Jackson County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Jackson County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Maquoketa
Organized: December 28, 1846[1]
Parent County(s): Dubuque
Neighboring Counties
Clinton  • Dubuque  • Jones  • Carroll (IL)  • Jo Daviess (IL)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Iowa, Jackson County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Iowa Jackson Map.png
Adoption
Andrew Jackson

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Jackson County was named for Andrew Jackson and it is located in eastern Iowa.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Jackson County Courthouse
201 W Platt Street
Maquoketa, IA 52060
Phone: 563-652-3181
Jackson County Iowa

Jackson County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1850 1880 1858 1838 1869 1847
* Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths January 1891. General compliance by 1924.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships
Ghost towns
  • Alma
  • Amoy
  • America
  • Bridgeport
  • Brookfield
  • Buckhorn
  • Canton
  • Carrollport
  • Centerville
  • Charleston
  • Charkstown
  • Cobb
  • Coloma
  • Copper Creek
  • Cottonville
  • Crabb
  • Crabb's Mill
  • Crabbtown
  • Deventersville
  • Duggan
  • Duke
  • Emeline
  • Fremont
  • Fulton
  • Gordon's Ferry
  • Hickory Grove
  • Higginsport
  • Hugo
  • Hurstville
  • Fairfield
  • Farmers Creek
  • Franklin
  • Iron Hill
  • East Iron Hills
  • Isabel
  • Lainsville
  • Lowell
  • Millrock
  • Mount Algor
  • Nashville
  • New Castle
  • New Rochester
  • North Maquoketa
  • Otter Creek
  • Ozark
  • Pass
  • Prairie Springs
  • Rolley
  • Silsbee
  • Smiths Ferry
  • Springfield
  • Spruce Mills
  • Sterling
  • Sullivan
  • Summer Hill
  • Sylva
  • Tetes des Morts
  • Union Center
  • Van Buren
  • Wagonersburgh
  • Waterford
  • Wickliffe


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Jackson County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.


Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Portrait and Biographical Album of Jackson County, Iowa, Containing Portraits and Biographical Sketches of Prominent and Representative Citizens of the County. 1889. Chicago, IL: Chapman Brothers Publishing. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry — index & images ($)

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Jackson County, Iowa online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 1,411
1850 7,210 411.0%
1860 18,493 156.5%
1870 22,619 22.3%
1880 23,771 5.1%
1890 22,771 −4.2%
1900 23,615 3.7%
1910 21,258 −10.0%
1920 19,931 −6.2%
1930 18,481 −7.3%
1940 19,181 3.8%
1950 18,622 −2.9%
1960 20,754 11.4%
1970 20,839 0.4%
1980 22,503 8.0%
1990 19,950 −11.3%
2000 20,296 1.7%
2010 19,848 −2.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Lutheran

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.

Online Land and Property Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Jackson County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.

  • Andrew: the Way It Was and Is, Andrew's Bicentennial. 1977. Patricia B. Cornelius & Olga Cornelius Lutz. Maquoketa, IA: Tri-States Publications. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Annals of Jackson County Iowa. Number One, Vol 1-7. 1905. Maquoketa, IA: Jackson County Historical Society. Online at: Internet Archive, HathiTrust — index & images.

  • Owen's Gazeteer and Directory of Jackson County, Iowa: Containing a Complete History. 1878. Davenport, IA: Owen Publishing Co., (reprint: Marceline, MO: Walworth). Online at: FamilySearch Catalog — images(*), Internet Archive,Google Books
  • Portrait and Biographical Album of Jackson County, Iowa, Containing Portraits and Biographical Sketches of Prominent and Representative Citizens of the County. 1889. Chicago, IL: Chapman Brothers Publishing. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry — index & images ($)


Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.

Dubuque CountyJones CountyClinton CountyJo Daviess CountyCarroll CountyIA JACKSON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Multiple Wars

Civil War

Civil War service men in Jackson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company L and M
- 5th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 9th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- 12th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 24th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A, I, and K
- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Jackson County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Jackson County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.

Maquoketa Public Library
126 S 2nd Street
Maquoketa, IA 52060
563-652-3874
E-mail: staff@maquoketa.lib.ia.us
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Jackson County Museum
1212 E. Quarry Street
Maquoketa, IA 52060
563-652-5020
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Jackson County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.

Jackson County Genealogical Chapter
PO Box 1065
Maquoketa, IA 52060
563-652-5020
E-mail: jcgeniesia@yahoo.com
Website

Jackson County Historical Society
PO Box 1245
Maquoketa, IA 52060
563-652-5020
E-mail: museum@jciahs.com
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Jackson County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
  • Jackson County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
  • Jackson County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
  • Jackson County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
  • State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
  • State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
  • The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 11 August 2021.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Jackson, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jackson_County,_Iowa."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 11 August 2021.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Jackson County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jackson_County,_Iowa, accessed 28 September 2019.