Llan-giwg, Glamorgan, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Llan-giwg, Glamorgan ancestry, family history, and genealogy: civil registration, census records, and parish register transcripts.

Llan-giwg St Ciwg
Llan-giwg and adjacent parishes
St Peter Pontardawe

History[edit | edit source]

Llan-giwg (also spelled Llangiwg, Llanguick and Llanciwg) is an ecclesiastical parish in the north west portion of Glamorgan in Wales. The parish is five and a half miles Northwest of Neath. The church is dedicated to Saint Ciwg. The parish contains approximately 12,550 acres. The Duke of Beaufort was one of the largest landowners in the parish.

Llan-giwg Parish
Jurisdictions
County bef 1974 Glamorgan
County 1 Apr 1974-31 Mar 1996 West Glamorgan
County 1 Apr 1996 - Neath Port Talbot
Civ Reg District Neath July 1837 - July 1875
Pontardawe July 1875 - January 1935
West Glamorgan January 1935 - April 1974
Swansea April 1974 - present
Reg Sub-district add here
Probate Court St. David's
Diocese St. David's
Rural Deanery add here
Chapelry add here
Poor Law Union Neath 1836-1875
Pontardawe 1875 - 1988
Hundred Llangyfelach
Province Canterbury
Hamlets Alltgrig, Blaenegel, Caegurwen, Mawr


Census
Year Pop.
1801 829
1811 1,060 27.9%
1821 1,428 34.7%
1831 1,847 29.3%
1841 2,813 52.3%
1851 4,229 50.3%
1861 7,983 88.8%
1881 9,110 14.1%
1891 9,707 6.6%
1901
1911
Source: Irish University Press. ‘1871 Census England and Wales Preliminary Report with Tables Area Housing and Population Volume 1’, Irish University Press series of British parliamentary papers. Population. Shannon: Irish University Press. 1970. FHL# Q942 N2bpo vol 16, p 732

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

The 1841-1911 censuses are available online with indexes and images. The 1921 census is only available on Findmypast.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Parish Registers[edit | edit source]

Church of Wales Chapels and Parish Registers
Parish
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
St Ciwg (ancient parish)
1703-1767; 1813-1892
1704-1979; Banns 1823-1861
1703-1767; 1813-1881
Pontardawe St Peter[1]
1862-1977
1863-1985
1862-1948
Ynysmeudwy St Mary[1]
1913-1979
1927-1988
1917-1983
Bishop's Transcripts
Bishop Transcripts: Christenings, Marriages, Burials and Christenings and Burials
1685-1713; 1725-1834


Nonconformist Chapel Records[edit | edit source]

Chapel Denomination Year Founded Baptism Marriage Death
Bethesda Congregationalist
1806
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Beulah Baptist
1833
1899-1928
XXXX-XXXX
1899-1928
Bryn Gwilym
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Bryn Seion Baptist
1877
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Brynllynfell Methodist
1892
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Caersalem Baptist
1854
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Carmel Congregationalist
1771
1822-1837
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Cwm-gors Wesleyan Methodist
1959
XXXX-XXXX
1959-1968
XXXX-XXXX
Cwmllynfell Congregationalist
1760
1760-1835
XXXX-XXXX
1760-1769
Cwm-Twrch Baptist
1953
XXXX-XXXX
1953-1978
XXXX-XXXX
Ebenezer Congregationalist
1860
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Gosen Apostolic 1911 unknown unknown unknown
Gurnos Wesleyan Methodist
1840
1810-1817; 1837-1856
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Gwrhyd Congregationalist 1856
Holly Street Wesleyan Methodist
1906
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Horeb Wesleyan Methodist
1845
1929-1965
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Jerusalem Methodist
1857
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Mount Elim Baptist
1886
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
New Church Swedenborgian
1890
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Pant-Teg Congregationalist
1821
1822-1837
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Saron Congregationalist
1815
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Seion Wesleyan Methodist
1810
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Siloam Baptist
1871
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Tabernacle Congregationalist
1880
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Tabernacle Congregationalist
1890
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Wern Congregationalist
1864
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Zoar Calvinistic Methodist
1866
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
Zoar Baptist
1847
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX
XXXX-XXXX

Parish Chest[edit | edit source]

Vestry minutes (dates covered) are at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Church warden accounts (dates covered) are at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Tithe Records[edit | edit source]

The tithe agreement date for Llan-giwg was 2 August 1838. An index and images are available online at Welsh Tithe Maps - Places of Wales

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Births, marriages and deaths were recorded by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular index site is FreeBMD.

Record Compilations[edit | edit source]

Contributions contributed by the genealogical community for [specific localities] include documents, images, video and audio recordings; as well as, cultural items and family histories are found on these websites.

Llangiwg Memories FamilySearch FamilyTree
Melvile Richards Archive (type the name of a parish in the "Locator" box then click "Search"
Peoples Collection Wales

Estates[edit | edit source]

Estate records are a valuable resource because the majority of the Wales population have some type of connection with the varied aspects of the estate duties.

