Lancaster County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lancaster County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Lancaster
Organized: 12 Mar 1785[1]
Parent County(s): Camden
Neighboring Counties
Chester  • Chesterfield  • Fairfield  • Kershaw  • Mecklenburg (NC)  • Union (NC)  • York
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Lancaster County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-lancaster.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the Waxhaw Indian tribe that was prominent in the region. The County is located in the north central location of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Lancaster County Courthouse
104 N. Main St.
Lancaster, SC 29721
Phone: 803-285-1581
Lancaster County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken[3]

Lancaster County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1800 1762 1820 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Lancaster County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 6,302
1800 6,012 −4.6%
1810 6,318 5.1%
1820 8,716 38.0%
1830 10,361 18.9%
1840 9,907 −4.4%
1850 10,988 10.9%
1860 11,797 7.4%
1870 12,087 2.5%
1880 16,903 39.8%
1890 20,761 22.8%
1900 24,311 17.1%
1910 26,650 9.6%
1920 28,628 7.4%
1930 27,980 −2.3%
1940 33,542 19.9%
1950 37,071 10.5%
1960 39,352 6.2%
1970 43,328 10.1%
1980 53,361 23.2%
1990 54,516 2.2%
2000 61,351 12.5%
2010 76,652 24.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1790
1790 Census Index, Lancaster County, courtesy USGenWeb Archives.

1800
1800 Census Index, Lancaster County, courtesy USGenWeb Archives.

1810

1820

  • 1820 Lancaster County, South Carolina Census. FHL Collection 975.745 X2L 1820

1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection 1024517 - 1024518. Published abstract:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Collection 973 X2m 1820. Includes this county.

1830

1840

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at Google Books. See South Carolina, Lancaster District on page 144.

1850

  • Jeffcoat, Frances Reeves. Lancaster District, 1850 Census from the Seventh Census of the United States: Original Return of the Assistant Marshal, First Series, White and Colored Population, 30 June 1850, Ended 10 November 1850, K.G. Billings, Assistant Marshal. Columbia, S.C.: F.R. Jeffcoat, 1984. FHL Collection 975.745 X2j 1850
  • 1840 Census Index, Lancaster County, courtesy USGenWeb Archives.

1860

  • Small, Otha Burris. 1860 Census of Lancaster County, South Carolina. FHL Collection 975.745 X2s 1860

1870

  • Small, Otha Burris. 1870 Census of Lancaster County, South Carolina. Monroe, N.C.: O.B. Small, 1991. FHL Collection 975.745 X2s 1870

1880

  • Small, Otha Burris. 1880 Census, Lancaster County, South Carolina. FHL Collection 975.745 X2s 1880

1920

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Inventory of (SC) Church Archives 1937-1939 is available for free online, courtesy: South Caroliniana Library. Lancaster County's W.P.A. reports are included.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Lancaster County has court records from 1800 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. Lancaster County was a part of the Camden District from 1785 - 1800. The records of Camden District courts are housed in Kershaw County with the Clerk of Court.

The South Carolina Archives and History Center has court records available on microfilm for Lancaster County.

The Family History Library collection includes books and microfilm regarding court records for Lancaster County.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans
United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png African American Resources for South Carolina

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Adam Ivy
  • Clyburn - Kershaw - also called Uriah
  • Fort Jackson
  • McIllwayne
  • McPherson's
  • Rose Hill
  • Uriah - Kershaw - also called Clyburn

