The Library was founded in 1823 and is the most comprehensive resource in the world for the study of Virginia history, culture, and government. The collection includes books, periodicals, government records (state depository library), maps, newspapers, archival records, architectural drawings and plans, manuscripts, rare books, prints and photographs, ephemera, and fine art.
Library of Virginia
800 E. Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Library Reference: 804-692-3777
Archives Reference: 804-692-3888
- Please check our News & Events Calendar for any changes to our regular hours due to holiday closings, special events, or inclement weather.
Planning Your Visit
- Please see our Visitors Guide for everything you need to know before coming to the Library including directions, parking, collection access policies, use of microfilm scanners, and more.
Website and Catalog
Databases & eBooks
- All visitors to the Library have access to an extensive collection of research databases. The Library of Virginia is a FamilySearch affiliate library which enables onsite users to have access to 400 million digitized records that are otherwise only available at LDS Church family history centers. Virginia residents can register for an online library account to access many databases from home.
- Digital collections in the catalog include: land records; vital records; Virginia Death Indexing; Henley Marriage/Obituary Index to Virginia Newspapers; Marriage and Obituary Index for Richmond Enquirer/Richmond Visitor; Petersburg Public Library Newspaper Index; Probate Records; Index to Wills and Administrations; Church Records; Bristol Church and Family Cemeteries Index; Military Records; Virginia Colonial Records Project; Coats of Arms; Index to Sources on Family Coats of Arms; Biographies; WPA Life Histories Collection.
- Additional digital collections are available on the Library's Virginia Memory website including the Chancery Records Index, Virginia Chronicle (newspapers), and Virginia Untold: the African American Narrative.
Guides & Indexes
- The Library provides a collection of research guides for our print, newspaper, manuscript, and archival collections.
- John S. Salmon, comp.. A Guide to State Records in the Archives Branch. (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia State Library, 1985). FHL book 975.5 A3sj
- Suzanne Smith Ray, A Preliminary Guide to Pre- 1904 County Records in the Archives Branch, Virginia State Library and Archives. (Richmond, Virginia: Library and Archives, [1988?]). FHL book 975.5 A3r
- Lyndon H. Hart, A Preliminary Guide to Pre-1904 Municipal Records in the Archives Branch, Virginia State Library and Archives. (Richmond, Virginia Library and Archives, [1988?]). FHL book 975.5 A3h)
- Virginia State Library. Archives and Records Division. Annual Reports of Archival Accessions. (Richmond, Virginia: Library and Archives, 1971–). FHL book 975.5 A35v
- Family History Library, Salt Lake City, UT - Library has 450 computers, 3,400 databases, 3.1 million microforms, 4,500 periodicals, 310,000 books of worldwide family and local histories, civil, church, immigration, ethnic, military, and records pertaining to members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
- Allen County Public Library, Fort Wayne, IN - Premier genealogical periodical collection, genealogies, local histories, databases, military records, census records, directories, and passenger lists.
- National Archives I, Washington, DC - Census, pre-WWI military service & pensions, passenger lists, naturalizations, passports, federal bounty land, homesteads, bankruptcy, ethnic sources, prisons, and federal employees.
- Daughters of the American Revolution Library, Washington DC - Revolutionary War and colonial period, including family and local histories, cemetery transcriptions, Bible records, 15,000 genealogical membership applications.
- Maryland State Archives, Annapolis, MD - Census, court, church, vital, military, probate, land, tax, immigration, and naturalizations.