Lancaster County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lancaster County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Lancaster
Organized: 1651[1]
Parent County(s): Northumberland, York
Neighboring Counties
Essex  • Middlesex  • Northumberland  • Richmond
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaLancasterCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Lancaster County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Lancaster County is located in the eastern area of the Commonwealth of Virginia, bounded on the east by the Chesapeake Bay and to the south and west by the Rappahannock River.[2] Lancaster County was named for its counterpart county in England.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Lancaster County Courthouse
8265 Mary Ball Road
PO Box 129
Lancaster, VA 22503
Phone: 804-462-0012
Lancaster County Website

County Health Department has birth records. Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1715, death, probate and land records from 1652, divorce records from 1800 and court records from 1910[4]

Lancaster County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1801 1652 1910 1652 1652 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Philip Alexander Bruce. Economic History of Virginia in the Seventeenth Century: An Inquiry into the Material Condition of the People, Based upon Original and Contemporaneous Records 2 volumes; New York and London: Macmillan, 1896. Online at:Internet Archive, Google Books
  • Booker, Motley and Norman R. Tingle. "Andrew Robertson - Pioneer Physician of Lancaster County, Virginia," [Andrew Robertson, b. 1716 in Inverness, Scotland] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 22 (1972).
  • Sadtler, Otis K. "Post Offices in Lancaster County," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 2 (1952).

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Lancaster County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 5,638
1800 5,375 −4.7%
1810 5,592 4.0%
1820 5,517 −1.3%
1830 4,801 −13.0%
1840 4,628 −3.6%
1850 4,708 1.7%
1860 5,151 9.4%
1870 5,355 4.0%
1880 6,160 15.0%
1890 7,191 16.7%
1900 8,949 24.4%
1910 9,752 9.0%
1920 9,757 0.1%
1930 8,896 −8.8%
1940 8,786 −1.2%
1950 8,640 −1.7%
1960 9,174 6.2%
1970 9,126 −0.5%
1980 10,129 11.0%
1990 10,896 7.6%
2000 11,567 6.2%
2010 11,391 −1.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1783 Enumeration

1785 Enumeration

1850

  • 1850 Census of Lancaster County, Virginia. The Mary Ball Memorial Museum and Library, Inc., 1968. Reviewed in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 13, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1969):88. Review online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist

  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    *Norris, Robert O. "History of Lebanon Baptist Church Lancaster County, Virginia," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 9 (1959).

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Christ Church Parish (Lancaster)
Gotoarrow.png See also Christ Church Parish (Middlesex)
Gotoarrow.png See also Piankatank Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Poropotank Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Mary's Whitechapel Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Trinity Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Upper Parish

St Marys Whitechapel Lancaster Virginia.JPG


  • Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Lancaster County is available online.[9]
  • Mason, George Carrington. "The Colonial Churches of Northumberland and Lancaster Counties, Virginia," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 54, No. 2 (Apr. 1946):137-151; Vol. 54, No. 3 (Jul. 1946):233-243. Available at JSTOR ($).&nbsp

Presbyterian
There was a Presbyterian congregation in Lancaster County from the 1760s through 1780. Ministers preached at Lancaster Court House and the Forest Meeting House.[10]

  • "An Order Prohibiting the Erection of a Presybterian Church in Lancaster County in 1759 titled 'Lancaster County, Virginia Court Records, Deed Book 15, p. 321,'" Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 13 (1963).
  • Gordon, James. "Journal of Col. James Gordon, of Lancaster County, Va.," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 11, No. 2 (Oct. 1902):98-112. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Peirce, Elizabeth C. "Col. James Gordon's Presbyterian Meeting House - Lancaster County," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 17 (1967).

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Corrotoman Monthly Meeting (1656-1686)[11]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

General

  • Peirce, Elizabeth Combs. "Courthouses of Lancaster County, 1656-1950," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 1 (1951).
  • Simmons. "Decades of Court History in Lancaster County," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 34 (1984).

Chancery Court

  • Indexed images of Lancaster County, Virginia Chancery Records 1722-1936 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

County Court

  • Fleet, Beverley. Lancaster County, 1652-1655. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub., Co., 1961. FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes a guide to surviving records.]
  • Fleet, Beverley. Lancaster County, Record Book No. 2, 1654-1666 [pages 1-394]. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Peirce, Elizabeth C. "Lancaster County Order Book Fifteen July 1770-1778: Ten Selected Entries," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 9 (1959).
  • "Rules of Lancaster Court in 1671," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 4 (Apr. 1897):264. Available at JSTOR ($).

