Lee County, Iowa Genealogy
Guide to Lee County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Lee County may have been named for William Elliot Lee, a land dealer, who was the original owner of land that included what is now Lee County. It is located in southeastern Iowa and both Fort Madison and Keokuk are county seats.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Lee County Courthouse North
931 Avenue H
Fort Madison, IA 52627
Phone: 319-372-3523
Fax: 319-372-7033
Lee County Website
Lee County Courthouse South
25 North 7th
Keokuk, IA 52632
Phone: 319-524-2433
The office of the Recorder is located in the Fort Madison courthouse and historical record books are housed in the Keokuk Courthouse.[4].
Lee County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1880 | 1873 | 1867 | 1898 | 1830 | 1838 | 1847 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1911 Courthouse was damaged by fire. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Lee County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographical Review of Lee County, Iowa. 1905. Chicago, IL: Hobart Pub. Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images.
- Portrait and Biographical Album of Lee County, Iowa. 1887. Chicago, IL: Chapman Brothers. Online at: FamilySearch Catalog — index & images, Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images, Ancestry — index & images ($).
- Lee County, Iowa Biographies Project at RootsWeb — links to biographies and local histories
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 18,861 | — |
| 1860 | 29,565 | 56.8% |
| 1870 | 37,210 | 25.9% |
| 1880 | 34,859 | −6.3% |
| 1890 | 37,715 | 8.2% |
| 1900 | 39,719 | 5.3% |
| 1910 | 36,702 | −7.6% |
| 1920 | 39,676 | 8.1% |
| 1930 | 41,268 | 4.0% |
| 1940 | 41,074 | −0.5% |
| 1950 | 43,102 | 4.9% |
| 1960 | 44,207 | 2.6% |
| 1970 | 42,996 | −2.7% |
| 1980 | 43,106 | 0.3% |
| 1990 | 38,687 | −10.3% |
| 2000 | 38,052 | −1.6% |
| 2010 | 35,862 | −5.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1885 Iowa State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1895 Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1905 Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images (individual cards, not family context)
- 1915 Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1925 Iowa State Census, 1925 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
Catholic
- Saint Peter's Parish, Keokuk, Iowa, 1832-1929 : a history at Ancestry ($)
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Ambrosia
- Zarahemla
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1837-1993 Lee County Court Records, 1837-1993; Indexes, 1848-1930(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
- 1840-1841 Court Records, 1840-1841(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1840-1856 County Commissioner's Reports, 1840-1856(*); County Commissioners at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1850-1930 Circuit Court Records, 1869-1886; Index, 1850-1930(*); Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1868 Lee County Gazetteer : Containing Historical and Descriptive Sketch of the County and Sketches of the Several Townships Together With City Directories of Keokuk and Fort Madison(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1878 Keokuk (Iowa) City Directories(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1897 Plat Book of Lee County, Iowa(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Bar Memorial Chapel - Barr-Holtkamp Funeral Home in Fort Madison
- DeJong-Greaves-Printy Funeral Home in
- Schmitz Funeral Homes in Donnellson
- Schmitz Funeral Homes in West Point
- Vigen Memorial Home in Keokuk
- Vigen Memorial Home in Kahoka
- Vigen Memorial Home in Montrose
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.
Online Land and Property Records
- 1830-1922, 1836-1961 Land records, 1836-1961; indexes, 1830-1922 at FamilySearch Catalog - images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Lee County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.
- 1832-1929 Saint Peter's Parish, Keokuk, Iowa, 1832-1929: a History 1929. C.F. Griffith. Davenport, IA: Iowa Catholic Historical Society. Online at: Ancestry — index & images ($)
- English Colony: the British Emigrant Mutual Aid Society's Colony in Lee County, Iowa. 1918. J. Berry Ware. Bonaparte, IA: J.B.Ware. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
- The History of Lee County, Iowa: Containing a History of the County, its Cities, Towns, a Biographical Directory of Citizens. 1879. Chicago, IL: Western Historical. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, HathiTrust — index & images, Google Books.
- Keokuk, a Progressive City. n.d. n.p.:n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Portrait and Biographical Album of Lee County, Iowa. 1887. Chicago, IL: Chapman Brothers. Online at: FamilySearch Catalog — index & images, Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images, Ancestry — index & images ($).
- Story of Lee County, Iowa. 1914. Nelson Commins Roberts and Dr. S.W. Moorhead. Chicago, IL: S.J. Clarke Pub. Co. Vol I Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, HathiTrust — index & images; Vol II Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Hathitrust.
