Litchfield County, Connecticut Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Litchfield County, Connecticut ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This article is about a county in Connecticut. For other uses, see Litchfield (disambiguation).
County Facts
County seat: Litchfield
Organized: October 09, 1751
Parent County(s): Fairfield, Hartford and New Haven
Neighboring Counties
Fairfield  • Hartford  • New Haven  • Berkshire (MA)  • Hampden (MA)  • Dutchess (NY)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Connecticut, Litchfield County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Ct-litchfield.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
CTGenWeb Project.jpg This page adopted by:
USGenWeb CT Archives
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named after Litchfield, in England. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Litchfield County Courthouse
50 Field Street
Torrington CT 06790
Phone: 860-626-2100
Litchfield County Website

There is no county government and no county seat today.[2] The government is at the town level.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1800's.
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death, and land records.
Probate Judge has probate records.[3]

Litchfield County, Connecticut Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1702 1702 1702 1800s 1706 1719 1670
*Statewide registration of births and deaths started in 1897. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1886 The Litchfield County courthouse was destroyed by fire, but no records were lost. Lawyer H. B. Graves's library, which contained many rare and valuable works, and D. C. Kilbourn's historical library were destroyed.[5]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Census-designated places

Towns Organized before 1800:

  • Barkhamstead 1799
  • Bethlehem 1787
  • Canaan 1739
  • Colebrook 1799
  • Cornwall 1740
  • Goshen 1739
  • Harwinton 1737
  • Kent 1739
  • Litchefield 1719
  • New Hartford 1738
  • New Milford 1712
  • Norfolk 1758
  • Plymouth 1795
  • Roxbury 1796
  • Salisbury 1741
  • Sharon 1739
  • Torrington 1740
  • Washington 1779
  • Warren 1768
  • Watertown 1780
  • Winchester 1771
  • Woodbury 1673

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Atwood Family Bible, USGenWeb CTArchives

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Linkpendium, Biographies, Oral Histories, Diaries, Memoirs, Genealogies, Correspondence, Litchfield County.
  • Arthur Goodenough, The clergy of Litchfield County, (Winchester, Connecticut Litchfield County University Club, 1909). Online at FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($).
  • Dwight C. Kilbourn, The bench and bar of Litchfield County, Connecticut, 1709-1909 biographical sketches of members, history and catalogue of the Litchfield Law School, historical notes, (Litchfield, Connecticut D. C. Kilbourn, c1909).Includes index. Online at Internet Archive. FHL US/CAN Book 974.61 U24k.
  • David S. Boardman, Sketches of the early lights of the Litchfield bar, (Ann Arbor, Michigan University Microfilms, 1987). Includes index. Online at Internet Archives. FHL US/CAN Fiche 6062276.
  • Charles F. Sedgwick, Fifty years at the Litchfield County bar, (Ann Arbor, Michigan University Microfilms, 1987). FHL US/CAN Fiche 6062277. Online at Ancestry ($).
  • Payne Kenyon Kilbourn, A biographical history of the county of Litchfield, Connecticut comprising biographical sketches of distinguished natives and residents of the county; together with complete lists of the judges of the county court, justices of the quorum, county commissioners, judges of probate, sheriffs, senators, c., (New York, New York Clark, Austin, 1851). FHL US/CAN Book 974.61 D3k. Online at Internet Archive
  • Biographical review, this volume contains biographical sketches of the leading citizens of Litchfield County, Connecticut, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1974). Includes index. FHL US/CAN Film 924619 Item 2.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Litchfield, Connecticut online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Connecticut Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For online and statewide census resources and information, see: Connecticut Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 38,635
1800 41,214 6.7%
1810 41,375 0.4%
1820 41,267 −0.3%
1830 42,858 3.9%
1840 40,448 −5.6%
1850 45,253 11.9%
1860 47,318 4.6%
1870 48,727 3.0%
1880 52,044 6.8%
1890 53,542 2.9%
1900 63,672 18.9%
1910 70,260 10.3%
1920 76,262 8.5%
1930 82,556 8.3%
1940 87,041 5.4%
1950 98,872 13.6%
1960 119,856 21.2%
1970 144,091 20.2%
1980 156,769 8.8%
1990 174,092 11.1%
2000 182,193 4.7%
2010 189,927 4.2%
Source: Wikipedia.org".