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • [Barnett] Wear, Kyle. "Proposed Ancestry and Extended Family of William Barnett," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 36, No. 3 (Summer 2008):123-138. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 36
  • [Baskin] Bell, Raymond Martin. AndrewBaskin, Esq., Kershawand Lancaster Counties, S.C. and Other Baskin Notes. Typescripts, 1965, Clayton Library, Houston, Texas. Microfilmed 1983. FHL 1318370 Items 12-13; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Blair] Saunders, James Edmonds and Elizabeth Saunders Blair Stubbs. Early Settlers of Alabama. New Orleans: L. Graham & Son, Printers, 1899. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Cantzon] Saunders, James Edmonds and Elizabeth Saunders Blair Stubbs. Early Settlers of Alabama. New Orleans: L. Graham & Son, Printers, 1899. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Caston] Floyd, Viola Caston. Caston and Related Families Descendants of Glass Caston of Lancaster County, South Carolina. Lancaster, S.C.: V.C. Floyd, 1972. FHL 929.273 C279f
  • [Craig] Craig, Eloise. Descendants of John Craig, Esquire and John Robinson, Senior, Scotch- Irish Immigrants to Lancaster County, South Carolina. Lancaster, S.C.: E. Craig, 1988. FHL 929.273 C844ce
  • [Crawford] Veach, Mary Frances Thomas. Sorting the Waxhaw Crawfords a Compendium of Research on the Crawfords & Related Families Starting Out in the Counties of York, Chester, & Lancaster, South Carolina Before the Revolution. Elverta, Calif.: M. Veach, 1993. FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL 929.273 C856v.
  • [Cureton] Cureton, Thomas Kirk. The Curetons of Lancaster Co., S.C. n.p.: n.p., 1949?. FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL 975.7 D2w; digital versions at Ancestry ($).
  • [Emmons] Corcoran, E. Emmons. The John Corcoran Family of Charleston, S.C.; the Samuel Barnes Emmons Family of Lancaster, S.C. Asheville, N.C.: E.E. Corcoran, 1983. FHL 929.273 C811ce 1986 Addendum: FHL 929.273 C811ce supp. 1
  • [Floyd] Floyd, Viola Caston. Floyd - Ervin Family of Lancaster County, South Carolina. Typescript, 1963. FHL 873154 Item 2
  • [Foster] Saunders, James Edmonds and Elizabeth Saunders Blair Stubbs. Early Settlers of Alabama. New Orleans: L. Graham & Son, Printers, 1899. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Harper] Floyd, Viola Caston. Descendants of William Harper Irish Immigrant to Lancaster County, South Carolina. Lancaster, S.C.: The Lancaster Center Press, 1965. FHL 929.273 H231f
  • [Isom] Bailey, Rex Franklin. Insights of Isoms: John Isom Family, Lancaster District, South Carolina. Fountain Inn, S.C.: R.F. Bailey, 1994. FHL 929.273 Is7b
  • [Kirk] Mosher, Merrill Hill. "Origin of the John, Mathew & Robert Kirk Families of Lancaster County, South Carolina," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Spring 1995):74-79. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 23
  • [McCardell] McCardell, William Markham. Descendants of John and Nancy Douglass McCardell Married 2 May 1816, Lancaster, South Carolina. Stamford, Conn.: W.M. McCardell, 2000. FHL 929.273 M126mw
  • [McDow] Corcoran, E. Emmons. The Family of John Cunningham McDow, Sr. of Lancaster, South Carolina. Asheville, N.C.: E.E. Corcoran, 1980. FHL 929.273 M148ce 1990 edition: FHL 929.273 M148ce 1990
  • [Miller] The Colonial Dames of America. Ancestral Records and Portraits, 2 vols. New York: The Grafton Press Publishers, 1910. Digitized by Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II - both free.
  • [Montgomery] Lytle, John Henry. Montgomerys of Lancaster District South Carolina, Mississippi, and Other States. Typescript. Microfilmed 2000. FHL 1425314 Item 6
  • [Patton] White, William Boyce. Genealogy of Two Early Patton Families of York, Chester, and Lancaster Counties, South Carolina. Roanoke, Va.: W.B. White, 1996. FHL 929.273 P278w
  • [Pendergrass] Pendergrast, Robert A. Family History, John Pendergrass of Bute County, North Carolina, and Lancaster County, South Carolina. Atlanta, Ga.: R.A. Pendergrast, 1980. FHL 929.273 P373pr
  • [Robertson] Robertson, Rhonda. William Robertson of England and His Descendants: (A Partial Genealogy). n.p.: Rhonda Robertson, 1978. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 R545rr.
  • [Robertson] Roberson, Rhonda S. "Genealogical Sketches of Revolutionary War Soldiers: William Robertson," The Southwest Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Apr. 1978):55-78. FHL Book 975.57 D25s v. 1 (1978).
  • [Robinson] Craig, Eloise. Descendants of John Craig, Esquire and John Robinson, Senior, Scotch- Irish Immigrants to Lancaster County, South Carolina. Lancaster, S.C.: E. Craig, 1988. FHL 929.273 C844ce
  • [Terrell] Terrill, Don C. The Terrell Family of Lancaster County, South Carolina. Falls Church, Va.: D.C. Terrill, 198-?. FHL 929.273 T277tdc
  • [White] The Colonial Dames of America. Ancestral Records and Portraits, 2 vols. New York: The Grafton Press Publishers, 1910. Digitized by Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II - both free.

Genealogies about several Lancaster County families are kept at the Winthrop College Archives and Special Collections in Rock Hill, S.C.[8]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Lancaster County with Parent Counties and Districts [9]
Date Government Office
1868-present Lancaster County (new)
1800-1868 Lancaster District
1785-1791 Lancaster County (old)
1769-1785 Camden District *
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
  • Some Camden District records are included with Kershaw County records

** Some early records may be found in North Carolina

Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification.All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative. Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

The county is named after Lancaster County, Pennsylvania.[10]

  • Gardner, Miles. Further Tales of Murder and Mayhem in Lancaster, Kershaw, and Chesterfield Counties(Spartanburg, South Carolina Reprint Company Publishers, c2006), 296 pages. Book at FHL 975.7 H2gm and Other Libraries.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

York CountyChester CountyFairfield CountyKershaw CountyChesterfield CountyUnion CountyMecklenburg CountySC LANCASTER.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Lancaster County for European settlers included:[11]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

General

  • "Gay Street Pres. church cem. veteran burials," Catawba-Wateree Messenger, September 2002, Volume 15, Issue 8. Catawba Wateree Genealogical Society: St. Camden, SC.
  • "Veterans buried, Old Presbyterian cemetery," Lancaster County Society of Historical Preservation Newsletter, November 1987. Lancaster County Society of Historical Preservation: Lancaster, SC.