- Yesterdays: Reminiscences of long Ago. 1974. Virginia Wilcox Ivins. Salt Lake City, UT: V.W. Ivins Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, HathiTrust — index & images.
- Iowa Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.
for more resources
- 1860-1918 U.S., Indexed County Land Ownership Maps, 1860-1918, Lee County at Ancestry ($) - index.
- 1874-2007 Lee County 1874-2007 at Historic Map Works - may include names of land-owners.
- 1884-1919 Fire Insurance Maps for Lee County, Iowa at Library of Congress - various years between 1884 and 1919.
- General Highway and Transportation Map, Lee County, Iowa at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- IAGenWeb - Lee County.
- Iowa Digital Library, Lee County at Iowa University Libraries.
- Lee County Hawkeye Farm Plat Book(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- Lee County, Iowa, Township Plat Maps(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- Lee County Maps at FamilySearch Catalog.
- Map of the Half Breed Sac & Fox Reservations(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- Plat Book of Lee County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- Standard Atlas of Lee County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- The Atlas of Lee County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collections, Lee County at State Library of Iowa.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places.
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Lee County for European settlers included:
|
- Mormon Trail 1846 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[9]
- Mississippi River at Wikipedia
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- 1835-1998 Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index only
- 1862-1910 Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1949 Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War service men in Lee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:
- - 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company A and C
- - 2nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- - 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B and C
- - 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- - 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D and E
- - 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- - 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E and I
- - 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- - 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B, C, D, I, and K
- - 19th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A and E
- - 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A and I
- - 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company C and E
- - 48th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1854-1954 Naturalization Records, 1854-1954; Tax Records, 1848; Index to naturalization Records, 1852-1905(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — 4 indexes, images
- 1856-1906 Naturalization and Marriage Record, 1856-1861; Index to Naturalization, 1856-1906(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index, images
- 1859-1990 United States, Iowa Naturalization Records, 1859-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1952 Fort Madison Evening Democrat. 1952. Fort Madison, IA, USA. Online at Ancestry ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1758-1997 Iowa, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1758-1997 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1838-1974 Lee County, Iowa, Probate Records, 1838-1950; Indexes, 1850-1974(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1934-1958 Iowa, Old Age Tax Assistance Records, 1934-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1939 Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1935 Iowa, County Births, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1921-1942 Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1518-1996 Iowa, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index ($)
- 1809-1992 Iowa, Marriages, 1809-1992 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1836-1926 Iowa, Marriages, 1836 - 1926 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1838-1934 Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1951 Iowa, U.S., Marriage Records, 1880-1951 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1990 Iowa Deaths and Burials, 1850-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and some images; Also at: MyHeritage($)
- 1880-1992 Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1900-1939 Iowa Death Index, 1900-1939 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1904-1951 Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1920-1967 Iowa, U.S., Death Records, 1920-1967 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1844-1930 Divorce Packets, 1844-1930(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Lee County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- McDonough County Genealogical Society - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Lee County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Keokuk Public Library
210 N. 5th Street
Keokuk, IA 52632
319-524-1483
E-Mail: reference@keokuk.lib.ia.us
Website
West Point Public Library
317 5th Street
West Point, IA 52656
319-837-6315
E-mail: dsanders@westpoint.lib.ia.us
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
North Lee County Historical Society Museum
814 10th Street
Fort Madison, IA 52627
319-372-7661
E-mail: nichs@iowatelecom.net
Facebook
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Lee County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.
Lee County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 303
Keokuk, IA 52632
E-mail: mystique747@iowatelecom.net
Website
Lee County, Iowa Historical Society
318 North 5th Street
PO Box 125
Keokuk, IA 52632-5611
E-mail: lcihs@yahoo.com
Website
Old Fort Genealogical Society
PO Box 1
Fort Madison, IA 52627
E-mail: mystique747@iowatelecom.net
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Lee County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
- Lee County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
- Lee County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
- Lee County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
- State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
- State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed (July 23, 2021).
- ↑ Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed (July 23, 2021).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lee, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_County,_Iowa."
- ↑ Lee County, Iowa Recorder Office, https://www.leecounty.org/pview.aspx?id=20852&catid=25, accessed 4 August 2021.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://digital.newberry.org/ahcb/documents/IA_Individual_County_Chronologies.htm#Individual_County_Chronologies
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lee County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_County,_Iowa, accessed 1 October 2019.
- ↑ National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