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Congregational Church was predominant in early Connecticut and was the state church until 1818. Other prominent churches in the state are the Methodist and Episcopal churches (colonial period), and the Roman Catholic and Baptist churches (19th century).

It is recommended that you also look at the Connecticut Church Records page, which has additional information about church records in Connecticut.

  • Church Records, USGenWeb CTArchives
  • Connecticut Genealogy, Litchfield County Church Records, Includes church and vital records.
  • Arthur Goodenough, The clergy of Litchfield County, (Winchester, Connecticut Litchfield County University Club, 1909). Online at FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($).
  • Litchfield County Foreign Mission Society (Litchfield County, Connecticut), Semi-centennial of the Litchfield Co. Foreign Mission Society celebrated at Litchfield, October 16, 1861, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1995). FHL US/CAN Film 1598359 Item 14.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

  • Linkpendium, Litchfield Directories,
  • Waterbury suburban city directory including Middlebury, Terryville, Thomaston, Watertown, and Wolcott, (New Haven [Connecticut] Price ; Lee Company, 1940?-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67 E4pws.
  • Price Lee Company, Southbury (New Haven County and Litchfield County, Ct.) city directory including Roxbury, Washington and Woodbury, (New Haven [Connecticut] Price Lee Company, [197-?]-).Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.67/S3 E4p.
  • Torrington, Winsted, Litchfield, Norfolk, Goshen directory combining five distinct directories: governmental directory, buyers' directory, alphabetical directory, numerical directory, classified directory, (New Haven [Connecticut] Price Lee, 1931-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN 1425529 Item 3.(3 Films)
  • Price Lee Company, New Milford (Litchfield County, Conn.) city directory including Bridgewater, Brookfield, Brookfield Center, New Fairfield and Sherman, (New Haven [Connecticut] Price Lee Company, [196-?]-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.61 E4p.

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Native American

  • Connecticut State Library, Litchfield County African Americans and Native Americans Collection.
  • Connecticut State Library has an extensive list of Native American Tribes associated with the state of Connecticut.
  • Access Genealogy indicates the Wawyachtonoc, a tribe of the Mahican Confederacy occupied the northwestern corner of Litchfield county, Connecticut.
  • Shagihticoke tribe The Schaghticoke historically consisted of Mahican, Potatuck, Weantinock, Tunxis, Podunk, and their descendants, peoples indigenous to what is now New York, Connecticut, and Massachusetts. The remnant tribes amalgamated in the area near the Connecticut-New York border after many losses. Their reservation, granted in 1736 by the General Assembly of the Colony of Connecticut, is one of the oldest in the United States. It is located near the New York border within the boundaries of Kent in Litchfield County, to the west of the Housatonic River.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • Litchfield County Genealogy 1,332 Litchfield county genealogy record sources.
  • R. Manning Chipman, The history of Harwinton, Connecticut, (Hartford [Connecticut] Williams, Wiley & Turner, 1860).Includes bibliographical references and index.Available online at Internet Archives, Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.61/H1 H2c, or FHL US/CAN Film 1698076 Item 4.
  • Elmer I. Shepard, Elmer I. Shepard Collection Connecticut and Vermont family group records, ca. 1550-1900 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990).The Shepard Collection represents the working files of Elmer I. Shepard. He gathered his material from a number of sources, both primary and secondary, and then combined it on 3 x 5 index cards, arranged by geographic location (county and town) and then by surname, listed under the heads of families.Available at the Family History Library, 4 films starting with, FHL US/CAN Film 1684312 Items 12-19.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other documents are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee, no statewide index. Microfilm copies (early to the mid or late 1800s, with some up to the 1900s) are available at the Connecticut State Library and also online at FamilySearch.org.

