Kanawha County, West Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Kanawha County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Kanawha River. The County is located in the central area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Kanawha County Courthouse
409 Virginia Street East
Charleston, WV 25301
Kanawha County Website
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1853, marriage records from 1831, probate records from 1831, and land records from 1786.
Kanawha County, West Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Family bible records, 1711-1955, of residents (1956) of Kanawha Co
- Bible Records Kanawha County: 1833 - 1931
- Kanawha County Bible Records
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Kanawha County Biography at Ancestry ($)
- Kanawha County Biography Library
- West Virginia Biographies Project - Kanawha County
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
- Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (Together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. FHL Collection. Includes a section on Charleston silversmiths.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Kanawha census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
- Kanawha County, West Virginia Census Records
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Cole River (1807)
- Kenhawa (1796)
- Peter's Creek (1803)
- Taze's Valley (1805)
- Mud River (1807)
Kanawha County fell within the bounds of the Greenbrier Association.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans[edit | edit source]
- Wolfgang, Meldon J. Kanawha County, Virginia, personal property tax lists, 1806 and 1809. Albany, NY J. Sheppard Enterprises. 1977. 33p.FHL 975.4 A1 no. 57
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
- Asbury - Holtzclaw, B.C. "Asbury of Westmoreland County, Virginia," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul. 1967):55-65; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1967):77-87; Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jan. 1968):10-26. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Ashley - Ross, Clara Mae. John Thomas Ashley (1838-1923), His Ancestors of Surry County, North Carolina, His Descendants of Roane County, West Virginia, and Related Families. Colfax, N.C., n.d. FHL Collection.
- Brown - Nichols, Helen Brown. The Brown Connection to Ancient and Royal Families, Ancestry A to Z, Roots Along the Great Kanawha. 2003.
- Dickinson - "The Dickinson Family," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr. 1964):31. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Page - Rutherford, Dolores Crumrine. Page Family Records in Virginia Counties. 2 vols. Carmichael, Calif.: D.C. Rutherford, 1982-2006. FHL Book 929.273 P141rdc v. 2 Kanawha County appears in Vol. 2 Part 3
- Page - Rutherford, Dolores Crumrine. The Page Family in Virginia Personal Property Taxes (1782-1850). 2 vols. Carmichael, Calif.: D.C. Rutherford, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 P141rd v. 1-2 Kanawha County appears in Vol. 2.
- Ruffner - "Rev. Dr. Henry Ruffner," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jul. 1964):43-44. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Shields - Shields, Carolyn Ann Dean, Shields, Charles Louis, Kanawha County cousins: a history of the history of the families of Dean--Perry--Painter--Ritz .
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Kanawha County, (West) Virginia residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.
- Fletcher - Descendant of William Fletcher, b. England, resident of Kanawha and Monroe Counties, Virginia. Y-DNA 12 Marker Test, FTDNA. William Fletcher of Accomac County, Virginia/James Fletcher of Brunswick County, Virginia, courtesy: The Fletcher DNA Project.
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Kanawha County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.
- Kanawha Valley History
- History of Kanawha County (Google ebook)
- History of Charleston and Kanawha County, West Virginia (on line)
- About Kanawha County, West Virginia
- Kanawha River Facts
- Kanawha County Early History
- Welcome to Kanawha County, West Virginia
- Ambler, Charles Henry. "Poor Relief Education: Kanawha County, Virginia, 1818-1847." West Virginia History, Charleston, West Virginia, 1941-42. Arc 1. 4:3.
- Andre, Richard A. Bullets and Steel: the Fight for the Great Kanawha Valley 1861-1865. Charleston, West Virginia, Pictorial Histories, 1995. 975.438 A555.
- Atkinson, George Wesley. History of Kanawha County. Charleston, West Virginia, West Virginia Journal, 1876. Reprint West Virginia Genealogical Society, 1994. 975.437 A875.
- Atkinson, Rama Casdorph, Bratt, Helen Jenkins, Haynes, Helen Young. Our Heritage: Brookside Centennial Paper, West Virginia Centennial 1863-1963. s.l., n.p., 1963. 975.437 O93 Pam.
- Bailey, H. R. History of the Liberty Mountaineers . St. Albans, West Virginia, Harless Printing, 1979. 785.067 B154 Pam.
