Hertford County, North Carolina Genealogy
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Hertford County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Hertford County is located in the eastern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with Virginia. It was named for Francis Seymour Conway, Earl and later Marquis of Hertford.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Hertford County Courthouse
King Street
PO Box 36
Winton, NC 27986
Phone: 252-358-7850
Hertford County Website
Register of Deeds has birth and death records and burial records from 1913, marriage records from 1884 and land records from 1866.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1883, and probate records from 1869.[3]
Hertford County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1913 | 1884 | 1913 | 1883 | 1866 | 1869 | 1784 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1822, 1830 Courthouse fires destroyed the majority of the county's records. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
In 1779 the northeastern part of Hertford County was combined with parts of Chowan County and Perquimans County to form Gates County. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Towns | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
The first official court proceedings in the area were held at Cotton's Ferry. In 1766 Assembly Representative Benjamin Wynn donated fifty acres for a town to be properly established and it was briefly called "Wynntown". Shortly following the 1766 incorporation of the town "Winton" became the county seat of government as it proudly remains today.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records at North Carolina Digital Archives - index and images
- Bibles at Hertford County, NC USGenWeb Archives
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: Ancestry ($)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 5,949 | — |
| 1800 | 6,701 | 12.6% |
| 1810 | 6,052 | −9.7% |
| 1820 | 7,712 | 27.4% |
| 1830 | 8,537 | 10.7% |
| 1840 | 7,484 | −12.3% |
| 1850 | 8,142 | 8.8% |
| 1860 | 9,504 | 16.7% |
| 1870 | 9,273 | −2.4% |
| 1880 | 11,843 | 27.7% |
| 1890 | 13,851 | 17.0% |
| 1900 | 14,294 | 3.2% |
| 1910 | 15,436 | 8.0% |
| 1920 | 16,294 | 5.6% |
| 1930 | 17,542 | 7.7% |
| 1940 | 19,352 | 10.3% |
| 1950 | 21,453 | 10.9% |
| 1960 | 22,718 | 5.9% |
| 1970 | 23,529 | 3.6% |
| 1980 | 23,368 | −0.7% |
| 1990 | 22,523 | −3.6% |
| 2000 | 22,601 | 0.3% |
| 2010 | 24,669 | 9.2% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1700-1970 - North Carolina, Church Records, 1700-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Baptist
- Mr. Arthur Cotten's. Established by 1782.[7]
- Old Meherrin, Murfreesboro, N.C. Established 1735.[7]
- Buckhorn Baptist, Como, N.C. Established 1835. [8]
Church of England
- St. John's Chapel. Established by 1782.[9]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 1862-1870 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Assistant Commissioner Records, 1862-1870 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1863-1872 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1863-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Hertford County Undertakers in Winton
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- The colonial and state political history of Hertford County, N.C. 1906. By Benjamin Brodie Winborne. (OpenLibrary)
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Hertford County for European settlers included:[10]
- Atlantic Ocean
- King's Highway about 1704
- Secondary Coast Road late 1730s
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War
- 1778-1833 Delamar Transcripts of Revolutionary War Petitions at North Carolina Genealogical Society - index ($)
- 1779-1782 North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1885-1953 North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1885 and 1901 1885 and 1901 Confederate Pension Applications at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
Regiments. Men in Hertford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hertford County:
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
- - 17th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry (1st Organization), Company D
- - 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company K
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company K
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company C
- - 3rd Battalion, North Carolina Light Artillery, Company C
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company D
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company E
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1917-1919 North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1939-1945 World Ward II Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1940-1948 North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina Newspapers at DigitalNC
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1868-1898 - North Carolina, Voter Registration Records, 1868-1898 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1660-1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry $
- 1663-1979 North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1663-1789 Secretary of State Wills at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1665-1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry $
- 1720-1960 Will Books A to F and 1 to 8 (1720-1960) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1735-1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1760-1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry $
- Pre-1790 Pre-1790 Hertford County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills (North Carolina State Archives)
- 1830-1963 Will Books A to G (1830-1963) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Yearbooks
- 1911-2006 1911-2006 Chowan College
- Hertford County students at NC colleges. Yearbook index. (NCGenWeb)
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
- 1779 Tax Lists, Hertford County, 1779 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, at Ancestry $
- 1779 Tax Lists, Hertford County, 1779 (index) Raymond A. Winslow Jr., “1779 Tax List of Hertford County, N.C.,” North Carolina Genealogical Society Journal 20 (1994).
- 1779 Tax Lists, Hertford County, 1779 (images) at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1784 Tax Lists, Hertford County, 1784 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, at Ancestry $
- 1784 Tax Lists, Hertford County, 1784 (images) at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1815 Tax Lists, Hertford County, 1815 (images) at North Carolina Digital Collections
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 - North Carolina, Department of Archives and History, Index to Vital Records, 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1866-1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1913-1922 North Carolina, Center for Health Statistics, Vital Records Unit, County Birth Records, 1913-1922 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1741-2004 North Carolina, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1868-1872 Hertford Marriages 1868-1872 at USGenWeb
- 1868-1963 Hertford County Marriage Index 1868-1963. Batch M752555 at FamilySearch[11]
- 1741-2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1759-1979 North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1762-1979 North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1763-1868 North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1994 North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1906-1930 North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection;index and images Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1908-2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry $
- 1931-1994 North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1926-1975 North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1958-2004 North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry $
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Hertford County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Hertford County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Hertford County Public Library
PO Box 68
Winton, NC 27986
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Hertford County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.
- Historic Hertford Inc
110 W Academy St.
Hertford, NC 27944
252-426-5102
E-mail: office@historichertfordinc.org
Website Facebook
- Murfreesboro Historical Association
Post Office Box 3
Murfreesboro, NC 27855
(252) 398-5922
E-mail: murfreesborohistorical@gmail.com
Website Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- NCGenWeb: Hertford County - part of the USGenWeb Project
- USGenWeb Archives - many additional records for Hertford
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Hertford
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hertford County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Hertford County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hertford_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 16 February 2020.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:478, 488. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ Minutes 1835-1963. Buckhorn Baptist Church (Murfreesboro, NC); FHL microfilm #314012
- ↑ George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:488. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.
