Kingswinford St Mary, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Kingswinford St Mary, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Kingswinford St Mary, Staffordshire | |
|---|---|
 | |
| Type | Ecclesiastical Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | North Seisdon |
| County | Staffordshire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Stourbridge |
| Registration District | Stourbridge |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1832 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1832 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Himley |
| Diocese | Lichfield |
| Province | Canterbury |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Staffordshire Record Office | |
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SWINFORD, KING'S (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Stourbridge, N. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (W. by S.) from Dudley. This parish, which is situated on the roads from Dudley to Stourbridge, and from Wolverhampton to Worcester.
The church, erected in 1831, on a site at Wordsley and, by a special act of Parliament, has been made the mother church. The former parish church, dedicated to St. Mary, and now a chapel, is an ancient edifice. There are churches at BrierlyHill, Brockmoor, Pensnett, and Quarry-Bank. The Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans, have places of worship. [1].
When Wordsley Holy Trinity, Staffordshire Genealogy was built and formed as a parish in 1831 St Mary became a chapel of ease within that parish and the St Mary records were transferred to Holy Trinity. Subsequently the old St Mary building was rebuilt . Other places in the parish include: Stourbridge, Wollescott, Wollescote, and Upper Swinford. After the rebuilding of the church it became, in 1846, a separate parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
| Kingswinford St Mary Online Parish Records | ||||||
| FamilySearch Collections-Staffordshire | ||||||
| Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog | ||||||
| Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog | ||||||
| FreeREG | ||||||
| Find My Past Parish Registers -Staffordshire ($) | ||||||
| Find My Past Banns-Staffordshire ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-Staffordshire, England Church of England BMD ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-Staffordshire, England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($) | ||||||
| Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage | ||||||
| Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free) | ||||||
| National Burial Index-FMP (Free) | ||||||
Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Staffordshire ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Staffordshire ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at Findmypast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Stourbridge Poor Law Union, Worcestershire
Probate records
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Kingswinford/index.html
Reference[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 289-292. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
