Hennepin County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hennepin County, Minnesota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Minneapolis
Organized: June 23, 1852[1]
Parent County(s): Dakota[2]
Neighboring Counties
Anoka  • Carver  • Dakota  • Ramsey  • Scott  • Wright
See County Maps
Courthouse
Minnesota, Hennepin County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Minnesota Hennepin County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Father Louis Hennepin. The County is located in the east-central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hennepin County Government Center is the courthouse and primary county government administration building for Hennepin County.

Hennepin County Government Center
300 S 6th Street
Minneapolis, MN 55487-0001
Phone: 612-348-6000
Hennepin County Website

Fourth Judicial District Court
The district court has retained files dealing with family matters (including divorce, annulment, adoption, illegitimacy, and change of name), land, city charters, probate court appeals, and trusts, and destroyed many files dealing with miscellaneous money judgments.[4]
Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1870, marriage, divorce and court records. [5]

Hennepin County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1870 1853 1870 1853 1848 1855 1836
*Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[10]

Cities
Unorganized territories


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1659 to 15 November 1880 "Principal Events Chronologically Arranged" Chapter LXXXV pages 662-668 in History of Hennepin County and the city of Minneapolis: including the explorers and pioneers ... (Minneapolis: North Star Publishing Company, 1881)
  • 1670 to 23 April 1923 "Chronological Summary" pages 682-687 in History of Minneapolis: Gateway to the Northwest, Vol 1. (Chicago: S.J. Clarke Pub. Co, 1923)

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

For guidance and links to biographies in Minnesota, see Minnesota Biography.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • 1865 Minnesota Gazetteer and Business Directory, for 1865: Containing a List of Cities, Villages, and Post Offices in the State; a List of Business Firms; State and County Organizations. Search keyword "Hennepin" for 99 results. Persons are listed alphabetically under their residence, i.e. St. Anthony - Broad, Elisha manufacturer of edge tools, Hennepin Island, and again listed alphabetically under occupation, i.e. Edge Tool Manufacturer - Broad Elisha, Saint Anthony, Hennepin.
  • 1866-2016 General Mills archives A Golden Valley-based, multinational manufacturer and marketer of branded consumer foods that began as Minneapolis Milling Company. See also "Washburn A Mill Explosion, 1878" at MNopedia
  • 1884 List of Public Notaries in Commission Aug. 1, 1884 at Hennepin County Genealogy Trails.
  • 1884-1997 (bulk 1910-1979) Northrup King Company Records at Minnesota Historical Society's Gale Family Library. A Minneapolis-based company engaged in the wholesale seed and livestock feed business. Collection includes employee information.
  • 1885-2000 Honeywell, Inc: An Inventory of Its Records at Minnesota Historical Society's Gale Family Library. The company began in Minneapolis as a manufacturer of heat-regulating mechanisms called "thermostats" and expanded into the fields of scientific instruments and controls, moving into global markets, and entering into the manufacture of munitions, aerospace, information, and security systems.
  • Businesses and Entrepreneurs at Hennepin County Genealogy Trails. Compilation from multiple sources.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Hennepin County, Minnesota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For links to Federal, State, and Territorial censuses, see Minnesota Census.

Territorial and State Census
Minnesota Territory and State censuses for Hennepin County [1857-1905] are indexed and have images at Minnesota Historical Society. The site's feature, "Minnesota People Records Search", is excellent for comparing spellings and improving search results.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information, see Minnesota Church Records.

Baptist

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Congregational

  • 1857-1976 Collection on Plymouth Congregational Church at Hennepin County Library Special Collections; the collection overview includes church history, list of ministers, and founding members; the collection (5 boxes) "documents the life and death of parishioners".

Episcopal

  • Fifty Years of Church Work in the Diocese of Minnesota, 1857-1907. (St. Paul, Minn.: The Diocese, 1937.) See St Anthony Falls Mission in chapter 21, pages 180-208 at HathiTrust.
  • Episcopal Church. Minnesota Diocese. Parish record books. at Minnesota Historical Society's Gale Family Library. The collection includes Eden Prairie: Shepherd of the Prairie Episcopal Mission, Excelsior: Trinity Chapel, Hassan: St. John's Episcopal Church, Minneapolis: All Saints Episcopal Church, Minneapolis: Bishop Whipple Memorial Church, Minneapolis: Christ Episcopal Church Mission, Minneapolis: Grace Episcopal Church, Minneapolis: St. Ansgarius Church, Minneapolis: St. Johannes Episcopal Church, Minneapolis: St. Johannes Episcopal Church, Minneapolis: St. Luke's Episcopal Church, Minneapolis: St. Matthew's Episcopal Church, and Rockford: Breck Memorial Chapel. Parish registers typically include records of baptisms, confirmations, marriages, and burials.

