Lambeth St Mary, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Lambeth St Mary, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lambeth St Mary, Surrey
Lambeth St Mary, Surrey.jpg
Lambeth St Mary, Surrey
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Lambeth
Registration District Lambeth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539; Separate registers exist for Lambeth Workhouse beginning 1803
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1837 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; 1837-1845 - Court of the Bishop of Canterbury; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey History Centre

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LAMBETH (St. Mary), a parish, and newly-enfranchised borough, in the E. division of the hundred of Brixton and of the county of Surrey. There are places of worship for Baptists, Wesleyans, Welsh Methodists, Independents, Unitarians, and others.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Lambeth St Mary Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Surrey
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Surrey
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Surrey ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1600s-1800s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Surrey ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry-England Select Birth, Christening, Marriage, Death and Burials ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.


Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organization of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.

Occupations[edit | edit source]

Pauper apprentices at Holywell. A list of apprentices sent from Surrey to Holywell Wales.  It gives name and age when apprenticed. All were bound for 21 years. Illustrated with two drawings of Cotton Works near Holywell, 1792 and 1796. Article in Journal, Hel Achau, #32, January 1991, pages 24-25. Family History Library Ref. 942.43 D25h

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Lambeth Poor Law Union, Surrey

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Lambeth St Mary Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (73+ entries)

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Lambeth at St Mary's

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 25 February 2014.