Online Land Indexes and Records

  • Deeds and Land Records, USGenWeb CTArchives
  • Library of Congress, Topography and Map Division, Litchfield County, Connecticut land ownership map, 1859 , (Washington, DC Library of Congress, 1983). Available online at flickr from Yahoo, Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079299.
  • Tinmouth (Vermont). Proprietors' Clerk, Proprietors records, 1761-1809 , (Montpelier, Vermont Vermont Public Records Division, 1973).Microfilm of original records filmed at Tinmouth, Vermont.Contains deeds and land surveys. Also includes land records from various counties in Connecticut. Includes charter book which contains a copy of the 1761 Tinmouth charter and minutes of proprietors meetings.Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN 944196 Item 4 and 6.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

New Haven CountyHartford CountyHampden CountyBerkshire CountyColumbia CountyDutchess CountyFairfield CountyCT LITCHFIELD.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

NY MA CT.png

Migration routes for early European settlers to and from Litchfield County included:[7]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

  • Military Data Extracted From Barkhamsted, Conn. , Its Centennial 1879 To Which is Added A Historical Appendix 1881, transcribed by Jane Devlin.A list of Barkhamsted men who served in the War of the Revolution, the War of 1812-14, the Mexican War and the Rebellion of 1861-65.

American Revolution

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Litchfield County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Most of the men in the following companies were from Litchfield County.

-1st Regiment, Connecticut Heavy Artillery - Company I - Wolcottville, now known as Torrington
-2nd Regiment, Connecticut Heavy Artillery - Company A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and K.
-2nd Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Rifle Company E
-19th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry -Company A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I.
-28th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company E and F.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

  • 1851-1992 Connecticut, District Court Naturalization Indexes, 1851-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
  • Connecticut.Court of Common Pleas.Superior Court, Index to naturalization petitions 1790-1906, 1906-1973 (Litchfield County, Connecticut - Court of Common Pleas, and Superior Court), (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2003). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 2369711 Item 2. (3 films)
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Litchfield County), Naturalization records (Litchfield County, Connecticut), 1906-1945 NARA, RG21, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2008). Includes index.Some volumes have the index at the back of the volume. Available at the Family History Library, Vault US/CAN Film 2431899 Item 2. (17 Films)

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

  • Old Woodbury Historical Society (Woodbury, Connecticut), Homes of Old Woodbury, ([Woodbury, Connecticut] Old Woodbury Historical Society (Connecticut), c1959).Old Woodbury included the present towns of Woodbury, Washington, Bethlehem, Roxbury, and Southbury. FHL US/CAN Book 974.61 H2ho.
  • Newell Meeker Calhoun and Julius Turner Edson, Litchfield County Sketches, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990). FHL US/CAN Film 1320920 Item 5.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

  • The Lure of the Litchfield Hills, (Winsted, Connecticut N. W. Adams, [1940]-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN 974.61 B2L.
  • Mid-Hudson Genealogical Journal, (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1988). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1320724 Item 10.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The records are kept at district courts. The County government does not exist. Not every town has a court. Some are included in a district making up from 1 to 5 towns. The Districts are: Avon, Berlin, Bristol, Burlington, Canton, East Granby, East Hartford, East Windsor, Enfield, Farmington, Granby, Hartford, Hartland, Manchester, Marlborough, Plainville, Simsbury, Southington, Suffield, and Windsor.
See Connecticut Probate Records. See also Connecticut State Library, Research Guide to Connecticut Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Litchfield County), Divorce papers, 1752-1922 , (Salt Lake City, Utah Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989-1990).Records are in approximate alphabetical order. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1664674. (26 films)

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Litchfield County. For state-wide facilities, see Connecticut Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Litchfield County. For state-wide library facilities, see Connecticut Archives and Libraries.

