Lincoln County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Lincoln County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for General Benjamin Lincoln. The County is located in the east central area of the state. [2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Lincoln County Courthouse
210 Humphrey Street
PO Box 340
Lincolnton, GA 30817
Phone: 706-359-4444
Lincoln County Website
Probate Court has court has birth records from 1920, marriage records from 1810, death records from 1930 and probate records from 1796.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1796 and land records from 1790.[3]
Lincoln County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1920 | 1810 | 1930 | 1796 | 1790 | 1796 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[5] |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Lincoln County Bible Records at Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1800 | 4,766 | — |
| 1810 | 4,555 | −4.4% |
| 1820 | 6,458 | 41.8% |
| 1830 | 6,145 | −4.8% |
| 1840 | 5,895 | −4.1% |
| 1850 | 5,998 | 1.7% |
| 1860 | 5,466 | −8.9% |
| 1870 | 5,413 | −1.0% |
| 1880 | 6,412 | 18.5% |
| 1890 | 6,146 | −4.1% |
| 1900 | 7,156 | 16.4% |
| 1910 | 8,714 | 21.8% |
| 1920 | 9,739 | 11.8% |
| 1930 | 7,847 | −19.4% |
| 1940 | 7,042 | −10.3% |
| 1950 | 6,462 | −8.2% |
| 1960 | 5,906 | −8.6% |
| 1970 | 5,895 | −0.2% |
| 1980 | 6,716 | 13.9% |
| 1990 | 7,442 | 10.8% |
| 2000 | 8,348 | 12.2% |
| 2010 | 7,996 | −4.2% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1796-1908 Minutes, 1796-1908(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1796-1939 General Index to All Records, 1796-1939(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1797-1801 Miscellaneous Records, 1797-1801(*); Ordinary Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1797-1868 Inferior Court Minutes (Lincoln County, Georgia), 1797-1868(*); Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1799-1908 Minutes, 1799-1908(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1802-1880 Minutes of Criminal Proceedings 1816-1880 and Writs 1802-1804, Lincoln County, Georgia(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1821-1906 Writs, 1821-1906(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1845-1926 Physician, Justice of Peace, and Notary Public Registers, 1845-1926 (Lincoln County, Georgia)(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1849-1884 Evidence in Criminal Cases 1869-1884, and Constable Records 1849-1879 (Lincoln County, Georgia)(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1856-1923 Records of Ferry and Bridge Bonds, 1869-1923; Retailer Licenses, 1856- 1896; and, Liquor Register, 1882-1885 (Lincoln County, Georgia)(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1864-1953 Official Bonds of Lincoln County (Georgia), 1864-1953(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1868-1917 Register of County Orders 1868-1917, Lincoln County, Georgia(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1879-1959 List of Jurors of Lincoln County (Georgia) 1879-1959(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans
- 1866-1884 Lincoln County Colored Marriage Books AA and BB Index 1866-1884. Batch M713221 at FamilySearch
- 1884-1895 Lincoln County Colored Marriage Book C Index 1884-1895. Batch M713222 at FamilySearch
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Beggs Funeral Home in Lincolnton
- Norris W. Gunby Sr. Funeral Home in Lincolnton
- Rees Funeral Home in Lincolnton
- Wright and Jones Funeral Home in Lincolnton (Facebook)
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- 1735-1866 Georgian Colonial and Headright Plat Index, 1735-1866 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - alpha index
- 1783-1909 Headright and Bounty Plats, 1783-1909 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1805-1833 District Plats of Survey at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images organized by county and district
- Colonial Plats and Warrants at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- 1740s-? Historic Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1866 - 1935 County Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- Maps of Georgia (1758-1932)
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to Lincoln County for European settlers included:
- Savannah River pre-historic
- Occaneechi Path pre-historic
- Middle Creek Trading Path pre-historic
- Fall Line Road about 1735
- Augusta-Savannah Trail 1740s
- Augusta and Cherokee Trail 1740s
- Great Valley Road (south fork) 1740s
- Charleston-Ft. Charlotte Trail in South Carolina about 1765
- Fort Charlotte and Cherokee Old Path in South Carolina about 1765
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 Confederate Enlistment Oaths and Discharges at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images and alphabetical index
- 1861-1865 Confederate Muster Rolls at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images; filter by commanding officer, service branch and regiment
- 1861-1865 Confederate Pension Application Supplements - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
- 1864 Militia Enrollment Lists, 1864 - images; filter by county
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
- 1879-1920 Georgia, Confederate Pension Rolls, 1879-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1879-1960 Confederate Pension Applications - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
Regiments. Service men in Lincoln County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lincoln County:
- - 15th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- - 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- - 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- - 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E, 9th Battalion
