Hertfordshire, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Hertfordshire Wiki Topics
Image:Hertfordshire county flag.png|border|250x150px|Hertfordshire flag.png
Beginning Research
  • Guided Research
  • Hertfordshire Research Tips and Strategies
  • Hertfordshire Record Finder
Record Types
Background
Cultural Groups

Guide to Hertfordshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Hertfordshire England

County Information[edit | edit source]

Hertfordshire (abbreviated Herts [1] ) is a county in south east England [2] and is one of the "Home Counties" surrounding London along with Surrey, Essex, Kent, Berkshire, and Buckinghamshire. [3] The county town is Hertford. [2] The county takes its name from Hertford meaning a ford frequented by harts or stags.[4]

The major towns are Hertford, St Albans (built on the site of a Roman settlement, Verulamium), Watford, Hatfield, and Letchworth (Britain's first Garden City).[2]

Parishes[edit | edit source]

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Hertfordshire parishes:
A B C D E F G H I K L M N O P R S T W

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Hertfordshire.

Civil Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

List of Hertfordshire Civil Registration Districts

 Websites[edit | edit source]


Notes and References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Burt Vance, A Dictionary of Abbreviations (Oxford University Press, Oxford Reference Online 2011, eISBN 9780199698295) accessed 3 June 2013.
  2. ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 'Hertfordshire' in Philip's World Encyclopedia (Oxford Reference Online 2004-2012, eISBN 9780199546091) accessed 3 June 2013.
  3. ↑ 'Home Counties' in Philip's World Encyclopedia (Oxford Reference Online 2004-2012, eISBN 9780199546091) accessed 3 June 2013.
  4. ↑ "Hertford Herts." in A. D. Mills, A Dictionary of British Place Names (1st rev ed., Oxford University Press, 2011; Print ISBN-13 9780199609086; Oxford Reference Online 2011-2012 eISBN 9780191739446).



Neighbouring counties
Bedfordshire Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire Cambridgeshire
Essex
Bedfordshire
Buckinghamshire 		Essex
   Hertfordshire    
Buckinghamshire Middlesex, England Genealogy Essex
Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Hertfordshire,_England_Genealogy&oldid=4653391"