- Belle West Virginia Women's Club. Historic Belle Area Bi-Centennial, 1773-1976. Charleston, West Virginia, Capitol Printing and Supply, 1976. 975.437 B438.
- Broyles, Bettye J. The St. Albans Archeological Site, Kanawha County, West Virginia: Preservation or Destruction. Morgantown, West Virginia, n.p., 1974. 913.75437 B885.
- Burford, Herschel W. "Steam Packets on the Kanawha River." Charleston, West Virginia, West Virginia History, 1965-66.Arc 1. 4:27.
- Coal River Railroad Company. Prospectus of the Coal River Railroad Company, West Virginia. Cincinnati, Ohio, Applegate, Pounsford and Company, 1872. 333.8 C652 1872 Pam.
- Cohen, Stan. Kanawha County Images: A Bicentennial History, 1788-1988. Charleston, West Virginia, Pictorial Histories Publishing Company, 1987. 975.437 C678.
- Cole, John L. On Fitzwaters. 1791-.Notes on Fitzwaters Family, Mostly Isaac Fitzwater and His Early Struggles With Indians and Exploration in the Kanawha, Fayette and Nicholas County Area. MS 80-25.
- Comstock. Jim. Hardesty's Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia. Richwood, West Virginia, Jim Comstock, 1973. 975.4003 H259 v.4.
- Conley, Philip Mallory. Early Coal Development in the Kanawha Valley, West Virginia History, Charleston, West Virginia, 1946-47.Arc 1. 4:8.
- Cook, Roy Bird. The Annals of Fort Lee. Charleston, West Virginia. West Virginia Review Press, 1935. 975.438 C771.
- Damewood, Elizabeth Rhodes. Kanawha County's Great Textbook Controversy: Regional Heritage, National History and Public Education, 1974-1975. n.p., 1990.379.156 D157.
- Dayton, Ruth. Pioneers and Their Homes on Upper Kanawha. Charleston, West Virginia, West Virginia Publishing Company, 1947.975.43 D276.
- DeGruyter, Julius Allen. The Kanawha Spectator, Charleston, West Virginia, n.p., 1953-1976. 975.437 D321.
- East Bank, Celebrating 100 Years, 1889-1989. s.l., n.p., 1989975.437 El3.
- Elk-Blue Creek Historical Society. Elk River Communities in Kanawha County, A Continuing History. Cleveland, Ohio, Typemasters, Inc., 1993.975.437 E43.
- Farley, Bob. Carbon Fuel Reunion, 1998. s.l., n.p., 1998.975.437 C264.
- FMC Corporation. Chemical Divisions. The Salt Industry in the Kanawha Valley. n.p., 197_. 338.47664 F648.
- Galbraith, Julia. History of the Cross Lanes Area. s.l., n.p., 1976.975.437 G148.
- Gibbons, J. The Kanawha Valley, 1872 Resources, Developments and Special Business Directory of Charleston and Other Cities. Gibbons, Atkinson and Company Printers, 1872. 917.543 G441.
- Hale, John Peter. History of the Great Kanawha Valley. Madison, Wisconsin, Brant, Fuller and Company, 1891.975.43 H162 closed stacks.
- _____________. History and Mystery of the Kanawha Valley. Charleston, West Virginia, West Virginia Historical and Antiquarian Society, 1897.913.7543 H162.
- _____________. List of Delegates to the Virginia Assembly From Kanawha County 1789-1863. Trans Allegheny Pioneers, Cincinnati, Ohio, Cincinnati Graphics, 1886.975.402 H162.
- _____________. Some Local Archaeology: a Paper Read Before the West Virginia Historical and Antiquarian Society, January 18th, 1898. Charleston, West Virginia, Gazette Publishing Company, 1898.913.75437 H162s Pam.
- Hanson, Todd. Campbell's Creek: A Portrait of a Coal Mining Community. Charleston, West Virginia, Pictorial Histories Publishing Company, 1989.975.437 H251c.
- Harmon, Dale Lynn. Kanawha County, West Virginia, Bruen Property Land Purchases From 47,000 Acre Sheba Tract 1850-1908. Durham, North Carolina, Harmon, 1984. 333.3 H288.