Superior Court of Chancery
The Superior Court of Chancery of Fredericksburg (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over certain Fairfax County court cases. An index has been compiled:

  • Indexes of Court Records in the Clerk's Office, Fredericksburg, Virginia, 1782-1904. Original records, Fredericksburg City Courthouse, Fredericksburg, Va., microfilmed reproduction: FHL Collection [Indexes the following records: District Court law book v. 8, 1782-1792; District Court law books 1790-1793, v. A-F 1789-1811; Superior Court of Law law order books v. G-H 1812-1831; Superior Court of Chancery chancery order books 1814-1831; Hustings Court orders v. A-O 1782-1871; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery law order books v. A-E 1831-1875; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery chancery order books v. A-D 1831-1872; Circuit Court chancery order books v. A2, B-C 1875-1904; Fredericksburg District Court (1789-1808) had jurisdiction over the following counties: Spotsylvania (including Fredericksburg), Caroline, King George, Stafford, Orange, and Culpeper; Superior Court of Chancery (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over the following localities: city of Fredericksburg and the counties of Caroline, Culpeper, Fauquier, Fairfax, Lancaster, Northumberland, Madison, King George, Orange, Prince William, Richmond, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Essex, and Westmoreland.]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Lancaster City and Lancaster County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • "Colonial Convicts of the Northern Neck," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 52 (2002).
  • Jett, Carolyn. Runaway Slaves (Servants), Lancaster County, Virginia, 1736-1775. Lancaster, Virginia: Mary Ball Washington Museum, 2000.
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.
  • Ljungstedt, Milnor. "Items from Southern Records" [Showing Family and Trade Connections with Northern Colonies and the Home Countries], The American Genealogist, Vol. 15 (1938):95-104. Online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [Lancaster Co., VA record surnames: Burgess, Chauncey, Cosens, Davenport, Eustace, Hambleton, Hayward, Hayworth, Howard, Jauncey, Marshal, Smyth.]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

  • 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • Burkett, Brigitte. Lancaster County Virginia, Register of Free Negroes 1803-1860. Richmond, Virginia: B. Burkett, 1999.
  • Cowling, Dorothy Norris C. Historical Notes on the Life and Achievements of Blacks in Lancaster County and the State of Virginia (1619-1974). 1991. A Study Sponsored by the Lancaster County African American Historical Society.
  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. - free online book. Adams, Bee, Bell, Bluford, Bolling, Carter, Cassidy, Davis, Dennison (see introduction), Dias, Donathan, Dyer, Graves, Haws, Hunt, Jones, Kelly, Laws, Lewin, Lewis, McCullam, Mann, Maxfield, Mozingo, Nickens, Oliver, Palmer, Peters, Phillipson, Pinn, Poor (see introduction), Rich, Richardson, Scott, Shoecraft, Sorrell, Spriddle, Spriggs, Stewart, Weaver, Wiggins, and Wood families of pre-1820 Lancaster County, Virginia.
  • Hill, Margaret Lester. "A List of Male Free Negroes, 1850, Lancaster County," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 5, No. 1 (May/June 1996):41. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t
  • Jett, Carolyn. Runaway Slaves (Servants), Lancaster County, Virginia, 1736-1775. Lancaster, Virginia: Mary Ball Washington Museum, 2000.
  • Sutton, Karen Elizabeth. Black, Red and Revolutionary: Free African Americans of Lancaster and Northumberland Counties, Virginia, in the Era of the American Revolution. University of Maryland, 1997.
  • Van Riemsdijk, Tatiana. "His Slaves or Hers? Customary Claims, a Planter Marriage, and a Community Verdict in Lancaster County, 1793," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 113, No. 1 (2005):46-79. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Cowling, Dorothy Norris C. Historical Notes on the Life and Achievements of Blacks in Lancaster County and the State of Virginia (1619-1974). Richmond, VA: Lancaster County African American Historical Society, 1991.
  • Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized records related to African Americans of Lancaster County.

Native American

  • Philips, John. "Indian Affairs in Lancaster County," [1653] The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Jan. 1896):177-179. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • "The Treaty of Lancaster, 1744," [Indian] The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 13, No. 2 (Oct. 1905):141-142. Available at JSTOR ($).

