Lenoir County, North Carolina Genealogy
(Redirected from Lenoir County, North Carolina Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Lenoir County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Lenoir County is located in the southeastern portion of North Carolina and was named for General William Lenoir, a prominent Revolutionary War hero, Speaker of the State Senate, and trustee of the University of North Carolina.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Lenoir County Courthouse
PO Box 3289
Kinston, NC 28502
Phone: 252-523-2390
Lenoir County Website
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1880.
Register of Deeds has marriage and land records.[3]
Lenoir County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1914 | 1791 | 1914 | 1880 | 1737 | 1880 | 1784 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1878, 1880 Most court records were destroyed in fires.
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records at North Carolina Digital Archives - index and images
- Lenoir County Bibles at NCGenWeb Project
- Lenoir County, NC Bibles A-M at USGenWeb Archives
- Lenoir County, NC Bibles N-Z at USGenWeb Archives
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: Ancestry ($)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1800 | 4,005 | — |
| 1810 | 5,572 | 39.1% |
| 1820 | 6,799 | 22.0% |
| 1830 | 7,723 | 13.6% |
| 1840 | 7,605 | −1.5% |
| 1850 | 7,828 | 2.9% |
| 1860 | 10,220 | 30.6% |
| 1870 | 10,434 | 2.1% |
| 1880 | 15,344 | 47.1% |
| 1890 | 14,879 | −3.0% |
| 1900 | 18,639 | 25.3% |
| 1910 | 22,769 | 22.2% |
| 1920 | 29,555 | 29.8% |
| 1930 | 35,716 | 20.8% |
| 1940 | 41,211 | 15.4% |
| 1950 | 45,953 | 11.5% |
| 1960 | 55,276 | 20.3% |
| 1970 | 55,204 | −0.1% |
| 1980 | 59,819 | 8.4% |
| 1990 | 57,274 | −4.3% |
| 2000 | 59,648 | 4.1% |
| 2010 | 59,495 | −0.3% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Lenoir County census records (NCGenWeb)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1700-1970 North Carolina, Church Records, 1700-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Lenoir County church records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Various Church records, 1830-1875 available on microfilm at the FHL.
Baptist
- Bear Creek. Established by 1785.[7]
- Beaver Dam. Established by 1808.[8]
- Wheat Swamp, near Kinston, N.C. Organized about 1760. Has belonged to the Disciples of Christ since 1843.[9]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
The Howard's Chapel Branch was the first congregation of Church members residing in and around Kinston, Lenoir County in the early 1900s.
- Record of members, 1939-1942 available on microfilm at the FHL.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- Lenoir County court records (USGenWeb Archives)
Directories[edit | edit source]
- Statewide NC Business Directories, Lenoir County (NCGenWeb)
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 1862-1870 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Assistant Commissioner Records, 1862-1870 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1863-1872 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1863-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Albritton-Carraway Funeral Home in Kinston
- Britt Funeral Home and Cremation Service in La Grange
- Edwards Funeral Home & Cremations in Kinston
- Fonville & Dove Mortuary in Kinston
- Garner Funeral Home in Kinston
- Howard - Carter Funeral Home in Kinston
- J.B. Rhodes Funeral Home & Cremations, Inc. in Kinston
- Mills Funeral Home in Kinston
- Pink Hill Funeral Home in Pink Hill
- R. Swinson Funeral Service in Kinston
- Rouse Funeral Home in La Grange
- Trinity Memorial Funeral Home Inc. in Kinston
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
- Deeds of Lenoir county (USGenWeb Archives)
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- The Story of Kinston and Lenoir County, North Carolina by Talmage Johnson and Charles R. Holloman available at the FHL.
- 200 years of progress : a report of the history and achievements of the people of Lenoir County, 1776-1976 by Mike Kohler available at the FHL.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- Maps of Lenoir County (North Carolina State Library)
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Lenoir County military records (USGenWeb Archives)
Revolutionary War
- 1778-1833 Delamar Transcripts of Revolutionary War Petitions at North Carolina Genealogical Society - index ($)
- 1779-1782 North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1885-1953 North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1885 and 1901 1885 and 1901 Confederate Pension Applications at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
Regiments. Men in Lenoir County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lenoir County:
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 13th Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company C
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company G
- - 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company A
- - 41st Regiment Volunteers - 3rd Cavalry, Company E
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (63rd Regiment Volunteers), Company B
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company D
- - 8th Battalion, North Carolina Cavalry (Partisan Rangers), 2nd Company
Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Lenoir County:
- December 14, 1862 Kinston[10]
- March 7-10, 1865 Wilmington, also known as Wilcox’s Bridge, Wise’s Fork, Second Kinston, Second Southwest Creek, or Kelly's Mill Pond[11]
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1917-1919 North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1939-1945 World Ward II Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1940-1948 North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1799-1893 Lenoir County marriages are included in Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searchable. Available at North Carolina Digital Collections.
