Jasper County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Jasper County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Ridgeland
Organized: January 30, 1912[1]
Parent County(s): Beaufort, Hampton[2]
Neighboring Counties
Beaufort  • Chatham (GA)  • Effingham(GA)  • Hampton
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Jasper County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-jasper.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Jasper County is located in the south central location of the state. [3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Jasper County Courthouse
265 Russell Street
Ridgeland, SC 29936
Phone: 843-726-7710
Jasper County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken[4]

Jasper County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1912 1915 1912 1912 1912 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Jasper County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1920 9,868
1930 9,988 1.2%
1940 11,011 10.2%
1950 10,995 −0.1%
1960 12,237 11.3%
1970 11,885 −2.9%
1980 14,504 22.0%
1990 15,487 6.8%
2000 20,678 33.5%
2010 24,777 19.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Luke's Parish

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Ridgeland

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans
Gotoarrow.pngJasper County, South Carolina African Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records

  • This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification.All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
  • The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.
  • Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Jasper County with Parent Counties and Districts [9]
Date Government Office
1912-Present Jasper County
1878-1912 Hampton County
1868-1912 Beaufort County
1865-1868 Beaufort District
1769-1865 Beaufort District Records Lost
1710-1769 Charleston District
1670-1710 Proprietary Land Grants

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

The county is named after Sergeant William Jasper (c1750-1779).[10]

  • Perry, Grace Fox. Moving Finger of Jasper. unknown: unknown, 1952. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Todd, John Reynard and Francis M. Huston. Prince William's Parish and Plantations. ( Richmond, Virginia: Garrett & Massie, c1935), 265 pages. Written with the idea of tracing, as briefly and accurately as possible, the physical development and transition of the Prince William's Parish secion of South Carolina from the earliest days of settlement to the present. Book found at FHL 975.79 H2t and Other Libraries.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Hampton CountyBeaufort CountyChatham CountyEffingham CountySC JASPER.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Jasper County for European settlers included:[11]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • "Head Quarters muster roll, 1779," Carolinas Genealogical Society Bulletin, Fall 1970, Volume 7, Issue 2. Carolinas Genealogical Society Monroe, NC. FHL Collection Book 975 B2c.

Civil War

Regiments. Jasper County did not exist during the Civil War. During the Civil War, men from the area of Jasper County mostly would have served in various regiments recruited in Beaufort and Hampton Counties. Counties were called districts during the Civil War.

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War Battle was fought in Jasper County:

  • One battle was fought in what is now Jasper County at Honey Hill on November 30, 1864. For additional information, see Battles in South Carolina.
  • November 30, 1864, Honey Hill[12]
  • Map showing Civil War battles in South Carolina

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Jasper County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

  • Carolinas Genealogical Society Bulletin

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Jasper County.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Marriages - Indexes and Records

  • 1912-1950 Jasper County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. 1912-1950 [13] FHL Collection - records
  • 1912-1952 Marriage Registers (Jasper County, South Carolina), 1912-1952 [14] FHL Collection - index and records
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found insome counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths - Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Jasper County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Jasper County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Jasper County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  2. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  3. "Jasper County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jasper_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
  4. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jasper County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  6. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "NAME OF ARTICLE," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jasper_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 26 December 2019.
  9. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  10. "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
  11. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  12. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State
  13. South Carolina. Probate Court (Jasper County), Jasper County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. 1912-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001.
  14. South Carolina. Probate Court (Jasper County), Marriage Registers (Jasper County, South Carolina), 1912-1952, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2005.