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. - free online book. Adams, Bee, Bell, Bluford, Bolling, Carter, Cassidy, Davis, Dennison (see introduction), Dias, Donathan, Dyer, Graves, Haws, Hunt, Jones, Kelly, Laws, Lewin, Lewis, McCullam, Mann, Maxfield, Mozingo, Nickens, Oliver, Palmer, Peters, Phillipson, Pinn, Poor (see introduction), Rich, Richardson, Scott, Shoecraft, Sorrell, Spriddle, Spriggs, Stewart, Weaver, Wiggins, and Wood families of pre-1820 Lancaster County, Virginia.
  • Wills, Anita L. Pieces of the Quilt: The Mosaic of an African American Family. Charleston, S.C.: Booksurge, 2008. Available at Virginia Historical Society.
  • Yurechko, John Otto. Virginians Along and Near the Lower Rapphahannock River, 1607-1799. 2 vols. Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1997-1998. FHL Book 975.5 D2yj v. 1-v. 2. Contents: v. 1. Blake, Brooks (Brook), Churchill, Cook (Cock), Daniel, Dixon, Gore, Kidd, Lewis, Martin, Montague, Taylor and Wood -- v. 2. Brown, Clark, Elliott, Fox (Fowkes, Vaulx), Harrison, McTyre, Moore, Pate, Rawlins (Rollins), Rhodes, Sanders (Saunders) and Williams.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records
An early settlers map is available for Christ Church in Lancaster County. The cartographer plots the locations of pioneers tracts circa 1750. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.522/I1 E7g.

Grants and Patents

  • Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants 1694-1742. Vol. I. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1987. FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry. [Includes Lancaster County.]
  • 1742-1775 Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1742-1775. Vol. II. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1997. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Nugent, Nell Marion. Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of Virginia Land Patents and Grants 1623-1666. Vol. I (1934; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1991). FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Lancaster County. N.B. If Ancestry's search engine fails, try checking the printed index at the end of the book.]

Record Books

  • Fleet, Beverley. Lancaster County, Record Book No. 2, 1654-1666 [pages 1-394]. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • "Lancaster County History; An Antient Planter," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 51 (2001).
  • Norris, Robert O. "Some Unusual Happenings in the Colonial Life of Lancaster County," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 8 (1958).

Historic Residences

  • McKenney. "Morattico Plantation--Lancaster County," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 38 (1988).
  • Wharton, James. "The Lost Settlement of Queenstown, Plow Turns Up Early Trace of Early Port," [Lancaster County] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 10 (1960).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Northumberland CountyRichmond CountyMiddlesex CountyVA LANCASTER.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. FHL Collection [Identifies some Lancaster County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • "Colonial Militia, Lancaster County," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 12 (1962).
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; Ancestry ($). [Identifies some Lancaster County militia officers; see place name index.]


Revolutionary War

  • Gentry, Daphne. "Return of Recruits Raised in Lancaster County, 1781," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1979):173-174. Online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • O'Dell, Jeffrey M. "The War of Independence and the Northern Neck of Virginia," [Chapter VI, Lancaster County, Justices, Captains] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 21 (1971).
  • Sutton, Karen Elizabeth. Black, Red and Revolutionary: Free African Americans of Lancaster and Northumberland Counties, Virginia, in the Era of the American Revolution. University of Maryland, 1997.

Regiments. Service men in Lancaster County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Lancaster County supplied soldiers for the:

- 5th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Lancaster County, p. 87. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
  • Stratton, Nottingham, Revolutionary soldiers and sailors from Lancaster County, Virginia muster rolls and pay rolls of the Ninety-second Regiment of Virginia militia, Lancaster County, 1812
    (Onancock, Virginia copy right 1930) pages 74 FHL Book 975.522 M2

Regiments. Lancaster County men served in the 92nd Regiment.[12]

Civil War
Regiments Civil War service men in Lancaster County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 9th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company D (Lancaster Cavalry).[13]
- 47th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (Lacy Rifles).[14]

Regiments Civil War service men in Lancaster County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 9th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company D (Lancaster Cavalry).[15]
- 47th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (Lacy Rifles).[16]


World Wars

  • Lowery, Margaret Palmer. "John Chowning Gresham: The Northern Neck's First Medal of Honor Winner," [of Plainview, Lancaster County] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 20 (1970).

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

  • [Currie] "Letter from John Currie of 'Verville,' Lancaster County, To His Mother (Civil War, not dated)," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 9 (1959).
  • [Currie] Dawe, Louise Belote. "'Your Affectionate Son John,' Some letters from John Currie to his family at Verville, Lancaster County, Virginia 1862-1865," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 19 (1969).
  • [Derby] "A Letter Written by Miss Hattie Derby, Age 19, Neice of the Rev. Henry Derby, Rector of Christ Church Parish, Lancaster County, Virginia To a Cousin Living in Sussex County, Virginia, dated Lancaster C. H., Dec. 21st, 1881," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 9 (1959).
  • [Gordon] Gordon, James. "Journal of Col. James Gordon, of Lancaster County, Va.," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 11, No. 2 (Oct. 1902):98-112. Available at JSTOR ($).

