Jones County, Iowa Genealogy
Guide to Jones County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Jones County was named for George Wallace Jones and is located in eastern Iowa.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Jones County Courthouse
500 West Main Street
Anamosa, IA 52205
Phone: 319-462-4341
Jones County Courthouse
Jones County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1880 | 1840 | 1880 | 1848 | 1864 | 1840 | 1847 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Jones County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.
- Jones County Bible Records at USGenWeb Iowa Archives
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- The History of Jones County, Iowa: containing a History of the County, Its Cities, Towns &c., Biographical Sketches of Citizens. 1879. Chicago, IL: Western Historical Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, HathiTrust — index & images, Google Books.
- History of Jones County, Iowa, Past and Present. 1910. Robert McClain Corbit. Chicago, IL: S.J. Clarke Publishing. Vol I Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, HathiTrust — index & images; Vol II Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images.
- Portrait and Biographical Record of Dubuque, Jones and Clayton counties, Iowa: Containing Biographical Sketches of Prominent and Representative Citizens of the Counties. 1894. Chicago, IL: Chapman Publising Co. Online at: FamilySearch Catalog - images, Internet Archive, Ancestry — index & images ($)
- Jones County, Iowa Biographies Project at RootsWeb — links to biographies and local histories
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 3,007 | — |
| 1860 | 13,306 | 342.5% |
| 1870 | 19,731 | 48.3% |
| 1880 | 21,052 | 6.7% |
| 1890 | 20,233 | −3.9% |
| 1900 | 21,954 | 8.5% |
| 1910 | 19,050 | −13.2% |
| 1920 | 18,607 | −2.3% |
| 1930 | 19,206 | 3.2% |
| 1940 | 19,950 | 3.9% |
| 1950 | 19,401 | −2.8% |
| 1960 | 20,693 | 6.7% |
| 1970 | 19,868 | −4.0% |
| 1980 | 20,401 | 2.7% |
| 1990 | 19,444 | −4.7% |
| 2000 | 20,221 | 4.0% |
| 2010 | 20,638 | 2.1% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1885 Iowa State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1895 Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1905 Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images (individual cards, not family context)
- 1915 Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1925 Iowa State Census, 1925 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
Lutheran
- 1781-1969 U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Church Records, 1781-1969 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1837-1947 Justice of the Peace Records, 1837-1947(*); Justice of the Peace Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1841-1932 Court Records, 1841-1932(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1848-1862 Judges Minute Book, 1848-1862(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1851-1883 Court Records, 1851-1883(*); Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1898- 1972 Alphabetical Listing of Justice of the Peace and Notarial Records, 1898- 1972(*); Justice of the Peace Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1901-1939 Affidavits, 1903-1935; Index 1901-1939(*); County Recorder at FamilySearch Catalog — index and images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1893 Plat Book of Jones County, Iowa Atlas(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Dawson Funeral Services in Olin, Oxford and Wyoming
- Goettsch Funeral Home in Anamosa and Monticello
- Kramer Funeral Home in Monticello
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.
Online Land and Property Records
- 1838-1896 Surveyor's record, 1838-1896 at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1841-1993 Land records, 1841-1993; indexes, 1842-1970 at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Jones County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.
- History of Jones County, Iowa, Past and Present. 1910. Robert McClain Corbit. Chicago, IL: S.J. Clarke Publishing. Vol I Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, HathiTrust — index & images; Vol II Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images.
- The History of Jones County, Iowa: containing a History of the County, Its Cities, Towns &c., Biographical Sketches of Citizens. 1879. Chicago, IL: Western Historical Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, HathiTrust — index & images, Google Books.
- Iowa Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.
for more resources
- 1860-1918 U.S., Indexed County Land Ownership Maps, 1860-1918, Jones County at Ancestry ($) - index.
- 1875-2007 Jones County 1875-2007 at Historic Map Works - may include names of land-owners.
- 1883-1943 Fire Insurance Maps for Jones County, Iowa at Library of Congress - various years between 1883 and 1943.
- IAGenWeb - Jones County.
- Iowa Digital Library, Jones County at Iowa University Libraries.
- Jones County Maps at FamilySearch Catalog.
- Map of Jones County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- New Sectional Atlas of Jones County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- Plat Book of Jones County, Iowa Atlas(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collections, Jones County at State Library of Iowa.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places.
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- 1835-1998 Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index only* 1862-1910 Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1949 Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War service men in Jones County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:
- - 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G
- - 9th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B and D
- - 14th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1858-1941 Naturalization Records, 1858-1941; Index, 1860-1904(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1859-1990 United States, Iowa Naturalization Records, 1859-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1865-2004 Ross & Elizabeth Baty Public Library Archives, Jones County has the Monticello Express (1865-2004) available online.
- 1865 and 1965 The Monticello Express. 1865 and 1965. Monticello, IA, USA. Online at Ancestry ($)
- 1871-1872' The Wyoming Journal. 1871-72. Wyoming, IA, USA. Online at Ancestry ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1758-1997 Iowa, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1758-1997 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
- 1844-1965 Probate Records, 1844-1965; Index, 1844-1955(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1934-1958 Iowa, Old Age Tax Assistance Records, 1934-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1939 Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1935 Iowa, County Births, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1921-1942 Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1518-1996 Iowa, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1809-1992 Iowa, Marriages, 1809-1992 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1836-1926 Iowa, Marriages, 1836 - 1926 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1838-1934 Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1951 Iowa, U.S., Marriage Records, 1880-1951 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1990 Iowa Deaths and Burials, 1850-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and some images; Also at: MyHeritage($)
- 1880-1992 Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1900-1939 Iowa Death Index, 1900-1939 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1904-1951 Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1920-1967 Iowa, U.S., Death Records, 1920-1967 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1935 Jones County, Iowa, Divorce Records, 1850-1935; Index, 1898-1935(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Jones County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- African American Museum Of Iowa - an affiliate library
- Genealogical Society of Linn County Iowa dba Cedar Rapids Area Genealogy Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Jones County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Ross & Elizabeth Baty Monticello Public Library
205 E Grand Street
Monticello, IA 52310
319-465-3354
Text: 319-820-2859
Website
Anamosa Library & Learning Center
600 E 1st Street
Anamosa, IA 52205
319-462-2183
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Monticello Heritage and Cultural Center
211 North Sycamore Street
Monticello Iowa 52310
319-651-0061
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Jones County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.
Jones County Genealogical Society
PO Box 174
Anamosa, IA 52205
Website
Jones County Historical Society
13838 Edinburgh Rd
Scotch Grove, IA 52310
E-mail: IAJCHS@aol.com
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Jones County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
- Jones County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
- Jones County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
- Jones County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
- State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
- State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Jones, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jones_County,_Iowa."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Jones County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jones_County%2C_Iowa#Communities, accessed 30 September 2019.