King and Queen County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to King and Queen County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: King and Queen
Organized: 12 May 1691[1]
Parent County(s): New Kent
Neighboring Counties
Caroline  • Essex  • Gloucester  • James City  • King William  • Middlesex  • New Kent
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaKingandQueenCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of King and Queen County, Virginia.PNG
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

King and Queen County is located in the eastern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia about 50 miles from the Chesapeake Bay and was named after King William III and Queen Mary of England.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

King and Queen County Courthouse
242 Allens Circle
PO Box 86
King and Queen, VA 23085-0067
Phone 804-785-5982
King and Queen County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1865-1898, marriage and divorce records from 1864 probate and court, records from 185 and land records from 1782[3]

King and Queen County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1865 1864 1864 1865 1782 1865 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

King William III of England (1650-1702) and Queen Mary II (1662-1694)


The county was named after King William III of England (1650-1702) and his wife Queen Mary II (1662-1694) who ruled the American colonies at the time of King and Queen County's organization.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of King and Queen County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 9,377
1800 9,879 5.4%
1810 10,988 11.2%
1820 11,798 7.4%
1830 11,644 −1.3%
1840 10,862 −6.7%
1850 10,319 −5.0%
1860 10,328 0.1%
1870 9,709 −6.0%
1880 10,502 8.2%
1890 9,669 −7.9%
1900 9,265 −4.2%
1910 9,576 3.4%
1920 9,161 −4.3%
1930 7,618 −16.8%
1940 6,954 −8.7%
1950 6,299 −9.4%
1960 5,889 −6.5%
1970 5,491 −6.8%
1980 5,968 8.7%
1990 6,289 5.4%
2000 6,630 5.4%
2010 6,945 4.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  • Bruington (1790). A profile was published in Virginia Baptist Register, Issue 42 (2003). A bicentennial history was published in King and Queen County Historical Society Bulletin, Issue 70 (Jan. 1991);cemetery transcripts were published in that publication in Issue 53 (Jul. 1982); another history is available in Issue 21 (Jul. 1966): FHL Book 975.5352 H25b.
  • Exol. Information was published about this church (1775) in Tidewater Virginia Families, Vol. 4, No. 4 (Feb. 1996). A history was published in King and Queen County Historical Society Bulletin, Issue 58 (Jan. 1985). Tombstones were published in the same Bulletin, Issue 34 (Jan. 1973): FHL Book 975.5352 H25b.
  • Mattaponi (1824). Originally an Episcopalian place of worship. A history was published in the 1920s.[8] Additional information, including tombstone transcriptions, was published in Tidewater Virginia Families, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Aug. 1992): FHL Book 975.51 D25t.
  • Upper King and Queen. Membership lists from 1774 to 1788 have been published: FHL Book 975.5352 K2k. They are also online at Ancestry ($) in Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 30, No. 1 (Feb. 1992):60-64. Histories were published in King and Queen County Historical Society Bulletin, Issue 50 (Jan. 1981) and in Issue 59 (Jul. 1985): FHL Book 975.5352 H25b.
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

Church of England

  • Chamberlayne, C.G. The Vestry Book of Stratton Major Parish, King and Queen County, Virginia, 1729-1783. Richmond, Va.: n.p., 1931. Available at FHL; 1980 reprint at FHL.
  • Fleet, Beverley. King and Queen County. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes St. Stephens Parish Petition 1683.]
  • Mason, George Carrington. "The Colonial Churches of King and Queen and King William Counties, Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 23, No. 4 (Oct. 1943):440-464. Available at JSTOR.
  • Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library. [Includes King and Queen County.]
  • Vestry Book of Stratton Parish Register 1729-1783 Virginia Pioneers ($)

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

General

  • Fleet, Beverley. King and Queen County. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Crittenden vs. Crittenden.]

Chancery Court

  • Indexed images of King and Queen County, Virginia Chancery Records 1818-1913 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Local Court

  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1987. FHL Collection [Includes King and Queen County.]

Copies of some destroyed wills have been collected and preserved:

  • "Listing of Copies of Wills Held by King and Queen County Historical Society," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 9, No. 4 (February/March 2001):226-232. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t

London Courts

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of King and Queen County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of King and Queen County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Fleet, Beverley. King and Queen County Records Concerning 18th Century Persons. 7 vols. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. FHL Collection. Digital versions at Ancestry ($): Vol. 1; Vol. 2; Vol. 3; Vol. 4; Vol. 5; Vol. 6; Vol. 7
  • Bagby, Alfred. King and Queen County, Virginia. New York: Neale Pub. Co., 1908. Available at FHL; 1990 reprint at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($); FamilySearch Digital Library; Google Books - free; and World Vital Records ($). Genealogies of the Bagby, Bird, Bland, Boulware, Brooke, Byrd, Collins, Corbin, Corr, Crittenden, Courtney, Davis, Dickey, Fauntleroy, Fleet, Gaines, Garnett, Govan, Gresham, Harwood, Henley, Hill, Hutchinson, Lyne, Pollard, Porter, Purks, Richie, Roane, Roy, Ryland, Semple, Todd, Walker, and Ware families.
  • Harris, Malcolm Hart. Old New Kent County: Some Account of the Planters, Plantations, and Places in... 2 vols. West Point, Va.: M.H. Harris, 1977. FHL Books 975.5 H2har v. 1 and v. 2
  • Ryland, Elizabeth Hawes (1879-1954). Genealogical Notes. 1930-1954. Available at Virginia Historical Society. "Include genealogical notes, Bible records, and charts concerning the following Virginia families, primarily of King William and King and Queen counties: Arnold, Banks, Baylor, Beverley, Braxton, Brooke, Burwell, Camm, Carter, Chamberlayne, Claiborne, Dandridge, Gaines, Garlick, Gregory, Gwathmey, Jennings (oversize), Johnson, Littlepage, Moore, Nelson, Page, Pendleton, Robinson, Quarles, Rootes, Temple, Todd, Tunstall, Walker, West, Whiting, Winston, and Wormeley."[9]
  • Spain, Jack. "Bewdley and Its Families," King and Queen Historical Society. Its Bulletin, No. 75 (Jul. 1993):1-4. Fleet, Gerlach, Latane, Mason, Pointer, Roy, Smith, and Tunstall families.[9]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Deeds

