Lincoln Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Lincoln Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Lincoln Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana, United States Genealogy
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||February 27, 1873|
|Address||100 W. Texas Ave.|
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Abraham Lincoln. The County has Ruston as its seat and the County was created 1873. The County is located in the north central area of the state.
Lincoln Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Lincoln Parish Courthouse
100 W Texas Avenue
Ruston, LA 71270
Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1873.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent Parish[edit | edit source]
- 1873--Lincoln Parish was created 27 February 1873 from Bienville, Jackson, Union, and Claiborne Parishes.
Parish seat: Ruston 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Parishes or Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana African American Griots Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- African American Cemeteries, listing by county
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Index to Lincoln Parish Bible Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Lincoln Parish Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Lincoln Parish Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- Lincoln Parish, Louisiana, Family Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Lincoln Parish cemeteries.
Census[edit | edit source]
- Index to Lincoln Parish Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Links to Online Census Images, Lincoln Parish, Louisiana (Census Online)
- Louisiana Census Images (USGenWeb Census Images Project)
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana, by city (Church Angel)
- Churches of Lincoln Parish (LAGenWeb)
- Lincoln Parish, Louisiana, Church Records (USGenWeb Archives)
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
- Lincoln Parish, Louisiana, Court Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Lincoln Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
- Louisiana Museums
- Ruston, Lincoln Parish, The First 50 Years (Genealogy Trails)
- Lincoln Parish History (USGenWeb Archives)
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this parish - How to Use FS Places
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- Family Maps of Lincoln Parish, Louisiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- USGW Digital Map Collection (USGenWeb Archives)
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1883 Lincoln Parish Pensioners on the Rolls as of January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1898-1950 Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1920 Louisiana World War I Service Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Newspaper List, listing by name/parish (USNPL)
- Louisiana Newspaper listing (Newslink)
- Lincoln Parish Newspaper Articles (USGenWeb Archives)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Lincoln Parish Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- Lincoln Parish Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Lincoln Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
Schools[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1837-1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1875 Lincoln Parish Marriages (Genealogy Trails)
- 1950 Marriage Notices in Tech Talk (Genealogy Trails)
- Lincoln Parish Marriage Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- North Louisiana Genealogical Society
PO Box 324
Ruston, LA 71270-0324
- Lincoln Parish Museum & Historical Society
609 N Vienna St
Rushton, LA 71279
- Louisiana Historical Society
428 Hector Ave
Metairie, La. 70005-4412
- Louisiana Historical Association
101 LSU Student Union
LSU Box 25435
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Lincoln Parish, Louisiana, LAGenWeb
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Lincoln Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Lincoln Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Lincoln Parish, Louisiana, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- Lincoln Parish LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Lincoln Parish, Louisiana p 291 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln Parish, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_Parish,_Louisiana, accessed 2 January 2020.