Livingston Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Livingston Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Livingston Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana, United States Genealogy
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||February 10, 1832|
|Address||20180 Iowa Street|
Livingston, LA 70754
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Edward Livingston. The County has Ruston as its seat and the County was created February 10, 1832. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
Livingston Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Livingston Parish Courthouse
20180 Iowa Street
PO Box 427
Livingston, LA 70754
Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court, and land records from 1875.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent Parish[edit | edit source]
- 1832--Livingston Parish was created 10 February 1832 from Baton Rouge, (Old) and Ascension Parishes.
Parish seat: Livingston 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1875 On October 15, the parish courthouse at Port Vincent burned, apparently destroying the official records.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill at 24-7 Family History Circle.
- When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle at Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Blog.
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
- List of counties in the United States with Record Loss
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Parishes or Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana African American Griots Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries, listing by county
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Livingston Parish Family Bible Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Index to Livingston Parish Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- Family Histories of Livingston Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Livingston Parish cemeteries.
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana, by city (Church Angel)
- Index to Livingston Parish Church Records (USGenWeb Archives)
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
- Index to Livingston Parish Court Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
- Livingston Parish, Louisiana, Deeds (USGenWeb Archives)
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Livingston Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
- Louisiana Museums
- History Topics of Livingston Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
- Historical Records of Livingston Parish (USGenWeb Archives)
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this parish - How to Use FS Places
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- USGW Digital Map Collection (USGenWeb Archives)
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1883 Livingston Parish Pensioners on the Rolls as of Jan 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1898-1950 Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- Livingston Parish Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Regiments. Service men in Livingston Parish, Louisiana Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Livingston Parish, Louisiana Genealogy:
- - Siege Train Battalion, Louisiana Artillery (Confederate), Company D
- - Pointe Coupee Artillery, Louisiana (Confederate), Company B
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1920 Louisiana World War I Service Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- The Memorial Tower at LSU, Names From Livingston Parish (USGenWeb Archives)
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Korean War[edit | edit source]
- Korean War POW's, KIA's & MIA's. Scroll down to Livingston Parish. (USGenWeb Archives)
Vietnam War[edit | edit source]
- Vietnam War POW's, KIA's & MIA's. Scroll down to Livingston Parish. (USGenWeb Archvies)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Newspaper List ~ listing by name/parish ~ USNPL
- Louisiana Newspaper ~ listing ~ Newslink
- Livingston Parish Newspaper Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Livingston Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Index to Livingston Parish Obituary Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Livingston Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
Schools[edit | edit source]
- Livingston Parish School Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
- Livingston Parish Vital Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1837–1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- Livingston Parish Marriage Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Livingston Parish Marriage Announcements (Genealogy Trails)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Livingston Parish Library
20390 Iowa St
PO Box 397
Livingston, LA 70754
- Edward Livingston Historical Association
PO Box 67
Livingston, LA 70754-0067
- French Settlement Historical Society
French Settlement, LA 70733-9999
- Louisiana Historical Society
428 Hector Ave
Metairie, La. 70005-4412
- Louisiana Historical Association
101 LSU Student Union
LSU Box 25435
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Livingston Parish, LAGenWeb Project, part of the USGenWeb Project
- Livingston Parish, Louisiana, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Livingston Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Livingston Parish, Louisiana, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- Livingston Parish LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Livingston, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Livingston_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Livingston Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Livingston Parish, Louisiana p 291 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Livingston Parish, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Livingston_Parish%2C_Louisiana, accessed 3 January 2020.