Juniata County, Pennsylvania Genealogy
Guide to Juniata County, Pennsylvania ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for the Juniata River. The county is located in the central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Juniata County Courthouse
Bridge and Main Streets
P.O. Box 68
Mifflintown, PA 17059
Prothonotary/Clerk of Courts Phone: 717-436-7715 Email: lferry@juniataco.org
Orphans' Court/Register of Wills Phone: 717-436-7709 Email: aseigler@juniataco.org
Juniata County Website
County Clerk has birth and death records 1893-1907, marriage records from 1885, divorce records from 1900, probate, court and land records from 1831 and naturalizations from early 1800s to 1930[3]
Juniata County, Pennsylvania Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1893 | 1885 | 1893 | 1831 | 1831 | 1831 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
For animated maps illustrating Pennsylvania county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Pennsylvania County Boundary Maps" (1673-1878) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Boroughs | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Additional Cemetery Resources
- ca.1700-ca.1950 - Pennsylvania Cemetery Records, ca. 1700-ca. 1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Cemetery Abstracts at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images (incomplete)
- PA-Roots
- Names in Stone
- Ancestry($)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Census
- 1850-1880 Pennsylvania Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 11,080 | — |
| 1850 | 13,029 | 17.6% |
| 1860 | 16,986 | 30.4% |
| 1870 | 17,390 | 2.4% |
| 1880 | 18,227 | 4.8% |
| 1890 | 16,655 | −8.6% |
| 1900 | 16,054 | −3.6% |
| 1910 | 15,013 | −6.5% |
| 1920 | 14,464 | −3.7% |
| 1930 | 14,325 | −1.0% |
| 1940 | 15,373 | 7.3% |
| 1950 | 15,243 | −0.8% |
| 1960 | 15,874 | 4.1% |
| 1970 | 16,712 | 5.3% |
| 1980 | 19,188 | 14.8% |
| 1990 | 20,625 | 7.5% |
| 2000 | 22,821 | 10.6% |
| 2010 | 24,636 | 8.0% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. For members, they may contain: age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage date and maiden name; death/burial date. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, see Pennsylvania Church Records.
- 1620-1991 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Congregational Records, 1620-1991(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
County-wide Database – Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry $
- Contains the church records of Port Royal United Methodist Church.
Baptist
The Baptist church in Spruce Hill Township was established in 1794 in Milford Township.
Lutheran
The German Lutheran congregation of Tuscarora Valley built their first church in 1803, with an attending grave yard, called the Church Hill Cemetery. A new cemetery, opened in 1906 stands across the street.[8]
Methodist
- 1863-1870 Port Royal Methodist Episcopal 1863-1870 Marriages at The USGenWeb Project, courtesy of USGenWeb.
- 1893-1901 Thompsontown Methodist Episcopal 1893-1901 Marriages at The USGenWeb Project, courtesy of USGenWeb.
Presbyterian
The earliest church in Juniata county was the Cedar Spring Presbyterian, built in 1763 in Walker Township. Other early Presbyterian churches included one in Lack Township (pre-1766) where the graveyard and stones were still standing in 1936.
The congregation at Academia, called the Lower Tuscarora, was established in 1766, with several different buildings housing the congregation. They joined with the Middle Tuscarora congregation in 1801. Port Royal was also part of this congregation. In 1850 they joined with the Lost Creek congregation from McAlisterville. Lost Creek was established in about 1799. The graveyard for this church holds many of the area's earlier settlers. In 1934 this congregation was still active.[9]
Mifflintown and Lost Creek Presbyterian Church
- 1806-1844 Presbyterian Church of Mifflintown and Lost Creek 1806-1844 Marriages at The USGenWeb Project, courtesy of USGenWeb.
- 1845-1871 Presbyterian Church of Mifflintown and Lost Creek 1845-1871 Marriages at The USGenWeb Project, courtesy of USGenWeb.
- 1872-1875 Mifflintown Presbyterian Church Baptism Index 1872-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C538921 [10]
- 1872-1891 Mifflintown Presbyterian Church Marriage Index 1872-1891 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M538921
United Presbyterian Church, Mexico
- 1863-1870 United Presbyterian Church, Mexico, Baptism Index 1863-1870 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C538941
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
For information about records kept in the Orphan's court, Prothonotary Court, Court of Common Pleas, and other courts in counties of Pennsylvania, visit the Pennsylvania Court Records Wiki page.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
For online resources, passenger lists, and specific groups coming to Pennsylvania, see Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration.
