Kent County, Delaware Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Kent County, Delaware ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This article is about a county in state of Delaware. For other uses, see Kent (disambiguation)
County Facts
County seat: Dover
Organized: August 8, 1673
Parent County(s): St. Jones
Neighboring Counties
Caroline (MD)  • Kent (MD)  • New Castle  • Queen Anne's (MD)  • Sussex
See County Maps
Courthouse
Delaware, Kent County Courthouse.png
Location Map
De-kent.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
DElogo.gif This page adopted by:
DEGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Kent, an English county. The county seat is Dover and the county was created August 8, 1683. The County is located in the central area of the state. Kent County is one of few counties bordering another county with same name across state line, Kent (MD) County, Maryland.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Kent County Courthouse
414 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: 302-735-1900
Kent County Courthouse

Clerk of Peace has marriage records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records.
Recorder of Deeds has land records from 1680.
Register of Wills has probate records. [2]

Kent County, Delaware Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1676 1676 1676 1680 1680 1680 1782
*Statewide registration was 1861-1863, then reinacted in 1881. General compliance by 1921.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Kent, Delaware online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Delaware Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: Delaware Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 18,920
1800 19,554 3.4%
1810 20,495 4.8%
1820 20,793 1.5%
1830 19,913 −4.2%
1840 19,872 −0.2%
1850 22,816 14.8%
1860 27,804 21.9%
1870 29,804 7.2%
1880 32,874 10.3%
1890 32,664 −0.6%
1900 32,762 0.3%
1910 32,721 −0.1%
1920 31,023 −5.2%
1930 31,841 2.6%
1940 34,441 8.2%
1950 37,870 10.0%
1960 65,651 73.4%
1970 81,892 24.7%
1980 98,219 19.9%
1990 110,993 13.0%
2000 126,697 14.1%
2010 162,310 28.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Caroline County, MarylandQueen Anne's County, MarylandKent County, MarylandNew CastleSussexDE KENT.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

American Revolution

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Delaware, Kent County on page 126.]

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

  • Kent County, Delaware Probate records, 1680-1800 on line at Ancestry.com ($) original data: Valinger, Leon de, com/ Calendar of Kent County, Delaware Probate Records, 1680-1800.
  • DeValinger, Leon. A Calendar of Kent County, Delaware Probate Records, 1680-1800. Dover, Delaware: Public Archives Commission, 1944. (Family History Library film 1035860 item 4; fiche 6051248.) Facsimile reproduction of the original (Family History Library book 975.14 P28d.)
  • Indexes to probate records 1801-1833, in three volumes by Mary Marshall Brewer (Lewes,Del.: Delmarva Roots, 2002.)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Kent County. For state-wide facilities, see Delaware Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Kent County. For state-wide library facilities, see Delaware Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Kent County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Delaware Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Kent County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kent_County,_Delaware 04/27/2017.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Castle, Delaware Page 121 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kent County, Delaware. Page 121 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 118.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Kent County, Delaware," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kent_County%2C_Delaware, accessed 23 October 2018.