Bakerville Library
6 Maple Hollow Road
New Hartford, CT 06057
860.482.8806
E-mail: info@bakervillelibrary.org
Website
Beekley Community Library
10 Central Ave
P.O. Box 247
New Hartford, CT 06057
860-379-7235
E-mail: ​ staff@beekleylibrary.org
Website

Bethlehem Public Library
32 Main Street South
P.O. Box 99
Bethlehem, CT 06751
203 266-7510, ext. 7
E-mail: fill-in the email contact form
Website
Burnham Library
62, Main Street South
Bridgewater, CT 06752
(860) 354-6937
E-mail: staff@burnhamlibrary.org
Website

The Cornwall Library
30 Pine Street
Cornwall, CT 06753
860-672-6874
E-mail: Director@CornwallLibrary.org
Facebook
Website
Douglas Library
108 W Main St
Canaan, CT 06018
(860) 824-7863
E-mail: douglaslibrary@comcast.net
Website

Gunn Memorial Library & Museum
5 Wykeham Road
Washington, CT 06793
(860) 868-7586
E-Mail: GunnCirc@biblio.org
Website

Goshen Public Library
42B North Street
Goshen, CT 06756
860.491.3234
E-mail: frontdesk@goshenpublib.org
Facebook
Website

Harwinton Public Library
80 Bentley Drive
Harwinton, CT 06791
(860) 485-9113
E-mail: director@harwintonlibrary.org
Facebook
Website
Hughes Memorial Library
35 Lower River Rd
PO Box 4
Cornwall, CT 06796
(860) 672-5221
Facebook
Website
Kent Memorial Library
32 North Main Street
PO Box 127
Kent, CT 06757
860.927.3761
E-mail: kmlinfo@biblio.org
Facebook
Website
Morris Public Library
P.O. Box 85
4 North Street
Morris, CT 06763
1-860-567-7440
Website
Oliver Wolcott Library
P.O. Box 187
160 South Street
Litchfield, Connecticut 06759
860-567-8030
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Litchfield County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Connecticut Societies.

Barkhamsted Historical Society
100 East River Road
PO Box 94
Pleasant Valley, CT 06063
860 738-2456
E-mail: bhs@barkhamstedhistory.us
Facebook
Website
Bridgewater Historical Society
48 Main Street South
Bridgewater, CT 06752
E-mail: Bridgewaterhistorical@yahoo.com
Website
Colebrook Historical Society
P.O. Box 85
Colebrook, CT 06021
E-mail: colebrookhistory@gmail.com
Facebook
Website
Cornwall Historical Society
7 Pine Street
P.O. Box 115
Cornwall, CT 06753
860-672-0505
E-Mail:info@cornwallhistoricalsociety.org
Facebook
Website
The Falls Village-Canaan Historical Society
44 Railroad Street
Falls Village, CT 06031
P.O. Box 206
Falls Village, CT 06031
860-824-8226
E-mail: fvchs8226@gmail.com
Website
Goshen Historical Society
21 Old Middle Road
P.O. Box 457
Goshen CT 06756-0457
(860) 491-9610
Website
The Kent Historical Society
PO Box 651
10 Studio Hill Road
Kent, CT 06757
860-927-4587
E-Mail: info@kenthistoricalsociety.org
Website
Litchfield Historical Society
P.O. Box 385
7 South Street
Litchfield, CT 06759
860-567-4501
Fax: 860-567-3565
E-Mail: eogrady@litchfieldhistoricalsociety.org
Website
Morris Historical Society
12 South St
Morris, Connecticut 06763
(860) 567-1776
Facebook

New Hartford Historical Society
P.O. Box 41
537 Main Street
New Hartford, CT 06057 860-379-6894
E-Mail: newhartfordhistory@att.net
Website

New Milford Historical Society & Museum
N°6 Aspetuck Ave
New Milford, CT 06776
860 354-3069
Website
Old Bethlem Historical Society, Inc.
4 Main Street North
PO Box 132
Bethlehem, CT 06751
(203) 266-5196
E-mail: oldbethlem@bethlehemct.org
Facebook
Website