- Kinston Free Press Index, transcriptions of articles from the paper
- North Carolina Newspapers at DigitalNC
- Newspaper articles of Lenoir County (USGenWeb Archives)
- Newspapers of Lenoir County. A listing of newspapers published in the county. (Library of Congress)
- North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project. Historical newspapers from the 18th & 19th century. Includes papers from the New Bern area, which includes Lenoir County,
- Deaths of Lenoir County. Listing of county area deaths reported in various newspapers; dates range from late 1700s to 1900s.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Lenoir County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
- Lenoir County, various records for deaths and obituaries. (NCGenWeb)
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1868-1898 North Carolina, Voter Registration Records, 1868-1898 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1660-1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry ($)
- 1663-1789 Secretary of State Wills at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1663-1978 Wills and Estate Papers (Lenoir County), 1663-1978(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1663-1979 North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1665-1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry ($)
- 1720-1960 Will Books A to F and 1 to 8 (1720-1960) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1735-1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1760-1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry ($)
- 1830-1956 Lenoir County, North Carolina Estate Records, 1830-1956(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1861-1891 Images of Wills and Estates. North Carolina Pioneers ($)
- 1869-1922 Will Books A to C (1869-1922) at FamilySearch.org- How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1869-1966 Record of Wills, 1869-1922; Indexes 1869-1966(*); Clerk of Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1894-1955 Appointment of Administrators, Executors, Guardians; Administrators Bonds, 1894-1955(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- Lovit Hines Collection(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- North Caroline Pioneers Images of Lenoir County Colonial Records ($)
- North Carolina Probate Records tips
- Wills and Estates (NCGenWeb Archives)
School Records[edit | edit source]
- Grainger High School Senior class listings from 1927-1970
- Lenoir County Students at NC colleges, Yearbook Index. (NCGenWeb)
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
- 1769 Tax Lists, Dobbs County, 1769 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, at Ancestry $
- 1769 Tax Lists, Dobbs County, 1769 (images) at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1769 Tax List, 1769 (images) online at FamilySearch
- 1779 Tax Lists, Dobbs County, 1779 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, at Ancestry $
- 1779 Tax Lists, New Bern District, 1779 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, at Ancestry $
- 1779 Tax Lists, New Bern District, 1779 (images) at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1780 Tax Lists, Dobbs County, 1780 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, at Ancestry $
- 1780 Tax Lists, Dobbs County, 1780 (images) at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1844 Tax Lists, Lenoir County, 1844 (images) at North Carolina Digital Collections
- Lenoir County Tax Lists (USGenWeb Archives)
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 North Carolina, Department of Archives and History, Index to Vital Records, 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Uncertified copies of vital records can be ordered for a small fee from the Register of Deeds.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1866-1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1913-1922 North Carolina, Center for Health Statistics, Vital Records Unit, County Birth Records, 1913-1922 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1741-2004 North Carolina, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1741-2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1759-1979 North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1762-1979 North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1763-1868 North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1873-1952 Lenoir County Marriage Index 1873-1952 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[12]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1994 North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1906-1930 North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1908-2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry $
- 1931-1994 North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Lenoir County, various records for deaths and obituaries. (NCGenWeb)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1880-1914, 1922-1969 Lenoir County Divorces 1880-1914, 1922-1969 at NC State Archives - free.
- 1926-1975 North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1958-2004 North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry $
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Lenoir County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Introduction to Family History Centers
- Kinston North Carolina Family History Center
- Woodington North Carolina Family History Center (Deep Run)
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Lenoir County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Heritage Place
Lenoir Community College
231 Highway 58 South
Kinston, NC 28502-0188
Telephone 252-527–6223
Email lhdeaver55@lenoircc.edu
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Lenoir County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.
Heritage Genealogical Society
Kinston, NC
Telephone 252-522-0540
Email:diamondgp@suddenlink.net
Website
Facebook
Lenoir County Historical Association
109 E. King St.
Kinston, NC 28504
Telephone 252-522-0421
E-mail: harmony.hall.kinston@gmail.com
Website
Old Dobbers
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Lenoir County (NCGenWeb)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/lenoir
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lenoir County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lenoir County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lenoir_County%2C_North_Carolina, accessed 20 February 2020.
- ↑ George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:490. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at archive.org.
- ↑ "Wheat Swamp Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.