Lebanon Genealogy
Guide to Lebanon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
| Lebanon Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Lebanon Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Lebanon is a country in the Middle East bordered by Syria and Israel. It was part of the Ottoman Empire until after World War I when it came under French mandate. Lebanon gained independence in 1943. The official language is Arabic.[1]
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Lebanon ResearchLinks to articles on getting started with Lebanon research.
|
Lebanon Research ToolsLinks to articles and websites that assist in Lebanon research. |
Lebanon Map[edit | edit source]
Most genealogy records are kept on the local level in Lebanon (District and Municipality). Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.
Districts[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Lebanon.
Lebanon is divided into eight governorates and further subdivided into twenty-five districts. The districts themselves are also divided into several municipalities, each enclosing a group of cities or villages:
| Number رقم | District قضاء | Governorate محافظة |
|---|---|---|
| Beirut بيروت | Beirut بيروت | Beirut بيروت |
| 1 | Akkar عكار | Akkar عكار |
| 2 | Miniyeh-Danniyeh منيه - ضنيه | North الشمال |
| 3 | Zgharta زغرتا | North الشمال |
| 4 | Koura الكورة | North الشمال |
| 5 | Batroun البترون | North الشمال |
| 6 | Bsharri بشري | North الشمال |
| 7 | Tripoli طرابلس | North الشمال |
| 8 | Hermel الهرمل | Baalbek-Hermel بعلبك - الهرمل |
| 9 | Baalbek بعلبك | Baalbek-Hermel بعلبك - الهرمل |
| 10 | Byblos جبيل | Mount Lebanon جبل لبنان |
| 11 | Keserwan كسروان | Mount Lebanon جبل لبنان |
| 12 | Matn المتن | Mount Lebanon جبل لبنان |
| 13 | Baabda بعبدا | Mount Lebanon جبل لبنان |
| 14 | Aley عاليه | Mount Lebanon جبل لبنان |
| 15 | Chouf الشوف | Mount Lebanon جبل لبنان |
| 16 | Zahlé زحلة | Beqaa البقاع |
| 17 | Western Beqaa البقاع الغربي | Beqaa البقاع |
| 18 | Rashaya راشيا | Beqaa البقاع |
| 19 | Hasbaya حاصبيا | Nabatieh النبطية |
| 20 | Marjeyoun مرجعيون | Nabatieh النبطية |
| 21 | Nabatieh النبطية | Nabatieh النبطية |
| 22 | Bint Jbeil بنت جبيل | Nabatieh النبطية |
| 23 | Tyre صور | South الجنوب |
| 24 | Sidon صيدا | South الجنوب |
| 25 | Jezzine جزين | South الجنوب |
To find towns and cities, use Lebanese Gazetteer
- If the above link does not work on your browser, try this link to an archived version of the site.
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lebanon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lebanon, accessed 27 April 2016.