Officials

  • Peirce, Alice Clark. "Members of the House of Burgesses of Lancaster County, Including Members of Conventions of 1773-1776," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 12 (1962).
  • Tyler, Lyon G. "Burgesses of Lancaster County," [1651-1740] The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 4 (Apr. 1897):260-261. Available at JSTOR ($).

Petitions

  • "Miscellaneous Legislative Petitions From The Counties of Westmoreland, Richmond, Northumberland and Lancaster," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 10 (1960).
  • Kreiser, Barnette. "Lancaster County Court Independency Oath," [1776] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 26 (1976).

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

London Courts

School Records[edit | edit source]

Online School Indexes and Records

  • Dobyns, Louise Towles. "Early Public Education in Lancaster County," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 24 (1974).

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1652-1720 Jones, Christine Adams and Donna Helmuth. Early Lancaster County Tithables 1652-1720.
  • 1654 Stanard, William G. "Tithables of Lancaster County, Va., 1654, with Notes," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Oct. 1897):158-169; Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jan. 1898):249-260; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Apr. 1898):429-434. Digitized by JSTOR - free.
  • 1659 Tithables, 1659, Tidewater Virginia Families, Vol. 1, No. 1 (May 1992). FHL Collection
  • 1668 Tithables, 1668, Tidewater Virginia Families, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Aug. 1993); Vol. 2, No. 3 (Nov. 1993). FHL Collection
  • 1696 Wayne, A.A. "Tithables, Lancaster County, Va., Court of December 1696, Court Order Book 1696 to 1702, Page 7," Tyler's Quarterly Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 24 (1942):122-125. FHL Collection; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available as FHL Collection
  • 1701 "Tithable Persons in the Parishes of Christ Church and St. Mary's White Chapel, 1701," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 16 (1966).
  • 1716 "Tithables in Lancaster Co., 1716," The William and Mary Quarterly, 1st Series, Vol. 21, No. 2 (Oct. 1912):106-112. FHL Collection; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available as FHL Collection; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1716 Tax List, 1716, St. Marys White Chapel Parish, Virginia Tidewater Genealogy, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Sep. 1977). FHL Collection
  • 1745-1775 Lancaster County Tithe Lists 1745-1775 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1745-1798 Lancaster County, Virginia Tithables, 1745-1798. Original records, Lancaster County Courthouse, Lancaster, Virginia; microfilm: FHL Collection
  • 1750 Whitechapel Parish, Lancaster County, Rental List, 1750" was published in Magazine of VA Genealogy, vol. 53 (2015), no. 3, pp. 225--229.
  • 1782 Records, 1782, Tidewater Virginia Families, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Aug. 1999). FHL Collection
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. FHL Collection [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Lancaster County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • 1786, 1800 Indexed images of the 1786 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Lancaster County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1789, 1797 Indexed images of the 1789 and 1797 Land Tax Lists of Lancaster County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 34, No. 4 (Oct. 1990). FHL Collection
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. FHL Collection [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Lancaster County is included in Vol. 3.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Lancaster County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Lancaster County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Mary Ball Washington Museum and LibraryWebsite

The Northern Neck of Virginia Historical SocietyWebsite

Middle Peninsula African-American Genealogical & Historical SocietyWebsite

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Lancaster County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Compiled genealogies are a good place to start research for this area, see Lancaster County, Virginia Genealogy. If you are researching families who lived in Lancaster County, Virginia between the 1650s and 1710s, the Sparacios' book indexes are a great time saver. Surname index of Antient Press publications

  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t [For Lancaster County, see p. 61]
  • Dorman, John Frederick. "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Lancaster County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1971):273-275. Online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Fleet, Beverley. Lancaster County, 1652-1655. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub., Co., 1961. FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes a guide to surviving records.]
  • Kreiser, Barnette. "The Restoration of Early Lancaster County Records," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 27 (1977).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://lancova.com/
  3. http://genealogyresources.org/Lancaster.html
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Newberry
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Lancaster_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lancaster_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 10 February 2020.
  9. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  10. Northern Neck Presbyterian Churches, Church History, ca. 1720-1780. FHL Film 1490375 Item 6.
  11. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  12. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 122. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  13. Robert K. Krick, 9th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 2.
  14. Homer D. Musselman, 47th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 73.
  15. Robert K. Krick, 9th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 2.
  16. Homer D. Musselman, 47th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 73.