Alabama, United States Genealogy

United States

Alabama

Alabama Wiki Topics

Beginning Research

Guided Research Research Strategies Record Finder

Record Types

Adoption Bible Records Biography Cemeteries Census Church Records Colonial Records Correctional Institutions Court Records Directories Divorce Records Emigration & Immigration Genealogies Land & Property Military Records Naturalization & Citizenship Newspapers Obituaries Occupation & Business Records Online Genealogy Records Probate Records Taxation Vital Records Voter Records

Alabama Background

Biography Further Reading Gazetteers History Maps Migration Periodicals

Cultural Groups

African Americans Indigenous People Cultural groups Swedish Americans

Local Research Resources

Archives & Libraries Societies Local Family History Center

Guide to Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This article is about the U.S. state. For other uses, see Alabama (disambiguation).

Alabama Information

Alabama became the twenty-second state to be admitted to the United States on December 14, 1819. Before it came into the Union it was in the Alabama Territory. Alabama is located in the southeast region of the United States. Alabama is divided into 67 counties. The state capital is Montgomery.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Alabama Research Links to articles on getting started with Alabama research. Guided Research Step-by-Step Alabama Research, 1880-Present How to Find Birth Records How to Find Marriage Records How to Find Death Records Research Strategies

Alabama Research Tools Links to articles and websites that assist in Alabama research. Alabama Record Finder Boundary Changes for Alabama Counties Alabama Archives and Libraries ALGenWeb Geographical Names Information System - U.S. gazetteer of places, cemeteries and post offices in Alabama.

Alabama Online Genealogy Records

Ask the FamilySearch Community

Alabama Clickable Map

Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.

Counties

Autauga Baldwin Barbour Bibb Blount Bullock Butler Calhoun Chambers Cherokee Chilton Choctaw Clarke Clay Cleburne Coffee Colbert Conecuh Coosa Covington Crenshaw Cullman Dale Dallas DeKalb Elmore Escambia Etowah Fayette Franklin Geneva Greene Hale Henry Houston Jackson Jefferson Lamar Lauderdale Lawrence Lee Limestone Lowndes Macon Madison Marengo Marion Marshall Mobile Monroe Montgomery Morgan Perry Pickens Pike Randolph Russell Shelby St. Clair Sumter Talladega Tallapoosa Tuscaloosa Walker Washington Wilcox Winston

Extinct or Renamed Counties: Baine | Baker | Benton | Cahawba | Cotaco | Decatur | Hancock | Jones | Sanford Alabama Maps Collection: Alabama Department of Archives and History

Alabama Migration Routes

Alabama-Chickasaw Trail Alabama, Choctaw and Natchez Trail Alabama and Mobile Road Chattanooga-Willstown Road Coosa-Tugaloo Indian Warpath Fall Line Road (or Southern Road) Federal Horse Path Gaine's Trace Georgia Road Great Indian Warpath Great South Trail Jackson's Military Road Lower Creek Trading Path Macon and Montgomery Trail Memphis, Pontotoc and Mobile Trail Middle Creek Trading Path Mobile and Natchez Trail Natchez-Lower Creeks Trail Natchez Trace (or Chickasaw Trail) Okfuskee Trail Tallapoosa-Birmingham Road Upper Creeks-Pensacola Trail

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

• Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
• Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
• Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
• Family History Center locator map

Additional Resources

• Cyndi's List - Alabama genealogy sites on the internet
• Alabama Genealogy Trails - Collection of transcribed data for the state of Alabama
• Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Alabama
• Alabama Genealogy History Guide – Genealogy Guide for Alabama
• Alabama State Archives - Major record collections of Alabama
• The Ancestor Hunt - Resources for Alabama genealogy research
• Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Alabama
• Alabama Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out-of-date links
• Every Name Index
• The USGenWeb Archives Project-Alabama
• Alabama Department of Archives and History
• LaBrenda Garrett-Nelson, Research in Alabama Falls Church, Virginia : National Genealogical Society, 2021 FamilySearch Catalog 976.1 D27ngs