FamilySearch will be performing a server update on Saturday morning at 2:00am MDT during which time the wiki may be briefly unavailable.
Lincoln County, North Carolina Genealogy
(Redirected from Lincoln County, North Carolina Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Lincoln County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Lincoln County is located in the southwestern portion of North Carolina and was named for Revolutionary War general Benjamin Lincoln, who was appointed by George Washington to receive Lord Charles Cornwallis's sword when the British commander surrendered at Yorktown.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Lincoln County Courthouse
115 W Main Street
PO Box 218
Lincolnton, NC 28093
Phone: 704-736-8534
Lincoln County Website
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and burial and land records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1920, and probate records from 1869.[3]
Lincoln County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1913 | 1779 | 1913 | 1920 | 1763 | 1869 | 1784 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records at North Carolina Digital Archives - index and images
- Lincoln County Family Web Sites and Family Records at NCGenWeb
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: Ancestry ($)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 9,246 | — |
| 1800 | 12,660 | 36.9% |
| 1810 | 16,359 | 29.2% |
| 1820 | 18,147 | 10.9% |
| 1830 | 22,455 | 23.7% |
| 1840 | 25,160 | 12.0% |
| 1850 | 7,746 | −69.2% |
| 1860 | 8,195 | 5.8% |
| 1870 | 9,573 | 16.8% |
| 1880 | 11,061 | 15.5% |
| 1890 | 12,586 | 13.8% |
| 1900 | 15,498 | 23.1% |
| 1910 | 17,132 | 10.5% |
| 1920 | 17,862 | 4.3% |
| 1930 | 22,872 | 28.0% |
| 1940 | 24,187 | 5.7% |
| 1950 | 27,459 | 13.5% |
| 1960 | 28,814 | 4.9% |
| 1970 | 32,682 | 13.4% |
| 1980 | 42,372 | 29.6% |
| 1990 | 50,319 | 18.8% |
| 2000 | 63,780 | 26.8% |
| 2010 | 78,265 | 22.7% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1700-1970 North Carolina, Church Records, 1700-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Baptist
- Catawbo River. Constituted 1785.[7]
Lutheran
- Daniels Church, near Lincolnton, N.C. Organized 1774.[8]
- Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church, near Startown, N.C. Organized before 1797.[9] Later located in Catawba.
- St. John's Lutheran Church, near Conover, N.C. Organized before 1798.[10] Later located in Catawba.
- St. Paul's Lutheran Church, near Conover, N.C. Organized before 1771.[11] Originally located in Tryon; later located in Catawba.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1769-1779 Court Minutes of Tryon County, 1769-1779(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1769-1782 Court Minutes of Tryon and Lincoln Counties, North Carolina, 1769-1782(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1771-1923 North Carolina, Lincoln County, Civil Action Papers, 1771-1923(*); Superior Court and Superior Court Clerk at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1772-1778 North Carolina, Tryon County (Lincoln County), Court Record(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1772-1919 Lincoln Co., North Carolina Jury Lists, Other Records, ca. 1772-1919(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions, Superior and County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1779-1868 Minutes, 1779-1868(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1812-1868 Enrolling Docket, 1812-1868(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1816-1868 Minutes, 1816-1868(*); Superior Court of Law and Equity at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1842-1964 Minutes, 1842-1964(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1858-1941 Cross Index to Judgments, 1858-1941(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1874-1901 Record of Official Bonds, 1874-1901(*); Register of Deeds at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 1862-1870 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Assistant Commissioner Records, 1862-1870 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1863-1872 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1863-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Burke Mortuary & Crematory in Maiden
- E. F. Drum Funeral Home and Cremation Services in Lincolnton
- Ebony & White’s Funeral Service in Lincolnton
- Good Samaritan Funeral Home in Denver
- Goodin-Drum Funeral Home and Cremation Services in Maiden
- Raymer-Kepner Funeral Home and Cremation Services in Denver
- Warlick Funeral Home in Lincolnton
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
- Deed records 1769-present. Deed records available online from the Lincoln County Register of Deeds.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Lincoln County for European settlers included:[12]
- Catawba and Northern Trail (pre-historic)
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War
- 1778-1833 Delamar Transcripts of Revolutionary War Petitions at North Carolina Genealogical Society - index ($)
- 1779-1782 North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1885-1953 North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1885 and 1901 1885 and 1901 Confederate Pension Applications at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
Regiments. Men in Lincoln County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lincoln County:
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company D
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry,usually known as the Bethel Regiment, Company K
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company K
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company E
- - 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1917-1919 North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1939-1945 World Ward II Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1940-1948 North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina Newspapers at DigitalNC
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1868-1898 North Carolina, Voter Registration Records, 1868-1898 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1660-1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry ($)
