Klamath County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Klamath County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Klamath County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon, United States Genealogy
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||October 17, 1882|
|County Seat||Klamath Falls|
|Address||Klamath County Courthouse|
304 Main Street
Klamath Falls, Or 97601-6385
Klamath County Website
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Klamath. The County is located in the south central area of the state. 
Klamath County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1882
and military records from 1919.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, probate and court records. 
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Klamath County Court House as of August 2006.
Klamath County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).
- Record Loss:
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Named for a tribe of Native Americans living in the area at the time the first white explorers entered the region, the Klamaths.
Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
The following are locations in the county:
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator
|Native American communities|
Defunct Post Offices[edit | edit source]
- Algoma: The town was named for the Algoma Lumber Company. The name is said to be an Indian word formed from Algonquin and goma, meaning Algonquin waters. Post Office was established in 1912 and closed in 1943. The town was a company townsite to support employees of Algoma Lumber Company.
- Altamont: Altamont post office was in service from January 1893 to February 1902, with George W. Smith postmaster.
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|ORGenWeb Archives||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|Tombstone Project||FamilySearch Places|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Federal[edit | edit source]
1890[edit | edit source]
1900[edit | edit source]
1910[edit | edit source]
1920[edit | edit source]
1930[edit | edit source]
Church History and Records (Rural)[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1833 – 1963 Oregon Wills and Probate Records 1833-1963 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- 1842-1917 Oregon, Oregon State Archives, Births, 1842-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images (*); Also at: Ancestry
- 1860 - 1952 Oregon Births, 1860-1952 at FamilySearch — index
Delayed Birth Certificates
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 Oregon, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1842-1917 Oregon, U.S., State Births, 1842-1917 at Ancestry - index and images ($); Also at: FamilySearch
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- 1906-1968 Oregon, U.S., State Marriages, 1906-1968 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Klamath County Museum
1451 Main St.
Klamath Falls, OR 97601
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Cave Junction Oregon Family History Center
- Central Point Oregon Family History Center
- Chiloquin Oregon Family History Center
- Grants Pass Oregon Family History Center
- Medford Oregon Family History Center
- Oakridge Oregon Family History Center
- Roseburg Oregon Family History Center
- Yonna Valley Oregon Family History Center
Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- Klamath County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Klamath County GenWeb Project part of The ORGenWeb Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project (Backup site)
Klamath County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Klamath, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Klamath_County,_Oregon accessed 27 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Klamath County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Klamath County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Klamath County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Klamath_County,_Oregon, accessed 10 November 2018.