Guide to Iceland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Iceland Research Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Iceland is an island between the North Atlantic and Arctic oceans settled by Vikings in 874. It was governed by Denmark from 1381 to 1944, when it gained full independence as a Republic. The official language is Icelandic.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Iceland Research
Links to articles on getting started with Iceland research.
Iceland Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Iceland research.
Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Iceland[edit | edit source]
- Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level. To search these records, you must know the town where your ancestors lived.
- If you do not know your ancestors' town, first search census records, which are indexed nationally: The National Archives Census Database 1703, 1816-1920.
- For additional sources which could name your ancestors' town of origin, follow the advice in the Wiki article, Iceland Finding Town of Origin, to search a variety of records that might provide that information.
Iceland Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Iceland.
Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Iceland Parish List: If you know the name of the parish where your ancestors lived, consult this alphabetical clickable parish list to find genealogy links and helps for that parish.
- It is possible the place name you have is a farm name and does not appear in the parish list.
Counties (singular:sýsla; plural:sýslur)[edit | edit source]
If you know the county and parish where your ancestors lived, you can also reach the parish genealogy links and helps via the county pages. These county pages will also help identify close-by parishes in the event that you ancestors moved.
More Iceland Research Tools[edit | edit source]
Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in Iceland.
- The National Archives Census Database
- Icelandic Roots Genealogy Links
- Íslenski Ættfræðivefurinn - Iceland GenWeb
- Iceland GenWeb
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.