Hudson County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hudson County, New Jersey ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Jersey City
Organized: 22 Feb 1840
Parent County(s): Bergen
Neighboring Counties
Bergen  • Essex  • Kings (NY)  • New York (NY)  • Richmond (NY)  • Union
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Jersey, Hudson County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nj-hudson.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Hudson County is located in the northeastern region of the state. It was created in 1840. Jersey City is the county seat. The county was named for Henry Hudson.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hudson County Courthouse
257 Cornelison Avenue
Jersey City, NJ 07302
Phone: 201-369-3470
Hudson County Courthouse

Register of Deeds has land records.
Clerk Surrogate Court has probate records. [2]

Hudson County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1901 1901 1901 1840 1840 1804 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1 May 1848. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Boroughs
Towns
Suburbs
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

At the time of European contact in the 17th century, Hudson County was the territory the Lenape or Lenni-Lenape, namely the bands (or family groups) known as the Hackensack, the Tappan, the Raritan, and the Manhattan. They were a seasonally migrational people who practiced small-scale agriculture (companion planting) augmented by hunting and gathering which likely, given the topography of the area, included much (shell)fishing and trapping. These groups had early and frequent contact with the by Europeans, with whom they engaged in trade. Their Algonquian language can still be inferred in many local place names such as Communipaw, Harsimus, Hackensack, Hoboken, Weehawken, Secaucus, and Pamrapo. Henry Hudson, for whom the county and river on which it sits is named, established a claim for the area in 1609 when anchoring his ship the Halve Maen (Half Moon) at Harsimus Cove and Weehawken Cove. The west bank of the North River (as it was called) and the cliffs, hills, and marshlands abutting and beyond it, were settled by Europeans (Dutch, Flemish, Walloon, Huguenot) from the Lowlands around the same time as New Amsterdam.

  • 1852 part of Harrison twp. returned to Bergen County as Union twp.
  • 1892 water boundary clarified.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Some occupations include the glazing industry. Glazing involved producing and installing windows.The practice involved working with various types of glass; the practice includes cutting, coloring, and heating glass. The glazing industry is heavily involved with architecture. Individuals who worked in the glazing practice were called glaziers, and they would work as apprentices and would join a union in order to learn the trade.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Hudson County, New Jersey online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: New Jersey Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 9,483
1850 21,822 130.1%
1860 62,717 187.4%
1870 129,067 105.8%
1880 187,944 45.6%
1890 275,126 46.4%
1900 386,048 40.3%
1910 537,231 39.2%
1920 629,154 17.1%
1930 690,730 9.8%
1940 652,040 −5.6%
1950 647,437 −0.7%
1960 610,734 −5.7%
1970 607,839 −0.5%
1980 556,972 −8.4%
1990 553,099 −0.7%
2000 608,975 10.1%
2010 634,266 4.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
    • Hoboken
    • Hoboken Dist

Lutheran
St. Olav Lutheran Church, Weehawken

Trinity Lutheran Church, Jersey City

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Your relatives may be included in biographies, in church, school and government history, or in military events and lists. For more information, see New Jersey History and scroll to Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Bergen CountyEssex CountyUnion CountyRichmond (Staten Island) CountyBrooklyn (previously Kings County)Manhattan Borough (previously New York County)New YorkNJ HUDSON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiment. Civil War service men in Hudson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county.

- 88th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company G
- 102nd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company K

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • Bayonne Herald - full-text of more than 1800 issues spanning 1869-1915 freely available via Google Newspaper Archive

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas and may have earlier records. In 1852, most of those records were transferred to the Hudson County Probate Court. For more complete information and for online and other resources, see New Jersey Probate Records.

Obtaining Copies of County Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Afro-American Historical and Cultural Society MuseumWebsite

Ellis Island Immigration MuseumWebsite

Hoboken Historical MuseumWebsite

Societies[edit | edit source]

Hudson County Genealogical Society
135 Irving St.
Jersey City 07307
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Hudson County, New Jersey" in Wikipedia : the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hudson_County,_New_Jersey accessed 29 August 2018.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hudson County, New Jersey page 464, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hudson County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Hudson County, New Jersey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hudson_County, New Jersey#Communities accessed 10 March 2020.