Hunterdon County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hunterdon County, New Jersey ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Flemington
Organized: 11 Mar 1714
Parent County(s): Burlington
Neighboring Counties
Bucks (PA)  • Mercer  • Morris  • Somerset  • Warren
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Jersey, Hunterdon County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nj-hunterdon.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Hunterdon County is located in the northwestern region of the state. It was created in 1714. Flemington is the county seat. The county was named for Robert Hunter a British military officer, colonial governor of New York and New Jersey from 1710 to 1720, and governor of Jamaica from 1727 to 1734. [1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hunterdon County Courthouse
65 Park Avenue
Flemington, NJ 08822
Phone: 908-824-9750
Hunterdon County Website

County Clerk has marriage records 1795-1875.
Court recorder from 1714 and land records from 1716.
Clerk Surrogate Court has probate records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce records.[2]

Hunterdon County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1901 1795 1901 1714 1766 1704 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1 May 1848. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Boroughs
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1739, part formed into Morris County
  • 1838, part formed into Mercer County with more being added in 1839
  • 1844, Hopewell twp. returned from Mercer County and Tewksbury twp. to Somerset County
  • 1845, Hopewell twp. back to Mercer County and Tewksbury twp. from Somerset County
  • 1965, Somerset county boundary clarified.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Hunterdon County, New Jersey online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: New Jersey Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 20,153
1800 21,261 5.5%
1810 24,556 15.5%
1820 28,604 16.5%
1830 31,060 8.6%
1840 24,789 −20.2%
1850 28,990 16.9%
1860 33,654 16.1%
1870 36,963 9.8%
1880 38,570 4.3%
1890 35,355 −8.3%
1900 34,507 −2.4%
1910 33,569 −2.7%
1920 32,885 −2.0%
1930 34,728 5.6%
1940 36,766 5.9%
1950 42,736 16.2%
1960 54,107 26.6%
1970 69,718 28.9%
1980 87,361 25.3%
1990 107,776 23.4%
2000 121,989 13.2%
2010 128,349 5.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.

  • 1675-1970 New Jersey, Church Records, 1675-1970 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
  • 1771-1800 Fisher, Ben van D. "Records of the Corporation of Zion in New Germantown in West Jersey - Births and Baptisms," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Baptisms 1771-1773: Vol. 31, No. 2 (Apr. 1900):107-110; Baptisms 1770s-1778: Vol. 31, No. 3 (Jul. 1900):139-142; Baptisms 1778-1780: Vol. 31, No. 4 (Oct. 1900):232-235; Baptisms 1780-1782: Vol. 32, No. 1 (Jan. 1901):36-39; Baptisms 1782-1783: Vol. 32, No. 2 (Apr. 1901):97-100; Baptisms 1783-1785: Vol. 32, No. 3 (Jul. 1901):138-141; Baptisms 1785: Vol. 32, No. 4 (Oct. 1901):200-203; Baptisms 1786-1787: Vol. 33, No. 1 (Jan. 1902):27-31; Baptisms 1787-1790: Vol. 33, No. 2 (Apr. 1902):Baptisms 1790-1791: Vol. 33, No. 3 (Jul. 1902):141-144; Baptisms 220-222: Vol. 33, No. 4 (Oct. 1904):220-222; Vol. 33 222; Baptisms 1793-1794: Vol. 34, No. 1 (Jan. 1903):56-59; Baptisms 1794-1796: Vol. 34, No. 2 (Apr. 1903):100-102; Baptisms 1796-1798: Vol. 34, No. 3 (Jul. 1903):197-200; Baptisms 1798-1800: Vol. 34, No. 4 (Oct. 1903):248-250. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 31-34. Internet Archive has digitized Vol. 32 and Vol. 34, but not Vol. 31 or Vol. 33.[7]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

  • 1804-1835, Hunterdon County, Birth Certificates of Children of Slaves, 1804-1835 at New Jersey State Archives
  • Slave Manumissions On-line
    This series includes original manumission papers filed by Hunterdon County slaveowners (with overseers of the poor and justices of the peace) as early as 1788. The documents are among those originally copied into two manumission/slave birth books now (1993) held by the Hunterdon County Historical Society in Flemington. Abstracts of the recorded manumissions were published in Some Records of Old Hunterdon County, 1701-1838 by Phyllis B. D'Autrechy (Trenton: 1979), pp. 147-157, 173-196, 201-204. Well over 500 acts of manumission during the period 1787-1856 are recorded in the Hunterdon County manumission books, while original papers for only 56 are included here.

This series is arranged chronologically. The items have been listed using the following format:
• name of slave owner:
• name of slave (age if recorded),
• other identifying information if included,
• location,
• date [remarks].

To aid in research, three name indexes have been added following the contents list.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records
Early Deeds 1716-1730 at FamilySearch film#818213 Item 1

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Your relatives may be included in biographies, in church, school and government history, or in military events and lists. For more information, see New Jersey History and scroll to Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Morris CountySomerset CountyMercer CountyWarren CountyBucks CountyNJ HUNTERDON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Hunterdon County for settlers included:[8]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • Index to the Hunterdon Gazette prepared by William H. Hartman. The online index has over 25,000 entries covering the years 1825-1866. "The Hunterdon Gazette and Farmer's Weekly Advertiser, was first published at Flemington, New Jersey, on March 24, 1825. With Issue No. 18 , July 21, 1825, the name was changed to ‘Hunterdon Gazette and Farmer's Advertiser’. The name was changed to ‘Hunterdon Gazette’ on June 3, 1829 and continued with this heading until July 1866 when it was purchased by the Hunterdon Democrat. This newspaper lasted about a year when it merged with the present day Hunterdon County Democrat."
  • Extracts of the Hunterdon County Democrat from 1838 to 1888 (currently) and beyond in the future at this website. Visit the site, a website for the Sutton Family of New Jersey, for details. The maintainer of the site also offers to make some additional transcriptions upon request. From the website: "The Hunterdon Democrat was formed September 5, 1838 at Flemington, New Jersey. In 1847, the name was changed to the Hunterdon County Democrat which title still is being used (1975). The initial annual subscription rate for those who received their papers by private post was ($)2.00."

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas and may have earlier records. In 1852, most of those records were transferred to the Hunterdon County Probate Court. For more complete information and for online and other resources, see New Jersey Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Hunterdon County Historical Society
114 Main St
Flemington, NJ 08822
Telephone: 908-782-1091
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Hunterdon County, New Jersey" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hunterdon_County,_New_Jersey accessed 29 August 2018.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hunterdon County, New Jersey page 464, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hunterdon County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 464. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Hunterdon County, New Jersey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hunterdon_County, New Jersey#Communities accessed 8 March 2020.
  7. WeRelate contributors, "Source:New York Genealogical and Biographical Record (New York Genealogical and Biographical Society)," in WeRelate, http://www.werelate.org/wiki/Source:New_York_Genealogical_and_Biographical_Record_%28New_York_Genealogical_and_Biographical_Society%29, accessed 10 February 2012.
  8. Handybook, 847-61.