Lenawee County, Michigan Genealogy
Guide to Lenawee County, Michigan ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for a Native American word meaning "male", from the Delaware "leno or lenno" or the Shawnee "lenawai". The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Lenawee County Courthouse
425 N Main Street
Adrian, MI 49221
Phone: 517-264-4606
Lenawee County Website
County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records from 1867, divorce and court records from 1870.[3]
Lenawee County, Michigan Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1867 | 1867 | 1867 | 1870 | 1827 | 1827 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1852 A fire on March 4, 1852 destroyed the courthouse and most of the files. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1830 | 1,491 | — |
| 1840 | 17,889 | 1099.8% |
| 1850 | 26,372 | 47.4% |
| 1860 | 38,112 | 44.5% |
| 1870 | 45,595 | 19.6% |
| 1880 | 48,343 | 6.0% |
| 1890 | 48,448 | 0.2% |
| 1900 | 48,406 | −0.1% |
| 1910 | 47,907 | −1.0% |
| 1920 | 47,767 | −0.3% |
| 1930 | 49,849 | 4.4% |
| 1940 | 53,110 | 6.5% |
| 1950 | 64,629 | 21.7% |
| 1960 | 77,789 | 20.4% |
| 1970 | 81,609 | 4.9% |
| 1980 | 89,948 | 10.2% |
| 1990 | 91,476 | 1.7% |
| 2000 | 98,890 | 8.1% |
| 2010 | 99,892 | 1.0% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1850-1880 - Michigan Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1894 Michigan Department of State. Census of the State of Michigan, 1894. Vol 3. Lansing, MI: R. Smith & co., state printers, 1896. (Civil War veterans only) Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.
- 1819-1991 - Michigan, Church Records, 1819-1991 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1863-1922 Michigan State Gazetteers and Business Directories at Hathi Trust, images – includes business directories for towns across the state
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1929-1966 Michigan, Crew Lists for various ports, 1929-1966 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the Lenawee County courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Lenawee County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.
- One Hundred Years-A Country Town:The Village of Tecumseh, Michigan 1824-1924, is an excellent source for early history of Tecumseh, Lenawee County, Michigan. The book can be found in FamilySearch Catalog or WorldCat by Clara Waldron. Published by Thomas A Riordan, 1968.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Michigan (1790-1897)
- 1863-1922 Michigan State Gazetteers and Business Directories at Hathi Trust, images – includes business directories for towns across the state
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Lenawee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that had many men from Lenawee County.
- - 12th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Company F
- - 17th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Company A
- - Engineer Regiment of the West, Missouri Volunteers (Union), Company E
- 1861-1865 Record of Service of the Michigan Volunteers in the Civil War 1861-1865 at Michiganology — images, multiple volumes organized alphabetically by surname
- 1876-1945 - Michigan, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1876-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1894 Michigan Department of State. Census of the State of Michigan, 1894. Vol 3. Lansing, MI: R. Smith & co., state printers, 1896. (Civil War veterans only) Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library
- Michigan, Civil War Centennial Observance Commission, Committee on Civil War Grave Registration, Burial Records at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
World War I
- 1917-1919 - Michigan, Census of World War I Veterans with Card Index, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1837-1993 - Michigan, Eastern and Western Districts, Naturalization Records, 1837-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Digital Michigan Newspapers at Central Michigan University
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1820-2006 Michigan Obituaries, 1820-2006 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1784-1980 Michigan Wills and Probate Records 1784-1980 at Ancestry $
- 1797-1973 Michigan Probate Records 1797-1973 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Michigan tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the Wiki page, Michigan Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- Birth Records and Death Records from 1867 can be obtained from the Michigan Department of Community Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Marriage Records from 1867 and Divorce Records from 1897 can be obtained from the County Clerk.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1867-1917 - Michigan, County Births, 1867-1917 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1867-1902 - Michigan Births, 1867-1902 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1585-1945 - Michigan, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
- 1820-1937 - Michigan, County Marriages Index, 1820-1937 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1820-1940 - Michigan, County Marriages, 1820-1940 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1868-1925 - Michigan Marriages, 1868-1925 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1880 - Michigan Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1867-1897 - Michigan Deaths, 1867-1897 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1867-1952 Michigan, Death Records, 1867-1952 at Ancestry.com ($) — index and images
- 1897-1952 - Michigan Death Records at Michiganology - index and images, organized by county and then last name.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1897-1952 Michigan, Divorce Records, 1897-1952 at Ancestry.com ($) — index and images
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Lenawee County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Michigan Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Adrian Michigan Family History Center
- Ann Arbor Michigan Family History Center
- Jonesville Michigan Family History Center
- Adrian District Library - An affiliate library
- Manchester District Library an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Lenawee County. For state-wide library facilities, see Michigan Archives and Libraries.
- Adrian District Library
143 E. Maumee St.
Adrian, MI 49221
517-265-2265
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Lenawee County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Michigan Societies.
- Blissfield Area Historical Society
105 N. Lane Street
Blissfield, MI 49228
Phone: (517) 403-2412
Facebook
- Irish Hills Historical Society
8433 US Highway 12
Onsted, MI 49265
Phone: 517-467-5300
Email: irishhillstowers@yahoo.com
Facebook
- Lenawee County Historical Society
110 E. Church St.
Adrian, MI 49221
Phone: 517-265-6071
Email: lenaweemuseum@yahoo.com
Website Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
|
- Lenawee County, MI-Roots Michigan Roots is a member of the PA-Roots family of websites.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- Lenawee County MI Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lenawee County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lenawee County, Michigan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed 22 October 2019.
