Laurens County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Laurens County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Laurens[1]
Organized: March 12, 1785[2]
Parent County(s): Non County Area[3]
Neighboring Counties
Abbeville  • Anderson  • Greenville  • Greenwood  • Newberry  • Spartanburg  • Union
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Laurens County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-laurens.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Henry Laurens, the fifth president of the Continental Congress. The County is located in the northwest location of the state.[4]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Laurens County Courthouse
100 Hillcrest Square
Laurens, SC 29360
Phone: 864-984-3538
Laurens County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken[5]

Laurens County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1789 1774 1766 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • Parent County: created within Ninety-Six District, or non-county area, on 12 Mar 1785.[7]
  • County Seat: Laurens[8]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Owings
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Laurens County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Federal

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 9,337
1800 12,809 37.2%
1810 14,982 17.0%
1820 17,682 18.0%
1830 20,863 18.0%
1840 21,584 3.5%
1850 23,407 8.4%
1860 23,858 1.9%
1870 22,536 −5.5%
1880 29,444 30.7%
1890 31,610 7.4%
1900 24,311 −23.1%
1910 26,650 9.6%
1920 42,560 59.7%
1930 42,094 −1.1%
1940 44,185 5.0%
1950 46,974 6.3%
1960 47,609 1.4%
1970 49,713 4.4%
1980 52,214 5.0%
1990 58,092 11.3%
2000 69,567 19.8%
2010 66,537 −4.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1800

  • Elliott, Irene Dillard. Second Federal Census, 1800 Laurens County, South Carolina. University of South Carolina, 1959. FHL Collection 975.731 X2e 1800; digital version at Ancestry ($).

1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL films 1024517 - 1024518. Published abstract:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Book 973 X2m 1820. Includes this county.

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840, film 2321; digital version at Google Books. See South Carolina, Laurens District on page 142.

1850

  • Myer, Lois C. and University of South Carolina. Laurens County, South Carolina 1880 Census; Indexes to 1850 & 1880 Censuses; Tombstone Inscriptions. Typescript. Microfilmed 1969. FHL Collection

1880

  • Myer, Lois C. and University of South Carolina. Laurens County, South Carolina 1880 Census; Indexes to 1850 & 1880 Censuses; Tombstone Inscriptions. Typescript. Microfilmed 1969. FHL Film 599050 Item 2

State

1829

  • "1829 Census of Laurens District," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 4, No. 2 (Spring 1976):103-113; Vol. 4, No. 3 (Summer 1976):139-151. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 4

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Laurens County has court records from 1789 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. Laurens County was a part of the Ninety-Six District from 1785 - 1800 and the records of the Ninety-Six District courts are housed in Abbeville County with the Clerk of Court. The South Carolina Archives and History Center has court records available on microfilm for Laurens County. The FHL court records for Laurens County.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

  • United States African Americans
  • African American Resources for South Carolina
  • South Carolina: Laurens County Enslaved and Free Persons, and Slaveholders is a database of enslaved and free persons and slaveholders extracted from Laurens' inventory and appraisal books 1825-1826 and 1837-1839.
  • Garrett-Nelson, LaBrenda. The Source of Our Pride the Garrett, Neely, and Sullivan Families; Two Hundred Years of American History, Beginning in Laurens, South Carolina. San Jose, Calif.: Family Tree Press, 1996, 2000. FHL 929.273 G192gn 2000
  • Garrett-Nelson, LaBrenda. The Source the Garrett, Neely, and Sullivan Families: Over Two Hundred Years of African American History, Beginning in Laurens County, South Carolina. Salt Lake City, Utah: Family Heritage Publishers, 2008. FHL 929.273 G192gL
  • Heinegg, Paul. "'Other Free' Heads of Household in the 1790 South Carolina Census, by County," Free African Americans.com. Includes free blacks in Laurens County.
  • Motes, Margaret Peckham. Blacks Found in the Deeds of Laurens & Newberry Counties, SC: 1785-1827 Listed in Deeds of Gift, Deeds of Sale, Mortgages, Born Free and Freed. Abstracted from Laurens County, SC Deed Books A-L and Newberry County, SC Deed Books A-G. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2002. FHL 975.73 R2mo; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and World Vital Records ($). Publisher's website.
  • Rice, Lola M. McCrary. Genealogy of the Descendants of Dinah Williams of Laurens, South Carolina, 1830-1992 a Quest - Our Roots. Washington, D.C.: L.M.M. Rice, 1992. FHL 929.273 W671r
  • Garrett-Nelson, LaBrenda. A Guide to Researching African American Ancestors in Laurens County, South Carolina and Selected Finding Aids. Thorofare, NJ: Xlibris, 2016

