Isle of Wight County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Isle of Wight County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Isle of Wight
Organized: 1634[1]
Parent County(s): Original
Neighboring Counties
Franklin (Independent City)  • James City  • Newport News (Independent City)  • Southampton  • Suffolk (Independent City)  • Surry
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaIsleofWightCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Isle of Wight County Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Isle of Wight County is located in the eastern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named after the island in the English channel of the same name.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Isle of Wight County Courthouse
17000 Josiah Parker Circle
PO Box 122
Isle of Wight, VA 23397
Phone: 757-365-6244
Isle of Wight County Website

Isle of Wight County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1772 1853 1746 1636 1636 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Many pre-Revolutionary War loose papers prior to 1783 are missing, but bound volumes of deeds, orders, and wills still exist.[4]
  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

1634

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

The county is named after the Isle of Wight, England Genealogy, off the south coast of England. Many colonial residents moved down into North Carolina in the 1600s and 1700s.

Old Isle of Wight County Courthouse
17122 Monument Circle
Isle of Wight, VA 23397
Phone: 757-365-6233[8]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Isle of Wight County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 9,028
1800 9,342 3.5%
1810 9,186 −1.7%
1820 10,139 10.4%
1830 10,517 3.7%
1840 9,972 −5.2%
1850 9,353 −6.2%
1860 9,977 6.7%
1870 8,320 −16.6%
1880 10,572 27.1%
1890 11,313 7.0%
1900 13,102 15.8%
1910 14,929 13.9%
1920 14,433 −3.3%
1930 13,409 −7.1%
1940 13,381 −0.2%
1950 14,906 11.4%
1960 17,164 15.1%
1970 18,285 6.5%
1980 21,603 18.1%
1990 25,503 18.1%
2000 29,728 16.6%
2010 35,270 18.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Moore's Swamp (1791). Minute books begin in 1791: FHL Film 833056 Item 2.
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Isle of Wight County fell within the bounds of the Portsmouth Association.

Church of England
go to See also Lower Parish
go to See also Newport Parish
go to See also Nottoway Parish
go to See also Upper Parish
go to See also Warrosquyoake Parish

  • Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Isle of Wight County is available online at: Internet Archive.[9]
  • Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library. [Includes Isle of Wight County.]

Puritans

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Pagan Creek Monthly Meeting, near Smithfield, Va. (1673-1790) aka Levy Neck.[10] Minutes and papers of denial (1738-1763) have been published: FHL Book 975.5 K2qu.[11] Hinshaw also published the early records: FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.[12]
  • Terrasco Neck Monthly Meeting (1672-1772)[10]
  • Western Branch Monthly Meeting (1672-1844) aka Lower Virginia Monthly Meeting.[10] Early records (1673-1756) have been published: FHL Film 850091 Item 9.

Friends from Isle of Wight County, Virginia also attended the Chuckatuck Monthly Meeting in Nansemond County, Virginia and the Blackwater Monthly Meeting in Surry County, Virginia.[13]

  • Boddie, John Bennett. Seventeenth Century Isle of Wight County, Virginia: A History of the County of Isle of Wight, Virginia, During the Seventeenth Century, Including Abstracts of the County Records. Chicago: Chicago Law Print. Co., 1938. Available at FHL [3 copies]; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and FamilySearch Digital Library. [Includes a chapter on Quakers.]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Until 1746, the only court order book or loose judgment paper records that exist are one order book dated 1693-1695, which has been transcribed and indexed at least twice. From 1696 until 1745 neither record type is extant. Starting in 1746, several, but not all, order books exist, but no loose papers, until 1783, when there is another void of both. A full run of order books starts in 1795. Loose court papers survive starting in 1799 and run until 1807. Most are available on Family Search; all are on microfilm at the Virginia Library.

  • 1746-1866 Court Order Books (Family Search) - free. [Note in the 1746-52 order book the monthly courts are not always in date order.]
  • 1746-1919 - Court Papers-Miscellaneous (FamilySearch) - free - an index and link by category of the court records available so far.
  • 1773-1879 - Court Fee Books vols. 1-36 (FamilySearch) - free. This collection of fee books is missing years 1779-1790, 1800-1819, 1841 & 1869. There is a separate name index for 1780-1781, even though the book itself is missing.

