • Fayette • Gilmer • Greenbrier • Hampshire • Hancock • Hardy • Harrison • Jackson • Jefferson • Kanawha • Lewis • Logan • Marion • Marshall • Mason • McDowell • Mercer • Monongalia • Monroe • Morgan • Nicholas • Ohio • Pendleton • Pleasants • Pocahontas • Preston • Putnam • Raleigh • Randolph • Ritchie • Roane • Taylor • Tucker • Tyler • Upshur • Wayne • Webster • Wetzel • Wirt • Wood • Wyoming
Colonial
Parishes
Abingdon • Accomac • Accomack • Albemarle • Amherst • Antrim • Appomattox • Argall's Gift • Augusta • Bath • Beckford • Berkeley • Blisland • Blount Point • Botetourt • Boutracy • Bristol • Bromfield • Brunswick • Bruton • Camden • Cameron • Charles City • Charles • Charles River • Chickacoan • Chickahominy • Chippokes • Chiskiack • Chotank • Christ Church (Lancaster Co.) • Christ Church (Middlesex Co.) • Chuckatuck • Cople • Cornwall • Cumberland • Dale • Denbigh • Dettingen • Drysdale • East • Elizabeth City • Elizabeth River • Fairfax • Fairfield • Farnham • Flowerdew Hundred • Fluvanna • Frederick • Fredericksville • Hamilton • Hampton • Hanover • Harrop • Henrico • Hog Island • Hungars • James City • Jordan's Journey • Kecoughtan • Kingston • King William • Lancaster • Lawnes Creek • Lee • Leeds • Lexington • Littleton • Lower (Elizabeth City Co.) • Lower (Isle of Wight Co.)  • Lower (Lancaster Co.)  • Lower (Nansemond Co.) • Lower (Northampton Co.) • Lower (Stafford Co.) • Lower (Upper Norfolk Co.) • Lower Suffolk • Lunenburg • Lynnhaven • Machodick • Manchester • Marston • Martin's Brandon • Martin's Hundred • Meherrin • Middle Plantation • Middletowne • Montgomery • Mulberry Island • New Poquoson • Newport • Nomini • Norborne • Northampton • North Farnham • Nottoway (Prince Edward Co.) • Nottoway (Southampton Co.) • Nutmeg Quarter • Occohannock • Overwharton • Patrick • Petsworth • Piankatank • Piscataway • Poropotank • Portsmouth • Potomac • Raleigh • Richmond • Rockbridge • Rockingham • Russell • St. Andrew's • St. Anne's (Albemarle Co.) • St. Anne's (Essex and Caroline Cos.) • St. Asaph's • St. Brides • St. David's • St. George's (Accomack Co.)  • St. George's (Spotsylvania Co.) • St. James Northam • St. James Southam • St. James's (Goochland Co.) • St. James's (Mecklenburg Co.) • St. John's • St. Luke's • St. Margaret's • St. Mark's • St. Martin's • St. Mary's • St. Mary's Whitechapel • St. Patrick's • St. Paul's (Hanover Co.) • St. Paul's (King George Co.) • St. Peter's • St. Stephen's (King and Queen Co.) • St. Stephen's (Northumberland Co.) • St. Thomas • Shelburne • Sittenburne • Smith's Hundred • South • Southampton • South Farnham • Southwark • Stafford • Stanley Hundred • Stratton Major • Suffolk • Tillotson • Trinity (Lancaster Co.) • Trinity (Louisa Co.) • Truro • Upper (Elizabeth City Co.) • Upper (Isle of Wight Co.) • Upper (Lancaster Co.) • Upper (Nansemond Co.) • Upper (Northampton Co.) • Upper (Stafford Co.) • Upper Suffolk • Varina • Wallingford • Ware • Warrosquyoake • Warwick • Washington (Westmoreland Co.) • Washington (Washington Co.) • Waters Creek • West • West and Shirley • Westbury • Westover • Weyanoke • Wicomico • Wilmington • York • Yorkhampton
Major
Repositories
Bristol Public Library · Germanna Foundation Library · Handley Regional Library · Historical Society of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia, PA) · Historical Society of Washington, D.C. · John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library at Colonial Williamsburg · Jones Memorial Library · Library of Congress (Washington, DC) · Library of Virginia · Mary Ball Washington Museum and Library · Maryland State Archives (Annapolis, MD) · National Archives I (Washington, DC) · National Archives II (College Park, MD) · National Archives at Philadelphia (PA) · National Genealogical Society · New York Public Library (New York City, NY) · Pennsylvania State Archives (Harrisburg, PA) · Portsmouth Public Library · Roanoke County Public Library · Salisbury University Edward H. Nabb Research Center for Delmarva History and Culture (Salisbury, MD) · Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown (Santa Cruz, CA) · University of Virginia Library · Virginia Department of Health · Virginia Historical Society · Virginia Theological Seminary · Washington National Records Center (Suitland, MD) · William and Mary College Swem Library
Migration
Routes
Routes:  Chesapeake Bay • James River • Potomac River • Rappahannock River • York River • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal • Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad • Fall Line Road (or Fall Line Road) • Great Indian Warpath • Great Trading Path • Great Valley Road • Kanawha Trail • King's Highway • National Road (Cumberland Road) • New River and Southern Trail • Occaneechi Path • Old Cherokee Path • Old Northwestern Turnpike • Pamunkey-New River Trail • Pioneer Road • Richmond Road • Richmond-Williamsburg Road • Saura-Saponi Trail • Secondary Coast Road • Upper Road • Wilderness Road • Wilmington, Highpoint, and Northern Trail •   Ports:  Atlantic Coast Ports • Accomack  • Alexandria  • Belvoir Plantation  • Bermuda Hundred  • Dumfries  • Falmouth  • Fredericksburg  • Hampton  • Jamestown  • Leedstown  • Norfolk  • Port Royal  • Portsmouth  • South Quay  • Suffolk  • Tappahannock (aka Hobb's Hole)  • Urbanna  • Williamsburg  • Yorktown



This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Loudoun_County,_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=4785122"