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Ark
  • Buck's Upper Mill
  • Cherry Grove
  • Charlton Hall - Hickory Tavern
  • Doctor Wolf
  • Edens
  • Edghill
  • Jack's
  • Jeremiah Vereen's
  • Little River
  • Long Bay
  • Longwood
  • Lucas Bay
  • Old River Place
  • Oregon
  • Peachtree
  • Peter Vaught's
  • Petersfield
  • Rosemont - Waterloo
  • Snow Hill
  • Thomas Randall's
  • Tilghman Point
  • Withers
  • Woodbourne
  • Zack Gray

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

Bibliography

  • Adair - Adair Family Genealogy: An Accounting of Our South Carolina-Indiana-Idaho Adair Ancestry, with a Brief Analysis of Our Scotch-Irish Forefathers. Huntingdon Beach, Calif.: W.W. Adair, 1974?. FHL Film 940199 Item 2.
  • Blakely - Myer, Lois C. Descendants of William (Honest Bill) Blakely of Laurens Co., S. C. Including the Henderson, Boyd, Cunningham, McCullough; Samuel McClurkin Line with Descendants of David Ross Dorroh and Susan Lewers with Allied Lines of Peden, Gilliland, etc... Typescript, microfilmed 1969. FHL 547599 Item 1
  • Campbell - Campbell, Thomas. Descendants of Capt. Angus Campbell of Laurens, South Carolina. Microfilmed 1983. FHL 6018397
  • Carter - Katheder, Thomas. "Origins of James Carter, Sr. (ca.1741-1812) of Loudoun County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 47, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2003):295-310. Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($); FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • Coker - Jones, Gerald Edward. "The Coker Family: Laurens County, South Carolina and Colonial Virginia," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 38, No. 1 (Winter 2010):14-28. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 38
  • Daniel - Gee, Christine South. John Daniel, Sr., 1724-1819, of Essex County, Virginia and Laurens County, South Carolina: His Virginia Ancestry and Some of His Descendants. Columbia, S.C.: Privately printed for Mrs. C.S. Gee by McDonald Letter Shop, 1986. FHL 929.273 D224g; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and World Vital Records ($).
  • Davis Davis, Robert S. "The Descendants of Jonathan Davis," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 17, No. 2 (Spring 1989):86-87. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 17
  • Drake - Drake, Charles E. "The Drake Family of Ninety Six District and Abbeville County, South Carolina," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 29, No. 4 (Fall 2001):183-195. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 29
  • Finley - Finley, Elizabeth M. Descendants of John R. Finley, 1843-1930 and His Wife Virginia Langston Finley of Laurens County, South Carolina. n.p.: E.M. Finley, 1975. FHL 929.273 F496fem
  • Griffin - "Fannie Monroe, Real Daughter of the Revolution in 1906," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 25, No. 3 (Summer 1997):147-150. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 25
  • Hanna - Montoye, Betty A. The Hanna Family, 1744-1974, Laurens District, South Carolina to Carroll County, Indiana. 1974. FHL 929.273 H195a
  • Hellums Hellums, Earle C. The Hellums Family, 1765 to 1984 Beginning with John Hellums Sr. in Laurens County, South Carolina. Houston, Texas: E.C. Hellums, 1984. FHL 929.273 H369hsc
  • Holdridge - Smith, Cynthia Holdridge. "William Holdridge (1763-1803) of Laurens County, South Carolina," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 37, No. 3 (Summer 2009):123-135. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 37
