Johnson County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Johnson County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Johnson County was named for John Johnson, a judge of the Indiana Supreme Court.[1] It is located in the central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Johnson County Courthouse
1st Floor
Franklin, IN 46131
Phone: 317-736-3708
County Website
Johnson County Health Department
460 N Morton St Suite A
Franklin, IN, 46131
Health Officer: Craig Moorman, MD
Phone Number: 317-346-4365
Fax: 317-736-5264
Health Department
County Health Department has birth, death and burial records 1882.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1830.
County Recorder has land records. [3]
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Johnson County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1882 | 1830 | 1882 | 1830 | 1825 | 1830 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
May 1849 and December 1874 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. Records that survived include marriages from 1830, “complete” court records from 1823, recorder’s entry book from 1822, and deeds and deed indexes from 1824. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Townships | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Johnson County Family Bible Records at Indiana McCaslins
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Johnson County, Indiana Biographical Sketches - USGenWeb
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Johnson County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1830 | 4,019 | — |
| 1840 | 9,352 | 132.7% |
| 1850 | 12,101 | 29.4% |
| 1860 | 14,854 | 22.8% |
| 1870 | 18,366 | 23.6% |
| 1880 | 19,537 | 6.4% |
| 1890 | 19,561 | 0.1% |
| 1900 | 20,223 | 3.4% |
| 1910 | 20,394 | 0.8% |
| 1920 | 20,739 | 1.7% |
| 1930 | 21,706 | 4.7% |
| 1940 | 22,493 | 3.6% |
| 1950 | 26,183 | 16.4% |
| 1960 | 43,704 | 66.9% |
| 1970 | 61,138 | 39.9% |
| 1980 | 77,240 | 26.3% |
| 1990 | 88,109 | 14.1% |
| 2000 | 115,209 | 30.8% |
| 2010 | 139,654 | 21.2% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Johnson County, Indiana (1890) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Residents of Johnson County, Indiana (1874) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African American
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Johnson County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Johnson County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- History of Johnson County. 1913. By Elba L. Branigin. Indiana. Indianapolis, In: B.F. Bowen & Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Johnson County Indiana: From the Earliest Time to the Present. 1888. By D. D. Banta. Chicago, Illinois : Brant & Fuller. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust (mislabeled as 'Johnston' County], Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat). Index: Every Name Index, compiled by Cathy L. O'Connor, 2007.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Historic Indiana Maps at IUPUI University Library
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
- Historic Indiana Atlases for Johnson County at University Library (IUPUI)
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Military Record Series Index at Indiana Digital Archives
- GenealogicalTrails List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883 Johnson County, Indiana
Civil War
Civil War service men from Johnson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Johnson County.
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Heavy Artillery, Companies L, and M
- 3rd Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company G
- 5th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry (90th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers), Company F
- 7th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies F, and H
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies F, and H
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies H, and I
- 12th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 13th Battery, Indiana Light Artillery
- 17th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies D, and F
- 18th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 19th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 20th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Companies G, and I
- 26th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D
- 27th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 70th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies I, and K
- 114th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, all of Companies A-D
- 132nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G
- 148th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, D, E, H, and K
- 154th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Civil War Books:
- "Johnson County And Civil War" Chapter 14 in History of Johnson County, By Elba L. Branigin. 1913. Indiana. Indianapolis, In: B.F. Bowen & Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digitial Library; Internet Archive
- "Military History" Chapter 9 in History of Johnson County Indiana: from the earliest time to the present with biographical sketches ... . By D. D. Banta. 1970. Evansville, In: Unigraphic. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive
World War I
- Gold Star Honor Roll (Source: Genealogy Trails History Group)
- 1802-1892 Indiana, Compiled Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry $
- 1919 Indiana, World War I, Enrollment Cards, 1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
World War II
- Johnson County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps NARA
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Hoosier State Chronicles
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Johnson County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798-1999 Indiana Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry $
School Records[edit | edit source]
- Alumni of Franklin High School (1874-1900) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Graduates of Greenwood High School (1877-1930) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Students and Teachers of Alva Neal High School (1929, 1936, 1938) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Students and Teachers of Franklin High School (1901, 1926) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
- Tax Books and/or Delinquent List 1843 through 1889 are housed at the Johnson County Museum of History in their Genealogy Library.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800s-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
- 1802-1892 Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry $
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry $
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Johnson County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Indianapolis Indiana Family History Center
- Martinsville Indiana Family History Center
- North Vernon Indiana Family History Center
- Indiana State Library Foundation Inc - an affiliate library.
- Johnson County Museum of History Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Shelby County Public Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Johnson County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Johnson County Public Library
401 State Street
Franklin, IN 46131
Phone: 317-738-2833
Website
Multiple branch locations
Museums[edit | edit source]
Johnson County Museum of History
135 N. Main Street
Franklin, IN 46131
Phone: 317-346-4500
Website
Facebook
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Johnson County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Johnson County Indiana Historical Society
135 North Main Street
Franklin, IN 46131
Phone: 317-739-3925
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Extensive - keyword searches suggested
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Free and Members-only. Scroll the list.
- USGenWeb
- INGenWeb
- EveryNameIndex.com for Indiana Free online genealogy indexes for county histories. Select a county.
- Johnson County, Indiana Linkpendium
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Johnson County, Indiana Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/johnson/ 3/29/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Johnson County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnson_County,_Indiana 3/29/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Johnson County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnson_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Johnson County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnson_County,_Indiana, accessed 16 December 2019.