- Hudson, Frank Parker. 1977. An 1800 census for Lincoln County, Georgia. Atlanta: R.J. Taylor, Jr., Foundation. (page 55) 975.8165 X2p digital version
- Perryman, Clinton J. 1960. History of Lincoln County, Georgia. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 202623
- Perryman, Clinton J. 1985. History of Lincoln County, Georgia: 1933. Tignall, Georgia: Boyd Pub. Co. (Vo. 2 page 55) 975.8165 H2pc
- White, George. 2001. Lincoln County, Georgia history & biographies. Signal Mountain, Tennessee: Mountain Press. (page 6-7) 975.8165 D3L
- Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lincoln County). 1960. Confederate soldiers pensions, 1890-1949. [S.l.]: Mann Film Laboratories. film 202719 item 1,2,3
Spanish-American War
- 1898 Spanish-American War Service Summary Cards - images and alphabetical index; filter by residence, muster location and unit
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Casualties Scrapbooks - images and alphabetical index
- 1920-1929 Georgia, World War I, Statement of Service Cards, 1920-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940-1942 Georgia World War II Draft Registration Cards 1940-1942 at findmypast - index ($))
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Georgia Historic Newspapers at Digital Library of Georgia
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voting Records
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1733-1753 Colonial Wills at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1742-1990 Georgia Probate Records, 1742-1990(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1742-1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1754-1776 Colonial Will Books at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1796-1808 Index to Will Book B, 1796-1808 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1796-1832 Wills, 1796-1832 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1796-1936 Wills & estate records, 1796-1936(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lincoln County) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1799-1908 Minutes, 1799-1908(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lincoln County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1807-1953 Inventory & appraisements, 1807-1953(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lincoln County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Partial index and images
- 1808-1950 Annual returns, 1808-1950(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lincoln County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1830-1926 Administrators bonds, 1830-1926(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lincoln County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1833-1877 Index to Will Book E, 1833-1877 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1852-1878 Estate accounts 1852-1878, Lincoln County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lincoln County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1852-1936 Vouchers, 1852-1936(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lincoln County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1853-1952 Letters testamentary 1853-1952, Lincoln County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lincoln County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1853-1957 Letters of administration 1853-1957, Lincoln County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lincoln County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1878-1884 Docket of executors, administrators, and guardians, 1878-1884 Lincoln County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lincoln County) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- Early Georgia wills, Lincoln County(*); Smith, Sarah Quinn at FamilySearch Catalog — images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
- 1787-1900 Georgia, Tax Digests, 1787-1900 at FamilySearch — How to use this collection, index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1560-1993 Georgia, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1699-1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry— index ($)
- 1754-1960 Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1785-1950 Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1806-1873 Lincoln County Marriage Books G thru I Index 1806-1873. Batch M713223 at FamilySearch[8]
- 1808-1967 Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch — index
- 1828-1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1873-1904 Lincoln County Marriage Books J and K Index 1873-1904. Batch M713224 at FamilySearch
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images
- 1914-1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1919-1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1919-1930 Georgia Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - index and images
- 1928-1930 Georgia Non-Indexed Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1928-1942 Georgia Deaths, 1928-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1933-1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Lincoln County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Lincoln County. For state-wide library facilities, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Lincoln County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Georgia Societies.
- Lincoln County Historical Society, Inc.
2060 White Rock Road
Lincolnton, GA 30817
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb Lincoln County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- Lincoln County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Georgia accessed 1 Nov 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
- ↑ Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 38-39. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Georgia, accessed 1 September 2019.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