- 1663-1789 Secretary of State Wills at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1663-1978 Lincoln County, North Carolina, Wills and Estate Papers, 1663-1978(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1663-1978 Wills and Estate Papers (Tryon County), 1663-1978(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1663-1979 North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1665-1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry ($)
- 1720-1960 Will Books A to F and 1 to 8 (1720-1960) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1735-1964 Lincoln County, North Carolina, Will Records, 1824-1964, Will Index, 1772-1964; Estate Records, 1735-1914(*); Superior Court and County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1735-1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1760-1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry ($)
- 1765-1779 Wills, 1765-1779(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1772-1964 Will Books 1 to 8 (1772-1964) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1790 Pre-1790 Lincoln County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills (North Carolina State Archives)
- 1829-1873 Miscellaneous Material, Wills and Marriage Consents, 1829, 1840, 1872-1873(*); Register of Deeds at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1831-1964 Lincoln County, North Carolina, Probate Records, 1831-1964(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1868-1954 Orders and Decrees, 1868-1954(*); Superior Court Clerk at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1869-1964 Account and Settlement Records and Index, 1869-1964(*); Superior Court Clerk at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- General Index; Special Proceedings, Orders and Decrees, Adoptions, Lunacy Proceedings, etc.(*); Superior Court Clerk at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- Images of Wills and Estates 1824-1838; 1843-1856; 1856-1868. North Carolina Pioneers ($)
- North Carolina Probate Records tips
- Will of Bostian Cline, The Little Bit : The Official Publication of the Family of Captain Daniel Little, Esqire, Inc. 1992. By Family of Captain Daniel Little, Esq., Lawrence L. Little. Conover, North Carolina : Family of Captain Daniel Little, Esq.. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
- 1868-1924 North Carolina, County Records, 1833-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; random records; index and images. (incomplete); Also at: Ancestry ($)
- 1776 - Tax lists, Tryon County, 1776 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, at Ancestry $
- 1778-1840 - Tax lists online at NCGenWeb.
- 1784-1886 - Tax lists, undated; tax lists, 1784-1785, 1789, 1792, 1805-1806, 1817-1822, 1825-1844, 1846-1853, 1856-1886. Images online at FamilySearch.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 North Carolina, Department of Archives and History, Index to Vital Records, 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1866-1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1913-1922 North Carolina, Center for Health Statistics, Vital Records Unit, County Birth Records, 1913-1922 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1741-2004 North Carolina, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1741-2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1759-1979 North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1762-1979 North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1763-1868 North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1851-1869 Lincoln County Marriage Index 1851-1869. Batch M752092 at FamilySearch[13]
- 1892-1916 North Carolina, County Records, 1833-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; random records; index and images. (incomplete); Also at: Ancestry ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1994 North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1906-1930 North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1908-2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry $
- 1931-1994 North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1926-1975 North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1958-2004 North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry $
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Lincoln County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Lincoln County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Lincoln County Public Library
306 W. Main St.
Lincolnton, NC 28092
Telephone 704-732-9040
Website
Gaston County Public Library
1555 E. Garrison Blvd.
Gastonia, NC 28054
Telephone 704-868-2164, dial 2
Website
Collection focuses on Gaston, Lincoln and Tryon Counties. There are nine branches in the system.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Lincoln County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.
Broad River Genealogical Society
1145 County Home Rd
PO Box 2261
Shelby, NC 28150-2261
Email: brgs1145@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Eastern Lincoln Historical Society
4353 N Highway 16
Denver, NC 28037
Facebook
Gaston-Lincoln Genealogical Society
PO Box 584
Mt. Holly, NC 28120-0584
Website
Lincoln County Historical Association
403 E. Main St.
Lincolnton, NC 28092
Telephone 704-748-9090
Email: LincolnCountyHistoryNC@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Lincoln County NCGenWeb
- USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Lincoln County, NCGenWeb - Many records & research sources
- Lincoln County, NCGenWeb Archives - additional transcribed genealogical records all kinds
- Piedmont Trails Many records & research sources with family surnames and much more.
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/lincoln
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 20 February 2020.
- ↑ George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:562. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ "Daniels Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ "Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ "St. John's Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ "Old St. Paul's Lutheran Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.