- Harris, V.B. Great Kanawha...An Historical Outline. Charleston, West Virginia, Jarrett Printing Company, 1976. 975.43 H316.
- Hereford, C.D. Early History of St. Albans. St. Albans, West Virginia: b s.n.\c 1950. 975.437 S133h.
- Humphreys, Milton Wylie. Incidents Related Concerning Mercer Academy and Other Kanawha County Schools. n.p. n.d. B H927 Pam.
- ___________. Kanawha's Black Gold and the Miners' Rebellion. Ann Arbor, Michigan, Braun- Brumfield, 1987. 331.881 H316.
- Hunt, Doris J. Index of Names to the History of Kanawha County by George W. Atkinson. Charleston, West Virginia, Department of Culture and History, Archives and History Division, 1981. 975.437 A875i.
- Jones, James A. Diaries, James A. Ward, West Virginia, 1878-1930. MS 79-43.
- Kanawha County Court House, Account Book, Charleston, Virginia, 1843. MS 79-24.
- Kanawha County Court House, Account Book, Charleston, Virginia, 1849. MS 79-34.
- Kanawha County Election, April 1, 1835. Book for a Precinct Election Held at the House of John Jones, Kanawha County to Choose Delegate to Virginia Assembly, April, 1835. MS 80-202.
- Kanawha Valley Airport, s.l., n.p, n.d. >629.136 K16k.
- Kanawha Salt Company. Cincinnati, Ohio, Moore, Wilstach and Baldwin Printers, 1864. 338.47664 K16 Pam.
- Kanawha Salt Company, Account Book, 1820-1842. MS 79-61.
- Laidley, William Sydney. History of Charleston and Kanawha County, West Virginia and Representative Citizens. Chicago. Illinois, Richmond Arnold Publishing Company, 1911. 975.437 L185.
- Lawrentz, Jeff. Endangered Homes on the Upper Kanawha. s.l., n.p, 1986. 917.5437 L242 Pam.
- MacKenzie, Scott A. 2015. "Forming a Middle Class: The Civil War in Kanawha County, West(ern) Virginia 1861-1865." West Virginia History 9, no. 1: 23-46. America: History and Life with Full Text, EBSCOhost.
- Memorial of the Manufacturers of Salt in Kanawha County, Virginia...Addressed to the Senate and House of Representatives of the U.S. Kanawha County Court House, Virginia, Office of the Kanawha Banner, 1830. 338.47664 U58m Pam.
- Minute Book, Directors of Kanawha Board of James River and Kanawha Company, June 14 to 1858 to July 8 1861. Gift of Alexander Laidley, 1895. MS 79-58.
- Moore, E.T. Description of a Tract of Land Embracing About 5,000 Acres on Davis Creek, Kanawha County, West Virginia. Charleston, West Virginia, E.T. Moore, Printer, 1875. 333.8 D449 Pam.
- Moving Mountains to Build Kanawha Airport, Charleston, West Virginia, Kanawha County. s.l, n.p., n.d. 629.136 K16.
- National Education Association of the United States. Inquiry Report, Kanawha County, West Virginia: A Textbook Study in Cultural Conflict. Washington DC, National Education Association , Teachers Rights Division, 1975.379.156 N277.
- Olson, James S. "THE DEPTHS OF THE GREAT DEPRESSION: ECONOMIC COLLAPSE IN WEST VIRGINIA, 1932-1933." West Virginia History 38, no. 3 (April 1977): 214-225. America: History and Life with Full Text, EBSCOhost.
- Parker, Franklin. The Battle of the Books: Kanawha County. Bloomington, Indiana, Phi Delata Kappa Educational Foundation, 1975.379.156 P239 Pam.
- Pease, Louise McNeill. The Great Kanawha in the Old South, 1671-1861. Morgantown, West Virginia, 1959. 975.43 P363.
- Proceedings, Resolutions, etc. of a Mass Meeting of the Citizens of Kanawha County, April 29 and May 13, 1865. Charleston, West Virginia, Journal Office, 1865.973.781 P963 Pam.
- Quarrier, Alexander. Indictment of Alexander C. Quarrier and His Response Regarding Charges of Falsely Entering Information in Account of Joint Stock Company. @ 1871.MS 79-157.
