Lincoln County, Maine Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lincoln County, Maine ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Wiscasset
Organized: June 19, 1760[1]
Parent County(s): York[2]
Neighboring Counties
Sagadahoc  • Kennebec  • Waldo  • Knox
Courthouse
Maine, Lincoln County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Me-lincoln.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Lincoln County was named for Lincoln, England. The county is located in the southern area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Lincoln County Courthouse
32 High Street
Wiscasset, ME 04578
Phone: 207-882-6363
Lincoln County Website

Clerk Courts has marriage, probate and land records from 1860 and court records from 1861. Clerk Superior Court has probate records from 1760 to 1764. [4]

Lincoln County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1892 1860 1892 1761 1860 1760 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1892. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

MaineLincoln CountyKnox CountyWaldo, CountyKennebec CountyCumberland CoutnySagadahoc CountyWhitefieldSomervilleJeffersonWaldoboroNobleboroNewcastleDamariscottaBremenBristolSouth BristolBoothbay HarborSouthportEdgecombDresdenAlnaWiscassetWestport IslandBoothbayMonhegan (Plantation)Louds Island (Muscongus Isle Plantation)Hibberts GoreGeorgetownPhippsburgWest BathBathWoolwichHarpswellBrunswickArrowsicTopshamBowdoinhamBowdoinPerkins TownshipRichmondLichfieldWest GardinerGardinerRandolphWinthropReadfieldMount VernonBelgradeManchesterFarmingdaleHallowellAugustaSidneyVassalboroChinaWindsorChelseaPalermoMontvilleMorrillLibertySearsmontWashingtonAppletonUnionHopeWarrenFriendshipCushingSaint GeorgePittston
Modern town borders in Lincoln County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[8]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Unorganized territories
  • Thief Island
  • Western Egg Rock

Plantations[9]

Extinct towns and plantations[10]

Collamore Ridge Plantation | Hibbert Plantation | Muscongus Isle Plantation (aka Louds Island)

Additional Information

  • Named for English city, Lincoln in Lincolnshire, England

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Lincoln County, Maine online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maine Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 29,733
1800 30,225 1.7%
1810 42,992 42.2%
1820 53,189 23.7%
1830 57,192 7.5%
1840 63,517 11.1%
1850 74,875 17.9%
1860 27,860 −62.8%
1870 25,597 −8.1%
1880 24,821 −3.0%
1890 21,996 −11.4%
1900 19,669 −10.6%
1910 18,216 −7.4%
1920 15,976 −12.3%
1930 15,498 −3.0%
1940 16,294 5.1%
1950 18,004 10.5%
1960 18,497 2.7%
1970 20,537 11.0%
1980 25,691 25.1%
1990 30,357 18.2%
2000 33,616 10.7%
2010 34,450 2.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Maine Land and Property for databases, early land grants to individuals, and more information.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Lincoln County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information, see Maine Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Lincoln CountySagadahoc CountyWaldo CountyKennebec CountyKnox CountyME Lincoln.jpg
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]


Revolutionary War


Civil War


Regiments. Civil War service men in Lincoln County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in this county:

- 4th Regiment, Maine Infantry


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Maine Newspaper Archive Indexes Free; Digital Page Images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.

Wiscasset, Lincoln County, newspapers online:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. For databases and more information, see Maine Taxation

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Maine Genealogy Lincoln County
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Lincoln County Historical Society
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Maine."
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Maine page 304, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Massachusetts.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Maine, accessed 9 July 2019.
  9. For further details see Maine Plantations
  10. Before an extinct town (or plantation) was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.