- 1798-1828 Pennsylvania Landing Reports of Aliens, 1798-1828 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Alphabet index then by numbered entry
- 1900-1923 Pennsylvania, Philadelphia Case Files of Chinese Immigrants, 1900-1923 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by county)
- 1952-1957 Pennsylvania, Crew Lists arriving at Erie, 1952-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
For groups that came, see People section of the Pennsylvania Emigration page.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
The Orphan's Court ensures the best interests of those not capable of handling their own affairs: minors, incapacitated persons, decedents' estates, and more.[11]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location and reveal family relationships. Records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, maps and more. For more information, see Pennsylvania Land and Property.
Land records in Juniata County began in 1831. These records are filed with the Recorder of Deeds office in Mifflintown, Pennsylvania.
Online Land Records
- 1831 -1973 Deeds, 1831-1866; Index, 1833-1973; Miscellaneous Dockets, 1851-1867; Index, 1831-1967. FHL film 941736 (first of 21 films) - images only; click on the camera icon to view images
- Juniata land records at Infocon system. $ - Images are available online
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- History and Topography of Northumberland, Huntingdon, Mifflin, Centre, Union, Columbia, Juniata and Clinton Counties, Pa. 1847. By I. Daniel Rupp. Lancaster, Pennsylvania : G. Hills. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of [...] the counties of Mifflin, Juniata, Perry, Union and Snyder in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. 2 volumes. 1886. By Franklin Ellis, Alfred Matthews. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania : Everts, Peck & Richards. Online at: Vol. 1 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust,Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat). Volume 1 contains a general history of all counties and specific histories for Mifflin and Juniata counties.
- A History of the Juniata Valley. 3 volumes. 1936. Harrisburg, Pennsylvania : National Historical Association, Inc. Online at: Vol. 1 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 2 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vol. 3 - FamilySearch Digital Library.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
Maps
- Maps of Pennsylvania (1673-1878)
- Ancestor Tracks has posted free downloadable images from the Atlas of Perry, Juniata & Mifflin Counties, Pennsylvania, from Actual Surveys by and under the Direction of Beach Nichols, published by A. Pomeroy & Co., 1877. This atlas located in the Library of Congress shows major landowners and geographic sites at the date of publishing. While the physical maps are in the public domain, the images we have taken of the maps belong to us are not to be used commercially. We hereby give permission to use them strictly for personal use; please attribute to Ancestor Tracks.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
- 1861-1865 Pennsylvania, Register of Military Volunteers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1865-1936 Pennsylvania, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1865-1936 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1933-1947 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, World War II Casualty Cards, 1933-1947 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. For more information, see Pennsylvania Naturalization
- 1795-1931 Pennsylvania, Eastern District Petitions for Naturalization, 1795-1931 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1795-1952 Pennsylvania, Eastern District Naturalization Indexes, 1795-1952 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization records for Juniata County, Pennsylvania include the following:
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1820s-1840s Juniata County, Pennsylvania Naturalization Records Book 1 and Book 2 at The USGenWeb Project
- 1901-1930 Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. Circuit and District Courts for the Middle District of Pennsylvania, 1906-1930; and 1901-1906 on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1622, Middle District court was created in 1901, for earlier dates try the Eastern and Western District court records
- 1901-1930 Middle District, US Circuit and District Courts: Naturalization petitions, 1906-1930 located in U.S. Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1795-1972 (World Archives Project) database on Ancestry $
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Newspapers may contain obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings. Newspapers are often found in local or university libraries, historical or genealogical societies, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published. See Pennsylvania Newspapers for more information.
Newspapers of Juniata County
Online Newspapers
To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.
- Chronicling America Juniata Sentinel 1846-1873 Mifflintown, Juniata County, Pennsylvania.
- Chroncling America Juniata Sentinel and Republican 1873-1955 Mifflintown, Juniata County, PA.
- Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles from Juniata County, Pennsylvania.
- 1947-2010Pennsylvania Obituary and Marriage Collection, 1947-2010 at FamilySearch
Newspaper Abstracts
- Death Records (SLC, Utah, 1973) FHL film 944767 item 1 Alphabetical card index to death records, mainly from the newspapers: Mifflin Eagle, The Weekly Democratic Press, Juniata Herald, Juniata Gazette, etc.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died or where family members lived. Local libraries or societies may have indexes or other sources.