  • Holland - Pitts, Esther H. Some of the Branches of the Holland Family, Laurens County, South Carolina. Clifton, S.C.: E.H. Pitts, 1967. FHL 929.273 H719p
  • Hutchinson - Hutchinson, Frederick McAlpine. The Hutchinson Family of Laurens County, South Carolina, and Descendants. Houston, Tex.: Anson Jones Press, 1947. FHL 929.273 H971hf; FHL 6060557; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and World Vital Records ($).
  • Langston - Langston, Carroll. Descendants of Solomon Langston of Laurens County, South Carolina, through His Son, Bennett. Williamsville, Ill.: unknown, 1990. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Martin - Gee, Christine South. Some of the Descendants of Daniel Martin (1745-1829) of Laurens County, South Carolina, and the Allied Families of Hudgens, McNeese, Rodgers, and Saxon. Greenwood, S.C.: C.S. Gee, 1963. FHL 929.273 M363g
  • Motes Motes, Margaret Peckham. Motes Family Bible Records of Laurens County, South Carolina, 1750-1878. Stamford, Conn.: Mrs. J.H. Motes III, 1989. FHL (?)
  • Power - McNees, Lucien L. Descendants of Alexander Power of Laurens County, South Carolina. Lexington, Miss.: L.L. McNees, 1967. FHL 929.273 P871mL
  • Power - Varndell, Elinor Power. Four Families of Laurens County, South Carolina William C. and Elliott Nancy Mahaffey Power; Dr. John Stevens and Betty Hudgens Wolff; William Simpson and Isabella Henderson; Samuel Lewis Power and Nancy Mary Poole. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 2004. FHL 929.273 P871v
  • Puckett Gee, Christine South. The Roots and Some of the Branches of the Puckett Family Tree. Greenwood, S.C., 1958. FHL Film 1033813 Item 4; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library
  • Ramage - Ramage Family Reunion, Laurens Co., South Carolina 1990. MSS., microfilmed 1991. FHL 1697448 Item 2
  • Ramage - Ramage, Martis Donald and Ruth Ramage McElhaney. The Ramage Family of Laurens County, South Carolina. Belton, Miss.: M.D. Ramage, 1996. FHL 929.273 R14rr
  • Ramage - Ramage, Martis Donald. Collection of Photographs from the Ramage Family of Laurens County, South Carolina. Belden, Miss.: M.D. Ramage, 1999. FHL 929.273 R14rmd
  • Sullivan - Bland, Carolyn Copeland. "James Sullivan of Charlotte County and the Problem of Entrenched Disinformation," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 25, No. 4 (Nov. 1987):3-13. Digital version at Ancestry ($); FHL Book 975.5 B2vs.
  • Templeton - Templeton, L.B. Templeton Family History Records and Descendants of the Templetons, Who First Settled in What is Now Laurens County, South Carolina: Together with Brief Sketches of Other Templetons, Who Settled in Other Parts of South Carolina and Other States. Union, S.C.: L.B. Templeton, Jr., 1953. FHL 1463961 Item 2; 2003 reprint: FHL 929.273 T249t
  • Templeton - Templeton, Ronald H. "Possible North Carolina/South Carolina Templeton Relationships," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 35, No. 3 (Summer 2007):123-130. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 35 Presents discoveries of previously unknown kinships based on the Templeton DNA study.
  • Watson - Watson, John Drake. Ancestors and Descendants of James Dorsey Watson and Virginia Carolina Campbell of Laurens County, South Carolina. Newberry, S.C.: J.D. Watson, 1997. FHL 929.273 W334wj
  • Williams Rice, Lola M. McCrary. Genealogy of the Descendants of Dinah Williams of Laurens, South Carolina, 1830-1992 a Quest - Our Roots. Washington, D.C.: L.M.M. Rice, 1992. FHL 929.273 W671r
  • Wood - Wood, John Wilbert and Essie Meares Wood. The Wood Family of Laurens County, South Carolina. Charlotte, N.C.: Wood, 196?. FHL 929.273 W898x

