Kentucky Census
| Kentucky Wiki Topics | ||||||
| ||||||
| Beginning Research | ||||||
| Record Types | ||||||
| ||||||
| Kentucky Background | ||||||
| Cultural Groups | ||||||
| Local Research Resources | ||||||
| ||||||
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
|
This page adopted by: KYGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Online Federal Censuses[edit | edit source]
Population Schedules[edit | edit source]
Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. Click here for more information about federal census records.
On 1 June 1792, Kentucky became the 15th state to join the Union. It was included in the 1790 Census.
United States Federal Censuses with Online Links[edit | edit source]
Non-Population Schedules for Kentucky[edit | edit source]
Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules.
| Year | Type of Census | Links |
|---|---|---|
| 1890 | Veterans | Ancestry |
| 1880 | Mortality | FamilySearch |
| 1870 | Mortality | FamilySearch |
| 1860 | Slave Owner | Ancestry |
| 1860 | Mortality | FamilySearch |
| 1850-1880 | Defective, Dependent, & Delinquents |
FamilySearch |
| 1850-1880 | Agricultural | FamilySearch |
| 1850 | Slave Owner | Ancestry |
| 1850 | Mortality | FamilySearch |
| 1840 | Pensioners | Ancestry |
Existing and Lost Censuses[edit | edit source]
Online State and Territorial Censuses[edit | edit source]
State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit United States Census Bureau.
Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the US Territorial Census page.
Kentucky did not take any state censuses.
Why Use the Census?[edit | edit source]
State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include:
- Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
- Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
- Sex
- Age
- Color
- Nativity
- Place of birth of this person
- Place of birth of Father of this person
- Place of birth of Mother of this person
- Period of Residence
- How long a resident of this State (years and months)
- How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
- Regular occupation
- Military service
More about censuses[edit | edit source]
Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:
| ||||||||||||||||||||
