Lincoln County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Lincoln County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Lincoln County, Oregon | |
| Map | |
 Location in the state of Oregon, United States Genealogy | |
 Location of Oregon in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 20, 1893 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Newport |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Lincoln County Courthouse 225 W Olive Street Newport, OR 97365 Phone: 541.265.4131 Lincoln County Website |
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Abraham Lincoln, 16th president of the United States. The County is located in the northwest area of the state. [1]
Lincoln County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1907 | 1893 | 1907 | 1855 | 1893 | 1867 | 1845 |
County Courthouse
[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has birth and death records 1907-1916,
marriage records from 1905, land records from 1893,
military discharge records from 1945 and voter
registration from 1920.
District Court has divorce, probate and court records. [3]
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
20 February 1893: The county was created from Benton and Polk Counties. Named for Abraham Lincoln, 16th president of the United States of America. The irony is that he was offered Governorship of Oregon Territory but he turned it down and it was offered to Joseph Lane instead. [4]
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Lincoln County Court House as of September 2004.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
The following are locations in the county:[5]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Native American communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Benton | Lane | Polk | Tillamook
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography
[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| Tombstone Transcriptions Online | Tombstone Transcriptions in Print | List of Cemeteries in the county |
| Findagrave.com | Family History Library | Findagrave.com |
| ORGenWeb | WorldCat | Billion Graves |
| ORGenWeb Archives | FamilySearch Places | |
| Tombstone Project | ||
| ORInterment | ||
| ORGravestones | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| See Oregon Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1900 | 3,575 | — |
| 1910 | 5,587 | 56.3% |
| 1920 | 6,084 | 8.9% |
| 1930 | 9,903 | 62.8% |
| 1940 | 14,549 | 46.9% |
| 1950 | 21,308 | 46.5% |
| 1960 | 24,635 | 15.6% |
| 1970 | 25,755 | 4.5% |
| 1980 | 35,264 | 36.9% |
| 1990 | 38,889 | 10.3% |
| 2000 | 44,479 | 14.4% |
| 2010 | 46,034 | 3.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
for more resources
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1833 – 1963 Oregon Wills and Probate Records 1833-1963 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- 1842-1917 Oregon, Oregon State Archives, Births, 1842-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images (*); Also at: Ancestry
- 1860 - 1952 Oregon Births, 1860-1952 at FamilySearch — index
Delayed Birth Certificates
Birth Registers
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 Oregon, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1842-1917 Oregon, U.S., State Births, 1842-1917 at Ancestry - index and images ($); Also at: FamilySearch
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- 1906-1968 Oregon, U.S., State Marriages, 1906-1968 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Lincoln County Historical Society
545 Sw 9th St
Newport 97365-4726
541-265-7509
Webpage
Facebook Page
North Lincoln County Historical Museum
4907 SW Hwy 101
Lincoln City, OR 97367
541-996-6614
Website
Facebook Page
Lincoln County Genealogical Society
c/o Toledo Public Library
173 NW 7th Street
Toledo, OR 97391
Website
Facebook Page
Lincoln County Library District
141 NW 11th
Newport, OR 97365
541-265-3066
Webite
Chinook Library Network
12 Libraries Listed
141 NW 11th St
Newport, OR 97365
Website
Facebook Page
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Corvallis Oregon Family History Center
- Lebanon Oregon Family History Center
- McMinnville Oregon Family History Center
- Newport Oregon Family History Center
- Salem Oregon Family History Center
- Salem Oregon East Family History Center
- Sweet Home Oregon Family History Center
- Woodburn Oregon Family History Center
- The Genealogical Forum of Oregon - an affiliate library
- Oregon Genealogical Society - an affiliate library
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Lincoln County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Lincoln County GenWeb Project part of The ORGenWeb Project
- Linkpendium
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives (backup site)
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
Lincoln County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Oregon accessed 28 Nov 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092 ▲ FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Oregon, accessed 6 November 2018.