- Rice, Otis K. Charleston and the Kanawha Valley, an Illustrated History. Woodland Hills, California, Windsor Publications, Inc., 1981.975.438 R497.
- Shaler, Nathaniel Southgate. Black Band Iron and Coal Company. Cambridge, Wheeler, Printer, 1881. 557.5437 S528 Pam.
- Simmons, Pat. Winifrede, West Virginia, First Reunion. Winifrede, West Virginia, the Author, 1998. 975.437 W772.
- Sissonville Historical Awareness Committee. Sissonville, A Time to Remember. s.l., n.p., 1988. 975.437 S623.
- Slack, Greenbury. Greenbury Slack Letters, Account Books Justice of Peace, 1865-1868. MS 80-122.
- Souvenir Program, Kanawha County History and The 35th Star. Charleston, s.l., n.p., 1963. 975.437 S279.
- Stealey, John Edmund. The Salt Industry of the Great Kanawha Valley of Virginia: A Study in Ante-Bellum Internal Commerce. Ann Arbor, Michigan, University Microfilms, 1977.338.47664 S799.
- Stuber, Gary Lee. Blue Creek West Virginia Coloring Book. Blue Creek, West Virginia, Larry Maynor, 1977. 975.437 S932 Pam.
- Super, Joseph. "West Virginia Incorporated: Religion and the Railroad in the Timber Counties." West Virginia History7, no. 2 (Fall2013 2013): 33-62. America: History and Life with Full Text, EBSCOhost.
- Tompkins, C. Report to the Board of Directors and Stockholders of the Paint Creek Coal and Iron Mining and Manufacturing Company, Kanawha County, Virginia. Richmond, Virginia, Dispatch Steam Printing Office, 1856. 333.8 T662 Pam.
- Uchimura, Kazuko. "Coal Operators and Market Competition: The Case of West Virginia's Smokeless Coalfields and the Fairmont Field, 1853-1933." West Virginia History 4, no. 2 (Fall2010 2010): 59-86. America: History and Life with Full Text, EBSCOhost.
- United States Congress. Memorial of the Citizens of Kanawha County, Virginia, Against the Measures of the Executive and Praying for Relief. Washington, DC, 1834. 975.43 W52 Pam.
- Upper Falls of Coal, Daybook, 1851-1853.MS 80-273.
- Ward Reunion Committee. History of Ward, West Virginia. Smithers, West Virginia, Rod-Jack Printers, Inc., 1984.975.437 W256w.
- _____________________.Ward News. Smithers, West Virginia, Ward Reunion Committee, 1981-1986. 975.437 W256wa.
- _____________________. Ward Reunion Souvenir, To Honor Old Friends. Smithers, West Virginia, Rod-Jack Printers, Inc., 1984. 975.437 W256s.
- West Virginia Genealogical Society. Index for W.S. Laidley's History of Charleston and Kanawha County West Virginia. Elkview, West Virginia, West Virginia Genealogical Society, 1994.975.437 L185 Index.
- Wiseman, Eloise. Tornado Remembers...Upper Falls of Coal River, 1788-1988. n.p., n.d. 975.437 W814.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Maps of West Virginia (1617-1995)
- Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia
- Kanawha County West Virginia 1895
- Kanawha County, West Virginia Map
- U.S. Federal Route 119 Kanawha County
- Districts and Towns of Kanawha County
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Kanawha County on page 135.
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- Kanawha County men served in the 80th Regiment.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Kanawha served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Kanawha County:
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company E.
- - 8th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company I (Kanawha Rangers).
- - 19th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G (Dixie Boys).
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (1st Kanawha Regiment). Company E (Elk River Tigers) and Company I (Kanawha Riflemen).
- - 34th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Witcher's Battalion, Virginia Mounted Rifles) (Confederate). Company B.