Chancery

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Warwicksquick and Isle of Wight County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.
  • Ljungstedt, Milnor. "Items from Southern Records" [Showing Family and Trade Connections with Northern Colonies and the Home Countries], The American Genealogist, Vol. 15 (1938):95-104. Online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [Isle of Wight Co., VA: Day.]
  • Mahler, Leslie. "American Colonists Mentioned in London Wills," The Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 2 (Fall 2000):201-204. [Hutchinson family of 'Wacasquoyk' (Warwick Squeak); Wiseman family of 'Warwicksqueake' and Isle of Wight Co., VA.]

Early migration routes to and from Isle of Wight County for European settlers included:[14]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Native Americans

  • Boddie, John Bennett. Seventeenth Century Isle of Wight County, Virginia: A History of the County of Isle of Wight, Virginia, During the Seventeenth Century, Including Abstracts of the County Records. Chicago: Chicago Law Print. Co., 1938. Available at FHL [3 copies]; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and FamilySearch Digital Library. [Includes a chapter on local Native Americans.]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Boddie, John Bennett. Seventeenth Century Isle of Wight County, Virginia: A History of the County of Isle of Wight, Virginia, During the Seventeenth Century, Including Abstracts of the County Records. Chicago: Chicago Law Print. Co., 1938. FHL [3 copies]; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and FamilySearch Digital Library. [Includes chapters on the following families: Bennett, Boddie, Brewer, Bridger, Davis, Exum, Godwin, Lawrence, Newman, and Pitt.]
  • Boddie, John Bennett. Southside Virginia Families. 2 vols. 1955-1956; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1976. FHL Book 975.5 D2bs 1976-1996 v. 1-v. 2.
  • Brayton, John Anderson. Order of First Families of North Carolina Ancestor Biographies Vol. 1. Memphis, Tenn., 2011. FHL Book 975.6 D3bj v. 1.
  • Chapman, Blanche Adams and Isle of Wight County Library (Virginia). Smithfield Branch. Chapman Collection of Virginia Family Names, Smithfield Branch, Isle of Wight County Library, 1635-1814. MSS., Blanche Adams Chapman Collection, Smithfield Branch, Isle of Wight County Library, at Smithfield, Virginia; also available at FHL.
  • Chapman, Blanche Adams. "Isle of Wight Families," William and Mary Quarterly, Series 2, Vol. 10 (1930):254-260. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Gwaltney, Anne W. Personal History Departments of Surry and Isle of Wight Counties, Virginia from Hardesty's Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia, Special Virginia Edition, c. 1884. [Virginia? s.n., 1884?]. Available at FHL.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Deeds

  • Deeds from 1688 are extant, except for 1727 & 1728, along with a few dating to 1628. Microfilm of the regular deed books 1688-1900 is at Family Search. Early deeds from 1647 to 1782, except for 1736-1741, were abstracted by William Lindsay Hopkins in 3 volumes The 1736-1741 deeds were abstracted by T.L.C. Genealogy. All 17th century deeds were transcribed in full by John Anderson Brayton in several volumes. Deeds and Wills from the earliest days were intermixed in the same court record books in Isle of Wight.
  • Isle of Wight County, Virginia Deeds (FamilySearch) - free. With a caveat that additional images may be added to this digital collection, in 2021 it includes in large part an assortment of loose deeds. Whether these deeds were recorded in the regular deed books is not known, but presumably most are. These land and property records also contain digital copies of regular deed books (above) vols. 2, 8, 10, 11, & 79. This collection contains information from 1742 to as late as 1932.

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

  • Boddie, John Bennett. Seventeenth Century Isle of Wight County, Virginia: A History of the County of Isle of Wight, Virginia, During the Seventeenth Century, Including Abstracts of the County Records. Chicago: Chicago Law Print. Co., 1938. Available at FHL [3 copies]; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and FamilySearch Digital Library. [Includes abstracts of some early will & deed books.]
  • Hudgins. 393 patents dated 1635-1797 in what is now Isle of Wight County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2003. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
  • Nugent, Nell Marion. Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of Virginia Land Patents and Grants 1623-1666. Vol. I (1934; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1991). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Isle of Wight County. N.B. If Ancestry's search engine fails, try checking the printed index at the end of the book.] Nugent's abstracts of the records of the colonial land office cover the years from 1623 to 1666 (Volume 1), from 1666 to 1695 (Volume 2), and from 1695 to 1732 (Volume 3). Dennis Ray Hudgins, in collaboration with The Virginia Genealogical Society, has edited additional volumes under the same title which brings the series to 1774 and the end of the forty-two volume colonial patent book series.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Morrison, E. M. Isle of Wight County: 1608-1907. Norfolk, Va.?: unknown, 1907. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Boddie, John Bennett. Seventeenth Century Isle of Wight County, Virginia: A History of the County of Isle of Wight, Virginia, During the Seventeenth Century, Including Abstracts of the County Records. Chicago: Chicago Law Print. Co., 1938. Available at FHL [3 copies]; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and FamilySearch Digital Library.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