Old Woodbury Historical Society
P.O. Box 363
15 Hollow Road
Woodbury, CT 06798
203-263-2595
Website
Plymouth Historical Society
PO Box 176
572 Main St.
Plymouth, CT 06782
860-681-7935
E-Mail: plymouthct.history@gmail.com
Facebook
Website
Salisbury Association
The Academy Building
24 Main Street
PO Box 553
Salisbury, CT 06068
860 435-0566
Email: salisburyassn@gmail.com
Website
Sharon Historical Society
18 Main Street
P.O. Box 511
Sharon, CT 06069
860-364-5688
E-Mail: sharonhistoricalsociety@yahoo.com
Website
Thomaston Historical Society
158 Main Street
Thomaston, CT 06787
(860) 283-2159
Website
Torrington Historical Society
192 Main Street
Torrington, CT 06790
860 482-8260
E-Mail: mark@torringtonhistoricalsociety.org
Website
The Warren Connecticut Historical Society
7 Sackett Hill Road
Warren, CT 06754
860-503-8545
Website
Watertown Historical Society, Inc.
22 DeForest Street
Watertown, CT 06795
860 274-1050
E-Mail: watertownctmuseum@sbcglobal.net
Website
Winchester Historical Society
225 Prospect St.
Winsted, CT 06098
860-379-1677
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Litchfield County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Litchfield_County,_Connecticut 04/27/2017.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Litchfield County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Litchfield_County,_Connecticut 05/27/2018.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 113. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Litchfield County, Connecticut . Page 113 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 104-110.
  5. genDisasters
  6. Wikipedia contributors,"Litchfield County, Connecticut, " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Litchfield_County,_Connecticut, accessed 6 October 2018.
  7. Handybook, 847-61.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Old Albany Post Road" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_Albany_Post_Road
  9. Frederic J. Wood, The Turnpikes of New England and the Evolution of the Same Through England, Virginia, and Maryland (Boston: Marshall Jones, 1919), map between 56 and 57, and 168. Internet Archive version online.
  10. Isaac Huntting, History of the Little Nine Partners of North East Precinct and Pine Plains, New York, Dutchess County (Amenia, NY: Chas. Walsh, 1897), 99-101. Google Book edition.
  11. List of turnpikes in New York in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia accessed 6 November 2014).
  12. Ancram Turnpike in Routes in the Northeastern United States: Historic Trails, Roads and Migration Routes accessed 6 November 2014). The Ancram Turnpike went from Springield, MA to Catskill, NY; and was called the Catskill Road.
  13. Almira E Morgan, The Catskill Turnpike: A Wilderness Path (Ithaca, N.Y.: DeWitt Historical Society of Thompkins County, 1971), 5. Online digital copy.
  14. Catskill Turnpike in Routes in the Northeastern United States: Historic Trails, Roads and Migration Routes accessed 6 November 2014). The Catskill Turnpike went west from Catskill, NY to Bath, NY; the east part was called the Susquehanna Turnpike.
  15. Huntting, 97-99.
  16. List of turnpikes in New York in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia accessed 1 November 2014).
  17. Anastassia Zinke, The Susquehanna Turnpike and America's Frontier History in Catskill Mountain Foundation accessed 1 November 2014).
  18. Joan Odess, The Susquehanna Turnpike (pdf accessed 1 November 2014).
  19. Wood, map between 56 and 57, and 186-88.
  20. Wood, map between 330 and 331, and 348-49.
  21. Wood, map between 56 and 57, and 203-205.
  22. Wood, map between 56 and 57, and 166-67.
  23. Wood, map between 56 and 57, and 76-78.
  24. Wood, map between 56 and 57, and 79-80.
  25. Handybook, 851.
  26. Bethlehem Pike in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia accessed 17 November 2014).
  27. Old Connecticut Path in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia accessed 28 October 2014).
  28. Wood, 25.
  29. Boston Post Road in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia accessed 28 October 2014).
  30. Wood, map between 330 and 331, and 363-64.
  31. Vi L. Kemp, Thomas Jay Kemp, Middlesex Genealogical Society,Index to obituaries, Litchfield County times, Litchfield, Connecticut, 1989, (Darien, Connecticut nbsp;: Middlesex Genealogical Society, c1990).nbsp; Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.6 D25p no. 4.