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 West Virginia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- Kanawha County, West Virginia in the Civil War
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - West Virginia, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- Kanawha County, West Virginia World War I and World War II
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1814-1991 West Virginia Naturalization Records, 1814-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- The Charleston Gazette
- The Charleston Daily Mail (Charleston, West Virginia) at Ancestry ($)
- Sunday Gazette-Mail (Charleston, West Virginia) at Ancestry ($)
- Charleston Mail (Charleston, West Virginia) at Ancestry ($)
- Charleston Daily Mail (Charlestown, West Virginia) at Ancestry ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Miscellaneous Kanawha County, West Virginia Obituaries
- Kanawha County WV Obituaries
- Charleston Daily Mail Obituaries
- Obituaries of West Virginia Newspapers
- Kanawha County, West Virginia Obituaries
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1724-1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry — index and images $
- 1756-1971 West Virginia Will Books 1756-1971 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- Kanawha County Will Records Volume A
- Index cards to court records, Kanawha County, West Virginia 1754-1933
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
- 1792 Indexed images of the 1792 Personal Property Tax List of Kanawha County, Virginia(now West Virginia) are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
- Kanawha County Tithables in 1792
- 1792 1792 Kanawha County, (West) Virginia Personal Property Tax List; index online at New River Notes - free.
- 1793 1793 Kanawha County, (West) Virginia Personal Property Tax List; index online at New River Notes - free.
- 1796 1796 Kanawha County, (West) Virginia Personal Property Tax List; index online at New River Notes - free.
- 1802 Images of the 1802 Personal Property Tax List of Kanawha County, Virginia(now West Virginia) are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
- 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. FHL Book 975 E4w v. 6. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Kanawha County is included in Vol. 6.
- 1840 Kanawha County Tax Lists; index online at The WVGenWeb Project - free.
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- Vital Registration Office; State Capitol Complex No 3, Run 516
Charleston, WV 25305
- West Virginia Vital Records, 1865 - 1969 (varies) - Includes birth, death, and marriage.
- Kanawha County Birth Records
- Kanawha County Marriage Records
- Kanawha County Death Records
- West Virginia Health Statistics Center
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1914 West Virginia Birth Index, 1853-1914 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1776-1971 West Virginia, County Marriage Records, 1776-1971 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1780-1970 West Virginia Marriages, 1780-1970 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1801-1962 West Virginia, United States Marriages at Findmypast; index $
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1804-1999 - West Virginia Deaths, 1804-1999 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1853-1964 West Virginia Death Index & Certificates, 1853-1964 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Kanawha County. For state-wide archival repositories, see West Virginia Archives and Libraries.
- Episcopal Diocese of West Virginia
1608 Virginia Street East
Charleston, WV 25311
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Kanawha County. For state-wide library facilities, see West Virginia Archives and Libraries.
- Kanawha County Public Library
- West Virginia University - Genealogy Resources
- West Virginia Kanawha County Public Libraries
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Kanawha County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see West Virginia Societies.
Archives and History Library
Division of Culture and History
The Cultural Center
Charleston, WV 25305-0300
Archives and History Library
Kanawha Valley Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 8555
South Charleston, WV 25303
Kanawha Valley Genealogical Society
Kanawha Valley Civil War Round Table
317 18th Street
Dunbar, WV 25064
Kanawha Valley Historical & Preservation Society, Inc.
507 Peoples Building
P. O. Box 2283
Charleston, WV 25328
Kanawha County Public Library
123 Capitol Street
Charleston, WV 25301
Saint Albans Historical Society 2745 Lincoln Avenue
Saint Albans, WV 25177
mailing address: 919 Lee Street
Saint Albans, WV 25177
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Kanawha County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Kanawha County, West Virginia USGENWEB
- CYNDI'S List West Virginia
- Kanawha County, West Virginia Microfilms at the Library of Virginia
- West Virginia Biographies Project of Kanawha County, West Virginia
- Kanawha County Family Tree (email no longer in use)
- Early Settlements of Kanawha County
- Kanawha County West Virginia New River Notes
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Kanawha County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kanawha_County,_West_Virginia."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kanawha County, West Virginia. Page 744 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kanawha County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Kanawha County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kanawha_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 04 July 2018.
- Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 421. Digital version at Google Books.
- Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 115. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
- Jack L. Dickinson, 8th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 25.
- Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
- Terry D. Lowry, 22nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 44.
- Scott C. Cole, 34th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 94.
- Ronald R. Turner, 7th West Virginia Cavalry (Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989). Digital version at Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb; FHL Book 975.4 M2t.