  • Campbell, Albert H, Jeremy Francis Gilmer, Louisa Porter Minis, and Confederate States Of America. Army. Department Of Northern Virginia. Chief Engineer'S Office. Map of Isle of Wight and part of Nansemond. [Virgina: s.n, 1864] Map. Available at Library of Congress.
Franklin (Independent City)Suffolk (Independent City)Southampton CountySurry CountyVA ISLE OF WIGHT.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Boddie, John Bennett. Seventeenth Century Isle of Wight County, Virginia: A History of the County of Isle of Wight, Virginia, During the Seventeenth Century, Including Abstracts of the County Records. Chicago: Chicago Law Print. Co., 1938. Available at FHL [3 copies]; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and FamilySearch Digital Library. [Includes a chapter on Isle of Wight and Nansemond settlers who emigrated to North Carolina. Another chapter is titled "Richard Bennett and the Puritan exodus to Nansemond and Maryland."]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Isle of Wight County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boddie, John Bennett. Seventeenth Century Isle of Wight County, Virginia: A History of the County of Isle of Wight, Virginia, During the Seventeenth Century, Including Abstracts of the County Records. Chicago: Chicago Law Print. Co., 1938. Available at FHL [3 copies]; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and FamilySearch Digital Library. [Includes chapter on Bacon's Rebellion.]
  • Tyler, Lyon G. "Isle of Wight County: Papers Relating to Bacon's Rebellion," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 4, No. 2 (Oct. 1895):111-115. Digital version at JSTOR - free.
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.


Revolutionary War

  • McIlwaine, H.R. Proceedings of the Committees of Safety of Cumberland and Isle of Wight Counties, Virginia, 1775-1776. Richmond: D. Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing, 1919. Available at FHL; digital versions at Ancestry ($), FamilySearch Digital Library, and Google Books.
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Isle of Wight County on page 131.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.

Regiments. Service men in Isle of Wight County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Isle of Wight County supplied soldiers for the:

- 4th Virginia Regiment
- 15th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812
Isle of Wight County men served in the 29th Regiment.[15]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Isle of Wight County, p. 86. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]


Civil War
Civil War service men in Isle of Wight County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (James River Artillery).[16]
- 19th Battalion, Virginia Heavy Artillery (Atkinson's) (Confederate). Company A (Smithfield Light Artillery Blues or Old Dominion Artillery).[17]


World War II

  • United States. Selective Service System. Draft Registrations, 1942-1946, from Local Draft Board No. 1 of Isle of Wight County, Virginia. Original manuscripts at the Smithfield Branch of the Isle of Wight Library in Smithfield, Virginia; also available at FHL.
  • 1798-1958 U.S. Marine Corps Muster Rolls, 1798-1958 at Ancestry ($)

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers[edit | edit source]

  • Family Bible of the Scott, Brock, and Dornin Family of Isle of Wight County, Virginia. MSS. Available at FHL.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

  • 1628-1800 - A free index to county wills is available at the Library of Virginia. [However, it contains only the name of the deceased and a source & date.]
  • 1634-1951 - Probate Records at FamilySearch; images only.
  • 1647-1800 - Chapman, Blanche Adams. Wills and Administrations of Isle of Wight County, Virginia, 1647-1800. 1938; reprint, Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2007. Original edition at FHL US/CAN Fiche 6101844; 1995 reprint at FHL US/CAN Book 975.554 P28c 1995; digital versions at Family Search, Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($). Deeds and Wills from the earliest days were intermixed in the same court record books in Isle of Wight. ["The original records on file in Isle of Wight County and abstracted in this work are: Wills and Administrations Book A (1641-1650); Will and Deed Books 1 and 2 (1658-1659, 1666-1719); Will Books 3-11 (1726-1800); Deed Book I (1691-1695); Administrations and Probates (1666-1701); and The Great Book (1719-1729). In addition to the names of the testators and legatees, the entries provide the names of executors, securities, and witnesses and frequently include assignments of property."][18] [However, Chapman did not include all material that contained names, viz., numerous estate accounts.]
  • 1662-1686 - Boddie, John Bennett. Seventeenth Century Isle of Wight County, Virginia: A History of the County of Isle of Wight, Virginia, During the Seventeenth Century, Including Abstracts of the County Records. Chicago: Chicago Law Print. Co., 1938. Available at FHL [3 copies]; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and FamilySearch Digital Library. [Includes chapter on wills 1662-1686 in Will & Deed Book I and 4 wills in Deed Book I.]
  • Guardian Records, 1766-1879, vols. 1-5, A-E (FamilySearch) - free.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

