Hood River County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Hood River County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Hood River County, Oregon | |
| Map | |
 Location in the state of Oregon, United States Genealogy | |
 Location of Oregon in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | June 23, 1908 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Hood River |
| Courthouse | |
 | |
| Address | Hood River County Courthouse 309 State Street Hood River, Or 97031-2037 Hood River County Website |
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Hood River, a tributary of the Columbia River. The County is located in the north central area of the state. [1]
Hood River County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1907 | 1908 | 1907 | 1908 | 1895 | 1908 | 1845 |
County Courthouse
[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate,
and court records from 1908 and land records
from 1895.[3]
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Hood River County Court House as of July 2009.
Hood River County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).
- Record Loss:
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Named for Hood River, a tributary of Columbia River.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
23 June 1908: Created from Wasco County. [4]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
The following are locations in the county:[5]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
| Census-designated places | ||
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Clackamas | Multnomah | Wasco | Washington counties: Klickitat | Skamania
Resources[edit | edit source]
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Oregon State Archives, Genealogical Information Locator
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| Tombstone Transcriptions Online | Tombstone Transcriptions in Print | List of Cemeteries in the county |
| Findagrave.com | Family History Library | Findagrave.com |
| ORGenWeb | WorldCat | Billion Graves |
| ORGenWeb Archives | FamilySearch Places | |
| Tombstone Project | ||
| ORInterment | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| See Oregon Cemeteries for more information. | ||
- Hood River County Cemeteries, Columbia Gorge Genealogy Society
- Soldiers of 1861-1865 buried in Idlewilde Cemetery, Hood River, Oregon, by Jean Williams Koops and Patricia F. Combs
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1910 | 8,016 | — |
| 1920 | 8,315 | 3.7% |
| 1930 | 8,938 | 7.5% |
| 1940 | 11,580 | 29.6% |
| 1950 | 12,740 | 10.0% |
| 1960 | 13,395 | 5.1% |
| 1970 | 13,187 | −1.6% |
| 1980 | 15,835 | 20.1% |
| 1990 | 16,903 | 6.7% |
| 2000 | 20,411 | 20.8% |
| 2010 | 22,346 | 9.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Japanese Population in Oregon - October 1, 1928: https://digital.osl.state.or.us/islandora/object/osl:80728
- Hood River School Census 1933, Hood River County School District, transcribed by Jeffrey W. Bryant
- Hood River School Census 1940, Hood River County School District, transcribed by Jeffrey W. Bryant
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
- Rural Area Only
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- Telephone Directory - 1973 - Hood River - Odell - Dee - Parkdale, Oregon
- 1905 Hood River Telephone Directory
- Directory, Oregon-Washington Telephone Company, Hood River, Oregon January 1st, 1919, Reprinted by Columbia Gorge Genealogical Society
Ethnic Groups[edit | edit source]
- Japanese-Americans of the Mid-Columbia Area and Their Relatives, Roy Higashi
- National Archives: Japanese American Internment Files
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
History[edit | edit source]
- Dragonville Sketches - Hood River High School, A Picture History, by John Lamphiear
- History of Early Pioneer Families of Hood River, Oregon, compiled by Mrs. Della M. Coon
- History of Hood River County, Oregon 1852 - 1982, Hood River County Historical Society
- History of Hood River County, Oregon 1852 - 1987, Hood River County Historical Society
- History of Oregon, Carey, Charles Henry, Chicago: Pioneer Historical Pub. Co., 1922.
- History of the Columbia River Valley, from The Dalles to the Sea, by Fred Lockley
- History of Wasco County, Oregon, McNeal, William H., The Dalles, Ore.: unknown, 1954?
- An Illustrated History of Central Oregon, embracing Wasco, Sherman, Gilliam, Wheeler, Crook, Lake and Klamath Counties, Western Historical Publishing Company, Spokane, Washington, 1905
- Portland, Oregon, its history and builders, Chicago:Gaston, Joseph, S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1911.
- Portrait and biographical record of Portland and vicinity, Oregon, Chicago: Chapman Pub. Co., 1903.
- Hood River Area History from selected newspaper articles, transcribed by Jeffrey L. Elmer
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
for more resources
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Hood River County, Oregon Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
- Columbia River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[6]
- Barlow Road 1846 from The Dalles to Oregon City
Military[edit | edit source]
- National Archives: Combat Area Casualties Current File, 6/8/1956 - 1/21/1998
- Honor Roll of Oregon Grand Army of the Republic, 1881-1935, Compiled by Jane Myers, Cottage Grove Genealogical Society
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 - Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
- WWI Civilian Draft Registrations - Ancestry.com
- World War I Draft Registration Cards, FHL US/CAN Film 1852057
World War II[edit | edit source]
- World War II Enlistment Records from NARA, Residence County: Hood River, Oregon
Korean War[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Hood River Glacier, original copies at the Hood River Public Libraryand at:
- Hood River Sun, original copies at the Hood River Public Library
- Hood River News, original copies at the Hood River Public Libraryand at:
Historic Oregon Newspapers as a division of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program has digitzied more than 644,000 pages of newspapers throughout Oregon. Dates range from 1846-1922 with selected issues continuing through 1973.
Of particular interest to Hood River County researchers:
The Hood River Glacier at:
The Hood River News at:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Hood River News Obituaries
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1833 – 1963 Oregon Wills and Probate Records 1833-1963 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Schools[edit | edit source]
- Hood River Mascot yearbooks, located at the Hood River Public Library
- Wy East High School
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- Vitals from the Hood River Glacier, 1889-1903, tanscribed by Jeffrey L. Elmer
- Western States Marriage Record Index
- Oregon Vital Records: Deaths 1903-1998, Ancestry.com ($)
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- 1842-1917 Oregon, Oregon State Archives, Births, 1842-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images (*); Also at: Ancestry
- 1860 - 1952 Oregon Births, 1860-1952 at FamilySearch — index
Delayed Birth Certificates
Birth Registers
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1842-1917 Oregon, U.S., State Births, 1842-1917 at Ancestry - index and images ($); Also at: FamilySearch
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 - Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- 1906-1968 Oregon, U.S., State Marriages, 1906-1968 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Hood River County Historical Society & Museum
300 E Port Marina Drive
Hood River, Oregon 97031
Telephone: 541-386-6772
Website
Facebook Page
Hood River County Library
502 E State St
Hood River OR 97031
541-386-2535
Website
Facebook Page
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- The Genealogical Forum of Oregon - an affiliate library
- Oregon Genealogical Society - an affiliate library
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Hood River County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Hood River County GenWeb Project part of The ORGenWeb Project
- Linkpendium
- Hood River Genealogical Information - Families and Individuals from Public Records
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project (Backup site)
- FamilySearch.org
Hood River County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Hood River, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hood_River_County,_Oregon accessed 27 Nov 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hood River County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hood River County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092 FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Hood River County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hood_River_County,_Oregon, accessed 10 November 2018.
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at
(accessed 18 July 2011).