  • Fleet, Beverley. King and Queen County. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes transactions with residents of Amelia, Chesterfield, and Essex Counties.]
  • 1704 - Quit Rents Virginia Pioneers ($)

Grants and Patents

  • Fleet, Beverley. King and Queen County. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes patents 1711-1718 and early land grants.]
  • Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants 1694-1742. Vol. I. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1987. Available at FHL. [Includes King and Queen County.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Caroline CountyEssex CountyMiddlesex CountyMathews CountyGloucester CountyJames City CountyNew Kent CountyKing William CountyVA KING AND QUEEN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some King and Queen County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For King and Queen County, see p. 111.]
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.


Revolutionary War

  • Fleet, Beverley. King and Queen County. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Revolutionary War services.]
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, King and Queen County on page 131.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War. By J.T. McAllister. 1913. Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Internet Archive

Regiments. Service men in King and Queen County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. King and Queen County supplied soldiers for the:

- 7th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812
King and Queen County men served in the 9th Regiment.[10]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, King and Queen County, p. 86. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]


Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from King and Queen County County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company whose regiment in their county or an adjacent county. Listed below are regiments that were formed using, in part, men from King and Queen County.

- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12 months, 1861-62) (Mullins') (Confederate). Company E (King and Queen Cavalry).[11]
- 24th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company C (Chesapeake Rangers), Company E, and Company F.[12]
- 26th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (The King and Queen Minute Men), Company G (The Clifton Guards), Company H (The King and Queen Guards), and Company I (The Jackson Grays).[13]
- 34th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate) - There is confusion surrounding the designation of this regiment. Read pages149-156 from FHL book 975.5352 H2bto learn the details as to how "Bagby's Company" of the King and Queen Artillery was redesignated as an infantry unit.[14]

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in King and Queen County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

  • Fleet, Beverley. King and Queen County. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Harris collection and Webb papers.]
  • Fleet, Beverley. King and Queen County. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Beverley Prayer Book, Corbin-Randolph Memo, 1799, Row Memo, The Horrid Behavior of John Pigg, Esq., George Lyne-1780, Hill Diary Excerpts from the Revolutionary Diary of Baylor Hill, Baylor Hill Diary (Notes by Miss Ryland), Richmond Commercial Compiler, Crittenden vs. Crittenden, Col. Holt Richeson, and Bingham-West.]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1704 "Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR ($). [King and Queen County appears in 32:144-158.]
  • 1782-1818 King and Queen County Land Tax Lists 1782-1818 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782-1803 King and Queen County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1803 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782-1820 Ward, Roger G. "Burned County Gleanings: King and Queen County Land Tax Lists, 1782-1820," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 37, No. 1 (Feb. 1999):43-48. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Some abstracts of taxpayers, including "genealogical tidbits," such as relationships, land transfers, etc.]
  • 1782 Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Online at FamilySearch - free; FHL. [1782 personal property tax list of King and Queen County.]
  • 1782-1823 Heinegg, Paul. "King and Queen County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1823," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1783 Personal Tax List, 1783, Researcher [Chillicothe, Missouri], Vol. 132 (1987). Available at FHL.
  • 1783 Personal Tax List, 1783, Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine, Vol. 91, No. 9 (Sep. 1957).
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. King and Queen County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • 1787 "Land Tax List of King and Queen County, 1787," The Researcher: A Magazine of History and Genealogical Exchange, Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jul. 1928):144-146. Available at FHL.
  • 1790, 1799 The 1790 and 1799 Personal Property Tax Lists of King and Queen County, Virginia are indexed online at Binns Genealogy.
  • 1790, 1798 The 1790 and 1798 Land Tax Lists of King and Queen County, Virginia are indexed online at Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 34, No. 1 (Jan. 1990). Available at FHL.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. King and Queen County is included in Vol. 3.]
  • Tax Books, King and Queen County Historical Society Bulletin, Issue 67 (Jul. 1989).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in King and Queen County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in King and Queen County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Middle Peninsula African-American Genealogical & Historical SocietyWebsite

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in King and Queen County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t [For King and Queen County, see pp. 59-60]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://www.kingandqueenco.net/indexnoflash.html
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "King and Queen_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/King_and_Queen_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 9 February 2020.
  8. W.T. Hundley, History of Mattaponi Baptist Church, King and Queen County, Virginia (Richmond, Va.: Appeals Press, Inc.). FHL Film 1425567 Item 3.
  9. 9.0 9.1 Online Catalog, Virginia Historical Society, accessed 5 December 2020, https://www.virginiahistory.org/.
  10. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 118. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  11. Robert J. Driver, 5th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 127.
  12. Darryl Holland, 24th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 128.
  13. Alexander Lloyd Wiatt, 26th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 13.
  14. Johnny L. Scott, 34th Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1999). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 135.
  15. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).