  • Wills and Estates 1636-1767; 1661-1719 (also deeds, estates, inventories); 1726-1734; 1733-1745; 1745-1752. Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • Images of Wills, Inventories, Estates - 1636-1767; 1661-1719 (also includes deeds); 1715-1726; 1726-1734; 1733-1745; 1745-1752; 1794-1803; 1804-1808 Virginia Pioneers ($)

London Courts

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Warwicksquick and Isle of Wight County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

Online Probate Links

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Online Isle of Wight County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Rent Roll 1704, 1704 - 1704, 1704 - - -
Assessors Book 1778, 1778 - - - - -
Personal Property - - - - 1782 -
Personal Property 1783 - - - 1783 -
Personal Property - - - - 1784 -
Personal Property - - - - 1785 -
Personal Property - - - - 1786 -
Personal Property - - - - 1787 -
Personal Property - - - - 1788 -
Personal Property - - - - 1789 -
Personal Property 1790 - - 1790 1790 -
Personal Property - - - - 1791 -
Personal Property - - - - 1792 -
Personal Property - - - - 1793 -
Personal Property - - - - 1794 -
Personal Property - - - - 1795 -
Personal Property - - - - 1796 -
Personal Property - - - - 1797 -
Personal Property - - - - 1798 -
Personal Property 1799 - - 1799 1799 -
Personal Property - - 1800 1|2|3 - 1800 -
Personal Property - - - - 1801-1850 -
Land - - - 1824-1901 - -

Bibliography

  • 1704 "Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR ($). [Isle of Wight County appears in 29:337-343.]
  • [1704] Boddie, John Bennett. Seventeenth Century Isle of Wight County, Virginia: A History of the County of Isle of Wight, Virginia, During the Seventeenth Century, Including Abstracts of the County Records. Chicago: Chicago Law Print. Co., 1938. Available at FHL [3 copies]; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and FamilySearch Digital Library. [Includes 1704 quit rents.]
  • 1798-1958 U.S. Marine Corps Muster Rolls, 1798-1958 at Ancestry ($)
  • 1714 Quit Rent Roll, 1714, Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 87, No. 2 (Apr. 1979). Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1778 Assessors Book, 1778, William and Mary Quarterly Historical Magazine, Vol. 25, No. 3 (Jan. 1917). Digital version at JSTOR - free.
  • 1782-1833 Heinegg, Paul. "Isle of Wight County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1833," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Isle of Wight County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • 1790, 1799 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1799 Personal Property Tax Lists of Isle of Wight County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 32, No. 4 (Oct. 1988); Vol. 33, No. 1 (Jan. 1989); Vol. 33, No. 2 (Apr. 1989). Available at FHL.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Isle of Wight County is included in Vol. 3.]
  • 1634-1951 Virginia, Isle of Wight County Records, 1634-1951 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Images only

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Isle of Wight County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Isle of Wight County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Isle of Wight County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://www.co.isle-of-wight.va.us/about-us/
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 5, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  5. Newberry
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Isle of Wight_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isle_of_Wight_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 20 January 2020.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  11. Martha A. Putnam, Quaker Records of Southeast Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 K2qu.
  12. William Wade Hinshaw, Thomas W. Marshall and John Cox, Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy (Ann Arbor, Mich.: Edwards Bros., 1950). Vol. 6. FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.
  13. Martha A. Putnam, Quaker Records of Southeast Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 K2qu.
  14. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  15. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 109. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  16. Lee A. Wallace, 3rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 22.
  17. Jeffrey C. Weaver, 10th and 19th Battalions of Heavy Artillery (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 124.
  18. Wills and Administrations of Isle of Wight County, Virginia, 1647-1800, Ancestry.com, http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=49403.