Lethbridge Alberta Family History Centre

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Centre, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


The Lethbridge Alberta Family History Center provides knowledge and resources to patrons to help them find their ancestors.

Centre Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]

Location and Map:

  • 1912 - 10th Avenue South, Lethbridge, Alberta, T1K 0B7 Canada
  • Please use the South entrance.
  • Location on Map

Phone:

E-mail: AB_Lethbridge@familyhistorymail.org or fhclethbridge@gmail.com

Facebook page

Hours[edit | edit source]

Regular hours -

Tuesdays 9:30-4:30

Wednesdays 9:30-8:00

Summer hours June 3-Sept 5

Wednesday-9:30-12:00

Closed

19 September - 3 October

4 December - 8 January


Family Room (needs to be booked 3-4 weeks ahead of time).

Scheduled Holidays:

  • Family Day ..........................................................................................Feb 18-21, 2022
  • General Conference.............................................................................April 2 & 3rd, 2022                      
  • Easter...................................................................................................April 17, 2022 
  • Mother's Day.........................................................................................May 8, 2022                     
  • Victoria Day..........................................................................................May 23, 2022
  • Father's Day..........................................................................................June 19th, 2022        
  • Canada Day..........................................................................................July 1st, 2022
  • Labour Day.......................................................................................... September 5, 2022
  • General Conference.............................................................................October 1 & 2, 2021
  • Thanksgiving .......................................................................................October 10, 2022          
  • Halloween.............................................................................................October 31           
  • Remembrance Day ..............................................................................November 11           
  • Christmas.............................................................................................December 4 to January 08, 2022-2023

Calendar and Events[edit | edit source]

Class Schedule for 2021[edit | edit source]

You may register online for any courses at www.findfamilystory.com.

Classes have a 20 person Limit so must register 403- Thank you.

Free Public Family History Classes For 2020.

1912 10 Avenue South Lethbridge (South Door, Lower Level)

Please call the Family History Centre at 403- to Register for Classes

Or Register On-Line at     https://guestlist.co/u/lethbridgefhc

Special Events[edit | edit source]

Temple and Family History Consultant Training Conference -- none scheduled

Staff Training Meetings:[edit | edit source]

Training for consultants - none scheduled in the Family History Center.

Who comes:

  • Family History Consultants

Centre Resources[edit | edit source]

Collections[edit | edit source]

Major collections at the Lethbridge FHC[edit | edit source]

On-Line Records For But Not Limited To:

Nova Scotia

County Histories - book Nova Scotia Immigrants to 1867 - book Federal Census 1851, 1861, 1881 and 1901

New Brunswick[edit | edit source]

Vital Statistics form N.B. Newspapers 1784-1878 - books Federal Census 1851, 1861, 1891 and 1901

Quebec[edit | edit source]

Re Cueil De Genealogies - Gazetteer Beauce-Dorchester-Frontenac 1625-1946 (ll Volumes) Genealogies-Montmagny, L'islet, Bellechasse (16 Volumes) Tanquay's Dictionnaire Genealogique (109 Fiche) Federal Census 1851, 1861, 1901 Laiselle Index to Quebec Marriages (11 films) 1881 census for Lotbiniere Co., Montreal City, Argenteul Co., Pontiac Co. 1891 Census Argenteuil Dist., Yamaska District

United Kingdom[edit | edit source]
England[edit | edit source]
Scotland[edit | edit source]

Hungary

Germany

United States[edit | edit source]

144 general reference books and 62 books for various states

Victoria, Australia

Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints[edit | edit source]

The Lethbridge Family History Center has an extensive collection of resource books and local history books. They are as follows:

  • 583 Parish Registry books of England. This information can also be found on some of the films which are located in our library.
  • England: British Isles general reference 83, counties of England 599, Ireland 23, Scotland 31.
  • Canada: general reference 31, Alberta 50, New Brunswick 16, Nova Scotia 27, Ontario 27, Quebec 41, as well as many other books for other provinces.
  • There are 147 general genealogy reference books
  • There are also general reference books for all countries of the world including one on Jewish research.
  • The Library has 18 reference books about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Total general reference books for U.S.A. are 144, also 6 for Native Races and 62 reference books forU.S. States.
  • 30 reference books on Germany
  • A number of gazateers
  • Genealogical Research Directories 1885 - 1996
  • History Books of Southern Alberta

Maps and Atlas[edit | edit source]

The Family History Center has an excellent collection of maps for most countries of the world, which include Ireland, England, Europe, Belgium, France, Switzerland, Hungary, Yugoslavia, Denmark Sweden, Netherlands, Iceland, and Norway.