- 1947-2021 Pennsylvania Obituary and Marriage Collection, 1947-2010 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1977-2010 Pennsylvania Obituaries, 1977-2010 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Online Obituary Abstracts
- PA-Roots Obituaries for Juniata County, Pennsylvania.
- Some Juniata County Obituaries at Juniata County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate matters in Juniata County are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates; appointments of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills; inheritance tax appeals, and various petitions and motions.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1683-1993 Pennsylvania Wills and Probate Records 1683-1993 at Ancestry $
- 1683-1994 Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by county)
- 1831-1973 Juniata County Probate Records - at FamilySearch
- 1852-1937 Decedents Estate Index FHL Collection - images only; click on the camera icon to view images
- 1831-1917 Register of Wills FHL Collection - Index included 1831-1973; images only; click on the camera icon to view images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
- 1763-1776 Lack Township Taxes 1763-1776 at The USGenWeb Project
- 1763-1776 Milford Township Taxes 1763-1776 at The USGenWeb Project
- 1763-1767 Fermanagh Township Taxes 1763-1767 at The USGenWeb Project
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. For the most complete set of records, contact the County Orphans' Court.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For more information, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.
- 1520-1999 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Births and Baptisms, 1520-1999 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1709-1950 Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1852 Juniata County Birth Index 1852 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C535441
- 1852-1854 Pennsylvania Births Ancestry $
- 1941-1976 Pennsylvania Delayed Birth Records, 1941-1976 at FamilySerch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Pennsylvania marriages were created by county officials. Contact Juniata County Courthouse
- 1512-1989 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Marriage Records, 1512-1989 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1626-2016 Pennsylvania, United States Marriages at Findmypast- index $
- 1677-1950 Pennsylvania Civil Marriages, 1677-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1682-1976 Pennsylvania, Church Marriages, 1682-1976 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1700-1821 Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry $
- 1709-1940 Pennsylvania Marriages, 1709-1940 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- Pre-1810 Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry $
- 1852-1863 Juniata County Marriage Index 1852-1863 and 1885-1887 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch at M535442
- 1852-1854 Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry $
- 1885-1887 Juniata County Marriage Index 1852-1863 and 1885-1887 in International Genealogical Index at M535443
- 1885-1950 Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1947-2010 Pennsylvania Obituary and Marriage Collection, 1947-2010 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Death[edit | edit source]
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For indexes and records, 1906 and later, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.
- 1720-1999 Pennsylvania Deaths and Burials, 1720-1999 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, some images
- 1820-1839 Juniata County PA Death Notices 1820-1839 at The USGenWeb Project
- 1852-1905 Juniata County Death Index 1852-1905 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
- 1852-1854 Pennsylvania Deaths Ancestry $
- 1856-1971 Pennsylvania, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Deaths and Burials, 1856-1971 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary.
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.
National Archives at Philadelphia
14700 Townsend Road
Philadelphia, PA 19154-1096
Phone: 215-305-2044
Fax: 215-305-2052
Website
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Carlisle Pennsylvania Family History Center
- State College Pennsylvania Family History Center
- Sunbury Pennsylvania Family History Center
- The Annville Free Library - an affiliate library.
- Franklin County Library System - Coyle Free Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Juniata County. For state-wide library facilities, see Pennsylvania Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Juniata County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Pennsylvania Societies.
Juniata County Historical Society
498 Jefferson St. Suite B
Mifflintown, PA 17059
Phone: 717-436-5152
Email: jchs1931@juniatacountyhistoricalsociety.org
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- PA USGenWeb. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Juniata County PA Genealogy
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia accessed 2/12/2017
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002) Juniata County, Pennsylvania, p.590
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Juniata County, Pennsylvania," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Juniata_County%2C_Pennsylvania, accessed 24 January 2020.
- ↑ National Historical Association ‘‘History of the Juniata Valley’' (Salt Lake City, Utah : Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2009), 195 -209. WorldCat 197065; Free online digital copy courtesy of FamilySearch
- ↑ National Historical Association ‘‘History of the Juniata Valley’' (Salt Lake City, Utah : Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2009), 195 -209. WorldCat 197065; Free online digital copy courtesy of FamilySearch
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/92/Igipennsylvaniaf.pdf.
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at Common Pleas accessed 10 July 2012
