Lexington County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lexington County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Lexington
Organized: 12 Mar 1785[1]
Parent County(s): Orangeburg County[2]
Neighboring Counties
Aiken  • Calhoun  • Newberry  • Orangeburg  • Richland  • Saluda
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Lexington County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-lexington.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the commemorate Battle of Lexington in the American Revolutionary War. The County is located in the central location of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Lexington County Courthouse
205 E. Main St.
Lexington, SC 29072
Phone: 803-785-8212
Lexington County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken[4]

Lexington County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1800 1839 1809 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

In February 1865, advancing federal troops destroyed pre-1839 records of the clerk of court; the destruction included deeds and virtually all probate records. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Lexington County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1810 6,641
1820 8,083 21.7%
1830 9,065 12.1%
1840 12,111 33.6%
1850 12,930 6.8%
1860 15,579 20.5%
1870 12,988 −16.6%
1880 18,564 42.9%
1890 22,181 19.5%
1900 27,264 22.9%
1910 32,040 17.5%
1920 35,676 11.3%
1930 36,494 2.3%
1940 35,994 −1.4%
1950 44,279 23.0%
1960 60,726 37.1%
1970 89,012 46.6%
1980 140,353 57.7%
1990 167,611 19.4%
2000 216,014 28.9%
2010 262,391 21.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection 1024517 - 1024518. Published abstract: National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Collection 973 X2m 1820. Includes this county.

1839 State Census

  • "The 1839 State Census of Lexington District," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 25, No. 3 (Summer 1997):137-143. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 25

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at Google Book. [See South Carolina, Lexington District on page 142.]

1850
Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents on the first page of enumeration for this census year.[8] The returns have been published twice:

  • Harwell, Carolyn Lewis and Lexington Genealogical Association. Lexington County, South Carolina 1850 Census with Genealogical Data on Many Families. 1985. FHL Collection 975.773 X2h 1850
  • Buff, L.H., Margaret L. Hollis, Janice GartmanLee and Lexington Genealogical Association. Lexington County, South Carolina 1850 Census, Second Edition: With Genealogical Data on Most Families. FHL Collection 975.773 X2h 1850 1998

1860

  • Jones, Marvin D. 1860 Census, Lexington County, South Carolina. 2000. FHL Collection 975.773 X2j 1860
  • Trotter, Shirley F. Johnson. 1860 Census, Lexington County, South Carolina: With a Complete Index of Names Including the Mortality Schedule and the Slave Schedule. Lexington, S.C.: S.F.J. Trotter, 1991. FHL Collection 975.773 X2t 1860

1870

  • Trotter, Shirley F. Johnson and South Carolina Genealogical Society. Dutch Fork Chapter. 1870 Census, Lexington County, South Carolina with a Complete Name Index. Chapin, S.C.: Dutch Fork Chapter of the South Carolina Genealogical Society, 1989. FHL Collection 975.773 X2t 1870

Church Records[edit | edit source]

St. Stephen's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Lexington, South Carolina: Church Records and Cemetery Inscriptions (Lexington, S.C.: Loyal Sunday School Class, 1989).LC 89-63490.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Lexington County has court records from 1800 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. Lexington County was a part of the Orangeburg district from 1785-1800. The South Carolina Archives and History Center has court records available on microfilm for Lexington County. The Family History Library collection includes books and microfilm regarding court records for Lexington County.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

The 1860 slave schedule is abstracted in:

  • Trotter, Shirley F. Johnson. 1860 Census, Lexington County, South Carolina: With a Complete Index of Names Including the Mortality Schedule and the Slave Schedule. Lexington, S.C.: S.F.J. Trotter, 1991. FHL Book 975.773 X2t 1860

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Burnt Mill
  • Chalk Hill
  • Corley Hill
  • Fox - Lexington
  • Green Acres - also called Lorick
  • Hayes
  • Jake Mack's Place - also called Samuel Jeffcoat
  • Little Hope
  • Lorick
  • The Point
  • Poor Hope
  • Red Tavern
  • Rising Hope
  • Samuel Jeffcoat - also called Jake Mack's Place
  • Samuel Lorick
  • Seawright Beaver Creek
  • Silver Hill

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

  • Gregg, E. Stuart. Miller, Lewis, King, Smith, Shealy--Some Families of the Old Lexington District Certain Lines of Descent from South Carolina Settlers, George Peter Miller, Charles Clark, David King, John W. Lewis, Henry Smith, Johann Caspar Mantz, Hans Amacher, Thomas Minnick, Hans Adam Summer, Johann Shely, and Some of Their Scions. Hilton Head Island, S.C.: E.S. Gregg, 1988. FHL 929.273 M614g
  • Hammond, Wanda Amick and Lexington Genealogical Association. Lexington Lineage Charts, Volume 1 [South Carolina]. Lexington, S.C.: Lexington Genealogical Association, 1987. FHL 975.7 D2h
  • Lexington County, SC Genealogy Forum (GenForum)