  • 14 maps of Germany
  • English Shire maps
  • Scotland Shire maps
  • Reg. and Census district maps of England
  • 17 Ordnance Survey Maps - U.K.
  • 62 maps of England, Wales and Scotland
  • Atlas of States in U.S.
  • Historical Atlas for Canada, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, and Numerous Counties of Ontario

Microfilm[edit | edit source]

The Family History Center has 1 film reader and various microfilms.
There is a collection of films for Scotland, particularly Aberdeen County, which include marriage, birth, death, census, and baptism records. Parish Registers and histories are also on film.
Films on each county of England may contain census records, Parish Registers marriages, birth, death.

The Family History Center has films for almost every country of the world on-line including: Ireland, Wales, Germany, Hungary, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Russia, South Africa, Sweden, every state in the U.S.A., Switzerland, Ukraine, Mexico, Belgium, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, every province in Canada, Asia, and of course England and Scotland. These films could include marriage, birth, death, census records and much more.

Microfiche[edit | edit source]

The Family History Center has a collection of microfiche and one microfiche reader. Besides part of our major collection of resources on-line, we also have the following:

  • The most used 200 reference books
  • I.G.I. for England, Wales, Europe, Mexico, South America, South West Pacific, Asia, Africa, South Africa, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, U.S.A. and Canada.
  • Accelerated Indexing System (searches 1 - 7A) 1607-1906 Each index covers at least a ten year period and several states
  • Ontario Land Records
  • England and Wales index marriages 1904-1940, deaths for 1904-1940 and birth 1904-1940
  • Victoria Australia Index - births 1853-1895, deaths 1853-1895, and marriages1853-1895 early church records (all churches).
  • 1891 census for England, Wales, Channel Islands, Island of Man
  • FamilySearch Catalogue
  • Parish Listing and Vital Records

CD's[edit | edit source]

North American Vital Records Index[edit | edit source]

More than 4.6 million christenings, births, and marriages that occurred in the United States and Canada from about 1700 to 1888.

Australian Vital Records Index[edit | edit source]

Index to records from New South Wales (1788-1888, Tasmania (1803-1899), Victoria (1837-1888), and Western Australia (1841-1905). It does not include information from Queensland, South Australia, and the Northern Territory. The index contains about 4.5 million records of births, christenings, marriages, and deaths. It includes the name, year, age, parents or spouse, date and place of the event, and an index reference that can be used to obtain a certificate from the state civil registration office.

1851 British Census[edit | edit source]

Index to the census records of Devon, Norfolk, and Warwick counties only. About 1.5 million names were transcribed from original census returns. The index lists a person's name, relationship to head of household, sex, age, occupation, birthplace, and residence. Families are listed as they were enumerated in the actual census.

British Vital Records Index[edit | edit source]

Information on more than 4.7 million christenings, births, and marriages that occurred in England, Wales, Scotland, and Ireland from 1500 to 1888. This information came from British church and vital records collected as a part of the Church's extraction program. The amount of information varies greatly by time period and locality.

British 1881 Census and Index[edit | edit source]

Contains over 30 million individuals from England, Wales, and Scotland.

Mormon Immigration Index[edit | edit source]
Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


The Mormon Immigration Index is a database of approximately 93,000 immigrants who traveled from various international ports to the United States between the years 1840 and 1890. Information in this database includes the age, country of origin, ports of departure and arrival, the company leader assigned to each voyage, and general voyage information. This index also contains transcriptions of autobiographies, journals, diaries, and letters of approximately 1,000 passengers. These immigrant accounts are linked to over 500 known pioneer companies and provide a composite account of those who crossed the Atlantic and Pacific oceans to gather in Zion. Other people who took part of these voyages, but who were not members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints are also listed in this index.

Western Europe Vital Records Index[edit | edit source]

12 million names for Austria, Switzerland, Belgium, Netherlands, France, Baden, Bavaria, Hessen-Darmstadt, Lippe-Detmold, Oldenburg, Prussia, Turingia, Wurtemberg, Italy, and Spain.

Pedigree Resource File (20 CD's) and Indexes[edit | edit source]

The Pedigree Resource File contains family history records submitted by individuals through the FamilySearch® Internet Genealogy Service. Family information is organised in family groups and pedigrees, similar to how it is displayed in Ancestral File™. However, the Pedigree Resource File displays each submitter's information exactly as it was submitted, not combined with information from other submitters, as is done in Ancestral File. Notes and sources are also displayed. Over one million individuals are included on each CD.

Family Registry[edit | edit source]

The Family Registry is a microfiche file consisting of:

  • A registry of names that people are working on
  • Their addresses or means of contacting them
  • Registry of family organisations or people wanting to start a family organisation.
Accelerated Indexing System[edit | edit source]

The Accelerated Indexing Systems (AIS) is a commercial company that indexes genealogical records. The microfiche version of the AIS U.S. Census indexes was published in 1984. It is distributed by the Family History Library, with permission of AIS, for use in the Family History Centers. The Accelerated Indexing Systems indexes are alphabetical listings of some of the people living in the United States between 1607 and 1906. These listings were compiled from the United States census records and other records. There are a total of eight searches in all.