Revolutionary War

  • "Massacre at Waxhaws, 1780," St. Lucie River Whig, Winter 2004, Volume 13, Issue 1. St. Lucie River Chapter St. Lucie, Florida.
  • "Revolutionary War Pensioners, 1841," Carolinas Genealogical Society Bulletin, November 1965, Volume 2, Issue 3. Carolinas Genealogical Society: Monroe, NC.FHL Collection Book 975 B2c.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Lancaster County, p. 186. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Lancaster County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Lancaster County or from many of its men.

- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company K
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars), Company A - (also called Company B and Beauregard Artillery)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Hagood's), 2nd Company D - ( also known as the Waxhaw Guards)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company F (also known as the Easley's Cavalry)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (2nd Palmetto Regiment), Company H (also known as Lancaster Invincibles)
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troops, Company B
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company A (may have been known as Charleston Light Dragoons) and Company H (also known as the Catawba Rangers)
- 5th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Brown's), Company E
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A and Company B
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles), Company A, Company E, and Company G
- 8th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves
- 9th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A
- 10th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company D
Before Reorganization the 10th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry had the following companies: Company A
- 12th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company E and Company I
- 17th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company I

Other Resources

  • Jeffcoat, Frances Reeves. South Carolina. Dept. of Archives and History.. Confederate Records, Lancaster District, South Carolina: Gleaned from South Carolina Department of Archives and History and the Lancaster Ledger (Columbia, S.C.: F.R. Jeffcoat, ©1986.), 232 pages. "The base of the whole collection is taken from the "Lancaster Ledger," the newspaper serving the Lancaster District during the war. The rolls were taken from the "Confederate Rolls" in the archives in Columbia, S.C, old newspapers and a manuscript.... . The manuscript is believed to be those Confederate War Records of Lancaster District compiled by Mrs. Lottie B. Foster in 1902"--Pref., 3rd prelim. Book found at FHL 975.745 M2j and Other Libraries.
  • South Carolina. County Court (Lancaster County). Confederate Veteran Enrollment Book. (Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1956). Arranged by surname in alphabetical order. Microfilm copy at FHL 24069

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Lancaster County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Current

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

  • Carolinas Genealogical Society Bulletin
  • Catawba-Wateree Messenger(Family History Library book 975.761 D25c .)

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available.
Probate records of Lancaster County exist in the county probate court, the court of ordinary, and the court of equity. Court of equity records include testimonial evidence relative to last wills and testaments. Estate records of the probate court for Lancaster County, 1865-1950, have been microfilmed.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

  • 1852-1894 Items of Interest from the Lancaster Ledger, Lancaster, South Carolina by Catherine Fussell Wells [12] FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  • 1898-1951 Lancaster County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, ca. 1898-1951 [13] FHL Collection - records
  • 1898-1955 Lancaster County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950; Proofs of Marriage, 1898-1955; Unused Marriage License Affidavits (with names), 1911-1921 [14] FHL Collection - index and records
  • 1913-1920 Kershaw, South Carolina and Surrounding Area: Abstracts from the Kershaw Era and the Camden Chronicle, 1913-1920 by Carol P. McNaughton [15] FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found insome counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Lancaster County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Lancaster County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Lancaster County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

  • Lancaster County Society for Historical Preservation
    1859 Craig Farm Road
    Lancaster, SC 29720
    (347) 604-2179
    E-mail: jecraig66@gmail.com
    Website Facebook
  • The Old Camden District Genealogical Society
    1314 Broad Street
    Camden SC 29020-3535
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. "Lancaster County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lancaster_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
  3. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lancaster County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  5. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Lancaster County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lancaster_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 27 December 2019.
  8. Ron Chepesiuk, "Genealogy: Resources of the Wintrhop Archives," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Summer 1980):164-168. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 8. Chepesiuk identifies the family collections available in 1980.
  9. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  10. "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
  11. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  12. Wells, Catherine Fussell, Items of Interest from the Lancaster Ledger, Lancaster, South Carolina, Valdosta, GA: Wells Gen-Search, c2004.
  13. South Carolina. Probate Court (Lancaster County), Lancaster County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, ca. 1898-1951, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2000.
  14. South Carolina. Probate Court (Lancaster County),Lancaster County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950; Proofs of Marriage, 1898-1955; Unused Marriage License Affidavits (With Names), 1911-1921Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1999.
  15. McNaughton, Carol P., Kershaw, South Carolina and Surrounding Area: Abstracts from the Kershaw Era and the Camden Chronicle, 1913-1920, Kershaw, SC: C.P. McNaughton, 2001.
  16. Wells, Catherine Fussell, Items of Interest from the Lancaster Ledger, Lancaster, South Carolina, Valdosta, GA: Wells Gen-Search, c2004.
  17. McNaughton, Carol P., Kershaw, South Carolina and Surrounding Area: Abstracts from the Kershaw Era and the Camden Chronicle, 1913-1920, Kershaw, SC: C.P. McNaughton, 2001.