Kirkby Ireleth, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Kirkby Ireleth, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Kirkby Ireleth, Lancashire|
|County||Lancashire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Ulverston|
|Parish registers: 1701|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1723|
|Rural Deanery||Furness and Cartmel|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York|
|Location of Archive|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
KIRKBY-IRELETH (St Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 4½ miles northwest by west from Ulverston, and including separate chapels at Broughton in Furness, Lancashire Genealogy, Seathwaite, and Woodland with Heathwaite, the township of Dunnerdale, the districts of Low-Quarter and Middle-Quarter, and the extra-parochial places of Waitham-Hill, Mosshouses, Marshfield, and Herdhouse. Since 1974 the Furness area is part of Cumbria (historically Lancashire). the Parish is within the Diocese of Carlisle. The parish is separated from that of Millom, in the county of Cumberland, by the river Duddon. Other places in the parish include: Beanthwaite, Beckside, Chapel, Cross Beck, Gill Beck, Soutergate, Kirkby Moor, Low Quarter, Lower Quarter, Middle Quarter, Sandside, and Grisebeck.
The modern name for Kirkby is Kirkby-in Furness. Kirkby-in-Furness is a village in the Furness area of Cumbria, England. It is about 5 km south of Broughton in Furness and 8 km northwest of Ulverston. It is one of the largest villages on the peninsula's north-western coast, looking out over the Duddon estuary and the mountains of the Lake District. Its borders are the biggest for a village in the UK.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.
Chapelries of Kirkby Ireleth[edit | edit source]
Online Parish Records Table
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|Kirkby Ireleth Parish Records|
|All Chapelries Found in Kirkby Ireleth are included in these links.|
|Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)|
|Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)||
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
|National Burial Index-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Lancashire ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Lancashire ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
- OnLine Parish Clerks - Lancashire - OnLine Parish Clerks project for Lancashire
Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Kirkby Ireleth. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
- 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Dunnerdale. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
- 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Seathwaite. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 692-697. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 July 2010.