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Laurens County with Parent Counties and Districts [10]
Date Government Office
1868-present Laurens County
1800-1868 Laurens District
1785-1800 Laurens County (old)*
1769-1785 Ninety-Six District
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants

* Small portion taken to Greenville County in 1786
The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Laurens County land records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Bolick, Julian Stevenson with a brief sketch of the development of Laurens County by Edna Riddle Foy. A Laurens County Sketchbook (Clinton, S.C., Jacobs Press, c1973), 306 pages. Includes many drawings of houses. Short histories with names included. Aside from the historical, artistic and architectural appeal of the drawings, the text will prove valuable for those interested in genealogy, history, and folklore. Book found at FHL 975.731 H2s and WorldCat 629166
  • Laurens County Historical Society (South Carolina). The Scrapbook, A Compilation of Historical Facts About Places and Events of Laurens County, South Carolina (Laurens, South Carolina: Laurens County Historical Society and Laurens County Arts Council, c1982), 704 pages. Includes biographies, battle stories and battle-related incidents, governmental passages, and articles from the Laurens County Advertiser and The Clinton Chronicle. Book found at FHL 975.731 H2s and WorldCat 9124420.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Greenville CountySpartanburg CountyUnion CountyNewberry CountyGreenwood CountyAbbeville CountyAnderson CountySC LAURENS.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Laurens County for European settlers included: [11] and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) ▲ WorldCat 1523234.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

General

  • "County pension roll, 1818, 1832," Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History, November 2002, Volume 16, Issue 4. Piedmont Historical Society: Spartansburg, SC.
  • "Laurens volunteers, 1836 Seminole war," Piedmont Historical Society Quarterly, October 1984, Volume 2, Issue 4. Piedmont Historical Society: Spartansburg, SC.
  • "United Laurens riflemen history, 1802-57," Piedmont Historical Society Quarterly, October 1984, Volume 2, Issue 4. Piedmont Historical Society: Spartansburg, SC.

Revolutionary War

  • "John Ridgeway, Jr., Rev. War pension application, 1833," Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History, August 2005, Volume 19, Issue 3. Piedmont Historical Society: Spartansburg, SC.
  • "Revolutionary war pension applications," Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History, December 1990, Volume 7, Issue 4. Piedmont Historical Society: Spartansburg, SC.
  • "Rev. War pension applications," Georgia Genealogical Magazine, Winter 1978, Issue 67. Rev. Silas Emmett Lucas, Jr.: Greenville, NC. FHL Book 975.8 B2gg.
  • South Carolina Court of Common Pleas (Laurens County). Revolutionary war pension applications, 1820 - 1830. Columbia, South Carolina: Filmed by the South Carolina Dept. of Archives and History, 1970. FHL Film 1029415.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Book 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Laurens County, p. 186. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments.Civil War service men from Laurens County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed of many men from Laurens County:

- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A
- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company A (also known the Union Light Infantry and German Fusiliers), Company B (also known as the Sumter Guards), and Company C (also known as the Charleston Sharpshooters and Palmetto Guards)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company A (also known as Calhoun's Battery; Sumter Light Artillery, Sumter Battery, Preston's Battery, Blake's Battery and other name variations.)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars), Company A (also called Company B and Beauregard Artillery)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company name unknown - commanded by Captain Burns
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina State Troops, Company G
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B (also known as Ferguson Rangers)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A (also known as the Boykin Mounted Rangers and Hampton Scouts), Company E (also known as Dean's Cavalry), and Company G (also known as Bonham's Light Dragoons and Lipscomb's Troop)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Rifles, Company A
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company C (also known as Captain Dean's Company)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Lauren's) (James'), Company A, Company B (also known as the Williams Company), Company C, Company D, and Company E (also known as the Hunter Guards)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion), Company F (also known as the Chestnut Light Artillery)
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Reserves (90 days 1862-63),, Company B
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A (also known as The State Guards or Staten Guards), Company B, Company C, Company E, Company F, Company G (also known as Lurens Briars), Company I, and Captain W.J.M. Jones Company.
- 4th Battalion, South Carolina Reserve, Company D and Company E
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troop Junior Reserves, Company F
- 5th Battalion, South Carolina Rifles, Company A and Company F
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Ferguson's), Company K
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina State Troops, Company D and Company I
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company A, Company C, and Company E
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company E
- 9th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves, Company A, Company B, Company C, Company , and Company E
- 13th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A and Company H
- 14th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company C, Company E, and Company F
- 15th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company B
- 16th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Greenville Regiment), Company F
- 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A, Company C, and Company E
- 18th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company E
- 19th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company C
- 20th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Reorganized Company E

