Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to the ancient parochial or mother parish of Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Here's a Comprehensive List of Liverpool Parishes and Chapelries

Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Liverpool
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Liverpool
Registration District Liverpool
Records begin
Parish registers: 1659
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Liverpool North
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LIVERPOOL (St Peter with St Nicholas) is the ancient parish and a major market town in the county of Lancashire, created in 1699 from Walton on the Hill St Mary, Lancashire Genealogy Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Castle Street, St Thomas, Dale Street, Great Howard Street, Islington, Lime Street, Lime Street and St Anne's Pitt Street and Great George, Liverpool Exchange, Liverpool St Peter, Mount Pleasant, Rodney, Rodney and Abercrombie, Scotland, St George, St Martin, St Paul's and Exchange, and Castle Street and St Peter's.

For an extensive 1848 perspective on Liverpool, Lancashire, see Lewis' St Peter with St Nicholas was the ancient and civil parish of Liverpool, commencing in ancient times. Its surviving registers begin in the year 1604. (To see a list of churches and chapels in greater Liverpool, be certain to view the Comprehensive List of Liverpool Parishes and Chapelries and to learn of the availability of their respective baptism and burial registers (only a few chapelries within Liverpool Parish were allowed to marry, hence very few marriage registers exist especially 1754 to 1837.)[1]

Humphreys, R.H. The Welsh in Liverpool.  A description of Welsh activities in Liverpool.  Includes a list of Welsh nonconformist chapels.  The author, suggests using Welsh newspapers for birth, marriages and deaths and provides a list of newspapers. Article covers years 1850-1887, to be found in journal called  Hel Achau, no. 6. May 1982, pages 5-8, Family History Library Ref. 942.93 D25h

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths from July, 1837 to present day were kept by the government. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are for Lancashire, some Internet sites which offer significant content for Lancashire ancestry. These include, but are not limited to the following:

  1. LancashireBMD which currently approaches 20 million entries of birth, marriages and deaths for this county. The online index in most entries provides the name of the parish (or chapel of ease) where the marriage was performed. 
  2. FreeBMD provides mostly indexed births, marriages and deaths from 1837 to 1945

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Chapelries of Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas[edit | edit source]
  • Liverpool All Saints Chapelry - 1815
  • Liverpool All Souls Chapelry - 1850
  • Liverpool Christ Church Homer St Chapelry - 1797
  • Liverpool Christ Church Hunter Street Chapelry - 1841
  • Liverpool Holy Innocents Chapelry - 1861
  • Liverpool Holy Trinity Chapelry - 1792
  • Liverpool Mariner's Chapel - 1835
  • Liverpool St Albans Chapelry - 1850
  • Liverpool St Andrew Chapelry - 1774
  • Liverpool St Anne Richmond Chapelry - 1773
  • Liverpool St Barnabas - 1841
  • Liverpool St Bartholomew Chapelry - 1841
  • Liverpool St Bride Chapelry - 1830
  • Liverpool St Catherine Chapelry - 1831
  • Liverpool St Columba Chapelry - 1858
  • Liverpool St David Chapelry - 1827
  • Liverpool St George Chapelry - 1734
  • Liverpool St James the Less Chapelry - 1863
  • Liverpool St John Chapelry - 1767
  • Liverpool St John the Baptist Chapelry
  • Liverpool St John the Evangelist Chapelry - 1836
  • Liverpool St Jude Chapelry - 1831
  • Liverpool St Luke Chapelry - 1831
  • Liverpool St Mark Chapelry - 1816
  • Liverpool St Martin-in-the-Fields Chapelry - 1829
  • Liverpool St Mary Magdalen Chapelry - 1858
  • Liverpool St Mary-for-the-Blind Chapelry - 1829
  • Liverpool St Mathias Chapelry - 1834
  • Liverpool St Matthew Chapelry - 1849
  • Liverpool St Michael Church Street Chapelry - 1826
  • Liverpool St Paul Chapelry - 1769
  • Liverpool St Peter Chapelry - 1704
  • Liverpool St Philip Chapelry - 1817
  • Liverpool St Saviour Chapelry - 1841
  • Liverpool St Silas Chapelry - 1841
  • Liverpool St Simon Chapelry - 1831
  • Liverpool St Stephen Chapelry - 1792
  • Liverpool St Thomas Chapelry - 1750
  • Liverpool St Timothy Rokeby Street Chapelry - 1868
  • Liverpool St Titus Chapelry - 1865
  • Toxteth Park All Saints Chapelry - 1885
  • Toxteth Park Christ Church Chapelry - 1871
  • Toxteth Park Holy Trinity Chapelry - 1859
  • Toxteth Park St Barnabas Chapelry - 1841
  • Toxteth Park St Bede Chapelry - 1882
  • Toxteth Park St Brides Chapelry - 1831
  • Toxteth Park St Clement Chapelry - 1841
  • Toxteth Park St Cleopas Mission Church - 1866
  • Toxteth Park St Gabriel Chapelry - 1885
  • Toxteth Park St James Chapelry - 1775
  • Toxteth Park St John the Baptist Chapelry - 1832
  • Toxteth Park St Margaret Chapelry - 1869
  • Toxteth Park St Matthew Chapelry - 1851
  • Toxteth Park St Michael-in-the-Hamlet Chapelry - 1815
  • Toxteth Park St Nathaniel Chapelry - 1869
  • Toxteth Park St Paul Chapelry - 1849
  • Toxteth Park St Philemon Chapelry - 1873
  • Toxteth Park St Saviour Chapelry - 1841
  • Toxteth Park St Silas Chapelry - 1865
  • Toxteth Park St Thomas-in-the-Fields Chapelry - 1843?

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas Parish Records
All Chapelries Found in Liverpool St Peter and St Nicholas are included in these links.
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Roman Catholics Here are at least four Roman Catholic marriage indexes available for searching, online:

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Liverpool, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites [edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-118.