Daughters of the Utah Pioneers[edit | edit source]

The Lethbridge Family History Center has a large collection of books, biographies and histories regarding the Daughters of the Utah Pioneers. There are many descendants of the Utah Pioneers living in Southern Alberta. Some of the information regarding the Daughters of the Utah Pioneers has been written by these descendants and is contained in the following books and biographies.

  • Chronicles of Courage Volumes 1, 2, 3, 4
  • An Enduring Legacy - Volumes 1 - 12
  • Our Pioneer Heritage - Volumes 18, 19
  • Numerous biographies and Town Histories
  • Numerous Personal Histories
  • Booklets - Pioneer by Train to Alberta Plains Volumes 1, 2

Databases and Software[edit | edit source]

This centre has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. These websites include:

  • Godfrey Memorial Library
  • World Vital Records
  • The Genealogist.co.uk
  • Findmypast
  • 19th Century British Library Newspaper Digital Archives
  • Heritage Quest Online
  • Footnote.com
  • Alexander Street Press
  • Genline.com
  • Historical Maps Works Library Edition
  • Family History Link
  • Ancestry Institution
  • American Ancestors - New England Historic Genealogical Society


Hardware and Equipment

  • 15 computers
  • 2 microfilm reader
  • 1 microfiche reader
  • 2 printers
  • 2 photocopy machines
  • 1 film copier
  • Screen capture software (used to copy images from computers for printing or saving to flash drives)


Centre Services

Staff Research Specialities[edit | edit source]

(Include sections for any other services your centre provides. Add additional sections for those services. See the Mesa Arizona FamilySearch Library and Logan Utah FamilySearch Library FHC pages for examples.)

Resources in the Local Area[edit | edit source]

The Lethbridge Family History Center has a collection of Microsoft PowerPoint presentations that have been created by Temple and Family History Consultants who have specific expertise. These PowerPoints can be viewed only on computers at the center and contain the following topics:

Countries[edit | edit source]

  • Australia
  • Czechoslovakia
  • Denmark
  • England
  • Finland
  • German
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Scandinavian research
  • Scotland
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United States
  • Wales

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Websites and Research[edit | edit source]

  • Combining in new.familysearch.org
  • FamilySearch Catalog
  • Family Search Indexing
  • Family Search affiliates
  • new.familysearch.org features
  • new.familysearch.org - Prepares names for Temple ordinances
  • Registering on new.familysearch.org
  • Searching and adding in new.familysearch.org
  • Submitting names to the Temple
  • Using familysearch.org
  • Using church records for discovering your family
  • Using church websites to further your family history
  • www.familysearch.org
  • PAF - part 1
  • PAF - part 2
  • PAF - part 3
  • Cleaning up PAF

Other research topics[edit | edit source]

  • A Hen Gathereth Her Chicks
  • Advanced English Research
  • Ancestry.uk
  • Beginning the Research Process Expanded version
  • Branching Out
  • Brick Walls and Dead Ends
  • Calendars
  • Census Substitutes
  • Collaboration Turning the Daunting Research to Undaunting
  • Colonial America
  • Consulting Desk Responsibilities
  • Consultant Training
  • Copyright Laws and Family History
  • Death after taxes
  • Documenting Death
  • England - Livery Companies
  • England beyond the basics
  • English poor laws
  • European censuses
  • Evaluating evidence
  • Families - fleshing out their stories
  • First Aid
  • Germans from Russia
  • Getting Organized
  • Getting started and basic research
  • GPS, definitions and citations >
  • Handwriting
  • He is who he is
  • Historic Lethbridge
  • How to help patrons
  • Internet and genealogy
  • Internet for family history research
  • Irish research resources
  • Jewish genealogy
  • Latin
  • Leaves, branches, trees and research
  • Lost children
  • Making complete paper trails
  • Maps and Gazetteers
  • Message boards
  • Name that name!
  • National Burial Index
  • Occupations
  • Ontario basic research
  • Oops! common mistakes in family history
  • operation petticoat
  • Ordering films online
  • Patronymics
  • Pre 1930 adoptions
  • Putting it all together
  • Railroad records
  • Records on the common people
  • Setting up and accessing e-mail accounts
  • Social networking
  • The golden hour of family history
  • Training temple and family history consultants
  • Unusual sources
  • Using Ancestry.com
  • Using census records
  • Using family history Societies, Associations, Archives
  • Using PowerPoint
  • Vital records of Canada
  • Ward Temple and Family History Consultants training
  • What's available
  • Witnesses please stand up!
  • www.cyndislist.com

Links[edit | edit source]

Volunteer at the Centre[edit | edit source]

(Include information here about the volunteers you are looking for.)