Bibliography

  • Ballington - Ballington, Lewis Clinton. The Ballington Family of Lexington County, South Carolina. S.C.?: L.C. Ballington, 2007.
  • Butler - Memoirs of General William Butler: Including a Brief Sketch of His Father and Brother, Who Fell in the Revolution, at Cloud's Creek, Lexington District, S.C. Atlanta, Ga.: Jas. P. Harrison & Co., Printers and Binders, 1885. Digital version at Internet Archive.
  • Fox - Steadman, Joseph Earle. Ancestry of the Fox Family of Richland and Lexington Counties, South Carolina. FHL 929.273 F83sj
  • Hamiter - Hamiter, David L. "The Hamiter Family of South Carolina," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 23, No. 1 (Winter 1995):3-12. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 23
  • Langford - Langford, George Shealy. Langfords in America Sketches on Early Arrivals and Migrations: Genealogical Recording on Descendants from Early Saluda River, South Carolina Families (Lexington, Newberry, Saluda and Old Edgefield Counties), 1773-1975: Some Related Families [of] Holley, Waters, Shealy, Timms, Robertson. College Park, Md.: Langford, 1977. FHL 929.273 L263a
  • Mathias Hammond, Frederick L. The Family Heritage of Long John Mathias and Quilla Bouknight Mathias of Lexington County, S.C. Typescript. FHL 929.273 M426h
  • Shealy - Nichols, Carl W. "Shealy Family Gets a Biologic Birth Certificate," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 36, No. 1 (Winter 2008):3-12. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 36
  • Spence - "The Wife of James Spence of Lexington County," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 32, No. 4 (Fall 2004):186. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 32
  • Wise - Bauer, William Rudolph. Reconstruction of the Genealogy of the Wise Family of the Congarees. Columbia, S.C.: W.R. Bauer, 2001. FHL 929.273 W754b

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Calhoun County with Parent Counties and Districts [9]
Date Government Office
1869-present Lexington County
1839-69 Lexington District
1804-1839 Lexington County Records Lost**
1785-1804 Records Lost***
1710-1785 Charleston District
1670-1710 Proprietary Land Grants
  • Some Orangeburg District deeds were recorded in Charleston District and were not destroyed
    ** Orangeburg District and Lexington District records destroyed by fire in 1865.Only Lexington County deeds after 1839 survive.


  • This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification.All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants

The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative. Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

"The first of four engravings by Amos Doolittle from 1775. Doolittle visited the battle sites and interviewed soldiers and witnesses. Contains controversial elements, possibly inaccuracies. Fire from the militia may have occurred but is not depicted." Source: "Battles of Lexington and Concord," Wikipedia.
  • The county is named after the Revolutionary War Battles of Lexington and Concord.[10] Lexington County lies in the Dutch Fork region of the state.
  • Harman,Godfrey M.Uncle Josh Remembrances of Old Lexington County, South Carolina. (Lexington, South Carolina Lexington County Historical Society, c1990),85 pages. "In late 1870 Uncle Josh [Godfrey M. Harman] began publishing the Lexington Dispatch.... In 1922 at the age of 77 he undertook a series of articles describing his world as it was in the previous century. Book at FHL 975.773 H2h and Other Libraries.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Newberry CountyRichland CountyCalhoun CountyOrangeburg CountyAiken CountySaluda CountySC LEXINGTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Lexington County for European settlers included:[11]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

General

  • "Lexington District militia petition, 1825," South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Winter 2003, Volume 31, Issue 1. Brent Holcomb: Columbia, SC. FHL Collection
  • "Militia list, 1847," Lexington Genealogical Exchange, Summer 1985, Volume 5, Issue 1. Lexington County Genealogical Association: Lexington, SC. FHL Collection

Revolutionary War

  • "Saxe Gotha and Dutch Fort revolutionary patriots," Lexington Genealogical Exchange, Spring 1985, Volume 4, Issue 4. Lexington County Genealogical Association: Lexington, SC. FHL Collection

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Lexington County, p. 186. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
  • "Pension records applications," Lexington Genealogical Exchange, Winter 1996, Volume 15, Issue 3 and Winter 1995, Volume 14, Issue 3. Lexington County Genealogical Association: Lexington, SC. FHL Collection

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Lexington County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that were formed with many men from Lexington County:

- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company A (also known the Union Light Infantry and German Fusiliers), Company B (also known as the Sumter Guards), and Company C (also known as the Charleston Sharpshooters and Palmetto Guards)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A (also known as the Boykin Mounted Rangers and Hampton Scouts)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company E
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company A, Company E, Company F, and Company G
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops (6 months 1863-64), Company A, Company F, Company G
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Lauren's) (James'), Company F (also known as the Harper Rifles)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion), Company F (also known as the Chestnut Light Artillery), Company G (also known as the DeSaussure Light Artillery and the DePass Light Battery), and Company K(also known as Richardson's Company)
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company C, Company E, and Company H
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troop Junior Reserves, Company D
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Ferguson's), Company F
- 6th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Meriwether's), Company B and Company C
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company B
- 6th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Meriwether's), Company B Roster and Company C Roster
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles), Company E
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company D
- 9th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company K
- 12th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D
- 13th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company H and Company K
- 14th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company C and Company D
- 15th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company C and Company I
- 15th Regiment, South Carolina Militia, Company A and Company H
- 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B
- 20th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company B, Company C, Company I, Company H, Reorganized Company C, Reorganized Company H, Reorganized Company I, Reorganized Company K, and Reorganized Company L
- Aiken's Mounted Infantry, South Carolina

Other Resources

  • Lexington County, Clerk of Court. Confederate Pension and Veterans Records, 1861-1948. (Columbia, South Carolina: South Carolina Department of Archives and History, 1971). Most volumes are alphabetically arranged by surname. Four microfilms (1) Pension applications of Confederate veterans and their widows (some later) 1861-1919 Pension rolls (some years are missing) 1918-1948-FHL film 20685, (2) Confederate pension record 1888-FHL film 1027231, (3) Enrollment book of Confederate veterans 1903-1905, 1908-FHL film 1027232, (4) Confederate pension roll 1896, 1901-1919, 1923-FHL film 1027251 Microfilm copies at FHL 206855

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Lexington County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Current

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

  • Lexington Genealogical Exchange (Family History Library book 975.773 D25l .)
  • South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research (Family History Library book 975.7 B2sc .)
  • Lutheran Visitor (Abstracts: 1866-1868, 1870-1904), including births, marriages, deaths.(Abstracted and contributed by Edith Greisser, South Carolina Genealogy Trails

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History hasmicrofilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. This collection includes estate papers of the court of ordinary and probate courts from 1865-1900, with indexes from 1856-1940.Statewide Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 is available online, with searchable index by name, and the image is available. Early probate records for Lexington County may be found in now-extinct Orangeburgh District. Estate papers of Lexington County probate court are available on microfilm from 1863-1900. FHL Film 2365805 Other probate records available in the county probate court and court of equity. Other microfilm probate record collections:

  • Will books, 1865-1908; index to estate papers, 1865-1940, Probate Court, Lexington County, South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.: South Carolina Department of Archives and History, 1971. FHL Film 1027239
  • Administrators and guardians records, 1809-1902, Probate Court and Court of Equity, Lexington County, South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.: South Carolina Department of Archives and History, 1971. FHL Film 1027233

Lexington County Probate Court Online Indexes (Estate and Marriages)
Estate (1865-1994)
Male Marriage (1911-1987)
Female Marriage (1936-1987)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Lexington County.

Original sources
Tax duplicate books survive. Copies of years 1868-1876: FHL Films 1027168-1027173.

Published abstracts

  • Tax Executions, 1803, Carolina Herald and Newsletter, Vol. 30 (Jan. 2002).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Marriages - Indexes and Records

  • Marriages of Lexington, Newberry, and Orangeburgh [sic] Counties, South Carolina by Martha H. Spivey [12] WorldCat - index
  • 1911-1987 Probate Court Marriage Records Index - index
  • 1911-1958 Lexington County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950; Indexes, 1911-1958 [13] FHL Collection - index and records
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found insome counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Lexington County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Lexington County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Lexington County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

  • Lexington County Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 1442
    Lexington SC 29072
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Newberry
  3. "Lexington County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lexington_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
  4. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lexington County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  6. Newberry
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Lexington County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lexington County, South Carolina, accessed 27 December 2019.
  8. Alycon Trubey Pierce, "In Praise of Errors Made by Census Enumerators," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 1 (March 1993):51-55. FHL Book 973 B2ng
  9. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  10. "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
  11. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  12. Spivey, Martha H., Marriages of Lexington, Newberry, and Orangeburgh Counties, South Carolina, Lexington, SC (P.O. Box 1262, Lexington 29072): WeSearch Publications, ©1999.
  13. South Carolina. Probate Court (Lexington County), Lexington County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950; Indexes, 1911-1958, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2002-2003.
  14. Lexington County (South Carolina), Coroner, Inquisition Books, 1890-1910, Columbia, SC: Georgia Department of Archives and History, 1971.