  • Beaufort
  • Cilybebyll -Turberville, Lloyd, Bassett, Leach[2]
  • Dyffryn Clydach -Philip Williams[2]
  • Gnoll -Herbert Macworth (manor of Caergurwen)[2]
  • Penlle'rgaer -Griffith Price[2]
  • Shewen - William & Joseph Shewen (entered in 1730s by marriage)[2]
  • Ynyscedwyn[3] - Aubrey & Gough families

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • Online family trees provide sources for your Welsh ancestors that may cost you time and money to locate by yourself. Look to see what others may have learned about your family.

Gibbs

Howell

Williams

Community Trees[edit | edit source]

Medieval Community Trees[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Glamorgan Archives
Clos Parc Morgannwg
Cardiff CF11 8AW, United Kingdom
Telephone: +44 29 2087 2200
Email: GlamRO@cardiff.gov.uk
Glamorgan Archives
Facebook

The National Archives
Bessant Dr
Richmond TW9 4DU, United Kingdom
Telephone: +44 (0) 20 8876 3444
Email: asd@nationalarchives.gov.uk
The National Archives (Kew)
Facebook

West Glamorgan Archive Service
Civic Centre, Oystermouth Road
Swansea SA1 3SN, United Kingdom
Telephone: +44 1792 636589
Email: westglam.archives@swansea.gov.uk
West Glamorgan Archive Service
Facebook

Neath Antiquarian Society
Neath Mechanics' Institute
4 Church Place
Neath SA11 3LL, United Kingdom
Telephone: +44 1639 620139
Email: westglam.archives@swansea.gov.uk
Neath Antiquarian Society
Facebook

Libraries[edit | edit source]

The National Library of Wales
Penglais Rd
Aberystwyth SY23 3BU, United Kingdom
Telephone: +44 1970 632800
Email: gofyn(at)llgc.org.uk
National Library of Wales
Facebook

Societies[edit | edit source]

Glamorgan Family History Society
Off Heol Persondy
Aberkenfig, Bridgend CF32 9PR, United Kingdom
Telephone: +441656728531
Email: secretary@glamfhs.org.uk
Glamorgan Family History Society
Facebook

Swansea Valley History Society
The Cross
Pontardawe, Swansea SA8 4AH<br United Kingdom
Telephone: +441792869277
Email: rosalie.lewis@btinternet.com Ann Lewis (Chairperson)
Swansea Valley History Society
Facebook

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Records created by Poor Law Unions can contain valuable information for researchers. This information may include, birth date, original parish, and religion. Visit the England and Wales Poor Law Records 1834-1948 page for more information.


Neath: Sept 1836 - March 1875

Pontardawe: March 1875 - 1988

Published Sources[edit | edit source]

  • The Diaries of Margaret Penderel Jones of Garth 1871 to 1897. 2014. By Margaret Penderel Jones, edited by Dr. Peter Jackson. Newport: South Wales record Society. At various libraries (WorldCat)
  • In the Footsteps of Saints and Sinners: Llangiwg Church past, present and future. 2009. By D. Gerald O. James. Friends of Llangiwg. At various libraries (WorldCat)
  • The Industrialization of a Glamorgan Parish. pp. 345-361. 1975. By Thomas Hugh. National Library of Wales journal. Online at: GENUKI
  • The Joneses and Penderels of Garth Rhydyfro, Pontardawe. 2013. By Elizabeth F. Belcham. Glynneath : Heritage Add-ventures. At various libraries (WorldCat)
  • Old Characters of Cwmgors and Gwauncaegurwen from the year 1840. 1999. By Jonah Evans, translated by Jenni Hyatt. Online at: GENUKI
  • Tareni Colliery: the mine, the miners and their communities : a history of a mining enterprise in The Swansea Valley. 2016. By Clive Reed. Swansea Valley: Swansea Valley Heritage. At various libraries (WorldCat)

Websites[edit | edit source]

Llangiwg church on Facebook

The Llangiwg Trust

Memories of Pontardawe and surrounds (Facebook group)

Photos (on Flickr)

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 Williams, C. J., and J. Watts-Williams. Cofrestri Plwyf Cymru. [Aberystwyth]: National Library of Wales & Welsh County Archivists Group in association with the Society of Genealogists. 2000.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Thomas, Hugh. "The Industrialization of a Glamorgan Parish." National Library of Wales Journal. 19, no. 2 (1976) pp. 195-6
  3. Glamorgan Local History Society, and Glamorgan History Society. "News From The Glamorgan Record Office." Morgannwg: transactions of the Glamorgan Local History Society. Cardiff: Glamorgan Local History Society. 1957. vol 1, p. 58, image 64.https://journals.library.wales/view/1169834/1169835/63#?cv=63&m=0&h=Llangiwg&c=0&s=0&manifest=https%3A%2F%2Fdamsssl.llgc.org.uk%2Fiiif%2F2.0%2F1169834%2Fmanifest.json&xywh=-654%2C1241%2C3531%2C2150.