Other Resources

  • South Carolina Genealogical Society.Laurens District Chapter. Laurens County Enrollment Book of Confederate Veterans 1902 (Greenville, South Carolina Southern Historical Press, c1998), 152 pages. As complete a list of Confederate veterans, as possible, but some of the entries are based on the memories of the veterans' families and friends and on hearsay. FHL 975.731 M2L and WorldCat 45346958.
  • Laurens County, Clerk of Court. Confederate Pension Roll and Record, 1898, 1933-1968. (Columbia, South Carolina Filmed by the South Carolina Dept. of Archives and History, 1969). Original records in the Laurens County courthouse. Microfilm copy at FHL 1029317

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Laurens County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

  • Georgia Genealogical Magazine
  • Piedmont Historical Society Quarterly
  • Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available. Probate records for Laurens County exist in the county probate court and the court of equity. An index to estate records of the probate court exists on microfilm from 1800-1931, with original records from 1800-1867. FHL Film 1029341

Search Aids South Carolina: Laurens County Enslaved and Free Persons, and Slaveholders is a database of enslaved and free persons and slaveholders extracted from Laurens' inventory and appraisal books 1825-1826 and 1837-1839.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

  • Marriage and Death Records from Laurens County, South Carolina Newspapers by Steven O'Dell Rayford[12] FHL Collection - index
  • 1826-1854 Some South Carolina Marriages and Obituaries and Miscellaneous Information, 1826-1854, Abstracted from Early Newspapers: the Greenville Republican, the Greenville mountaineer, the Laurensville Herald by Robert F. Simpson and Mrs. Charles R. Barham [13] FHL Collection WorldCat 11574003 - index
  • 1911-1950 Laurens County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950 [14] FHL Collection - records
  • 1911-1951 Laurens County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1911-1951 [15] FHL Collection - index and records
  • 1928-1951 Laurens County Marriage Index 1928-1951. Batch M736096 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Laurens County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Laurens County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Note: the societies have their own memberships, libraries, museums and collections.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Laurens County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Newberry
  3. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  4. "Laurens County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Laurens_County,_South_Carolina_Genealogy." accessed 27/06/2019
  5. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Laurens County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  7. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Laurens County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laurens_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 27 December 2019.
  10. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  11. WorldCat 50140092FHL Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  12. Rayford, Steven O'Dell, Marriage and Death Records from Laurens County, South Carolina Newspapers, Greenville, SC: Southern Historical Press, c2007.
  13. Simpson, Robert F. and Mrs. Charles R. Barham, Some South Carolina Marriages and Obituaries and Miscellaneous Information, 1826-1854, Abstracted from Early Newspapers: the Greenville Republican, the Greenville mountaineer, the Laurensville Herald, [S.l.: s.n.], c1978.
  14. South Carolina. Probate Court (Laurens County), Laurens County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2003.
  15. Laurens County (South Carolina). Probate Judge,Laurens County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1911-1951, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1954.
  16. Rayford, Steven O'Dell, Marriage and Death Records from Laurens County, South Carolina Newspapers, Greenville, SC: Southern Historical Press, c2007.
  17. Simpson, Robert F. and Mrs. Charles R. Barham, Some South Carolina Marriages and Obituaries and Miscellaneous Information, 1826-1854, Abstracted from Early Newspapers: the Greenville Republican, the Greenville mountaineer, the Laurensville Herald, [S.l.: s.n.], c1978.