Lutheran

Methodist

Presbyterian

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Online directories

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Hennepin County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Additional local publications written or provided by local societies are denoted with ♦ on the Society list; see contents.

  • Folsom, William H. C, and E E. Edwards. Fifty Years in the Northwest: With an Introduction and Appendix Containing Reminiscences, Incidents, and Notes. St. Paul: Pioneer Press Co, 1888. Chapter 19 "Hennepin County" pp 497-531. Online at Internet Archive.
  • Holcombe, Return Ira, Compendium of history and biography of Carver and Hennepin counties, Minnesota, (Chicago: Henry Taylor & Co., 1915); Online at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive.
  • Holcombe, Return Ira; Bingham, William H.; Loring, Charles M.; Compendium of history and biography of Minneapolis and Hennepin County, Minnesota (Chicago: Hanry Taylor & Co., 1914) Online at FamilySearch Digital Library, HathiTrust, Internet Archive.
  • Shutter, Marion D. History of Minneapolis: Gateway to the Northwest. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Pub. Co, 1923. Vol 1 at HathiTrust
  • Stevens, John. Personal Recollections of Minnesota and Its People and Early History of Minneapolis. With Biographical, Memoranda and Letters to Col. John H. Stevens Selected by Marshal Robinson. 1890. Online at Internet Archive.
  • Warner, George E; Foote, C.M.; Neill, Edward D.; Williams, John Fletcher; History of Hennepin County and the city of Minneapolis: including the explorers and pioneers ... (Minneapolis: North Star Publishing Company, 1881) Online at FamilySearch Digital Library, HathiTrust, Internet Archive, Google Books.
  • Zellie, Carole. The Lowry Hill Neighborhood of Minneapolis: Historic Context Study. St. Paul, MN: Landscape Research, 2006. Online pdf (81 pgs) at local site.
  • Minnesota Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Sherburne CountyAnoka CountyRamsey CountyDakota CountyScott CountyCarver CountyWright CountyMN HENNEPIN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Online maps

  • 1848-1857 Minnesota Government Land Office Historic Plat Map Retrieval System. These are the first official records of land boundaries in Minnesota.  According to the Bureau of Land Management, surveying defines, retraces or re-establishes the boundaries and subdivisions of Federal Lands of the United States.  It is also the art and science of measuring the land to locate the limits of an owner's interest.[12]  On the sidebar, click download by county and select Hennepin; there are 64 zip files (identified by township and range) to view if downloaded.
  • Hennepin County historic and current section maps: coverage of Section Map information within Hennepin County. Each Section Map provides links to pdf documents for: Current 1/2 & 1/8 Parcel Maps, Historic Parcel Maps, and Section Sheets.
  • 1850-2020 Hennepin County chart of plat map and county atlas holdings at John R. Borchert Map Library; includes online links if available. Also access digitized maps directly (sidebar "counties beginning with H).
  • 1856 City of St. Anthony and Minneapolis at Minnesota Digital Library; important reference to accompany historical texts on development of the city.
  • 1874 T.A. Andreas: Hennepin County in Minnesota State Atlas at David Rumsey Map Collections
  • 1879 Panoramic view of the city of Minneapolis, Minnesota at Library of Congress. Identifies 124 locations (schools, churches, public buildings, and businesses) in sharp magnification.
  • 1885 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Minneapolis, Hennepin County, Minnesota online at Library of Congress. Sanborn maps were originally created to help insure particular properties against fire. They are detailed maps showing the footprint and construction materials of residences, industrial sites, and commercial buildings.  Property boundaries, building use, house and block numbers, as well as names and widths of streets are notated in these maps.[13] Additional years online are 1889 1912 Vol. 5, 1912 - Dec 1950
  • 1887 Map of Ramsey and Washington counties : with adjacent portions of Anoka, Dakota & Hennepin counties, Minnesota, and parts of St. Croix & Pierce counties, Minnesota at Library of Congress. This map includes the names of property owners in Brooklyn, Champlin, Crystal, Golden Valley, St. Louis Park, Richfield, and Bloomington; also large land holders in Minneapolis. Houses and public buildings are marked; roads, railroads, and boundaries are clear. The map magnifies sharply.
  • 1891 Bird's eye view of Minneapolis at Library of Congress. Identifies 53 major locations in sharp magnification.
  • 1892 Minneapolis Plat Book at Minnesota University libraries.
  • 1898 P. M. Dahl Plat Book of Hennepin County; colored maps compiled and drawn from official records and actual surveys; includes index and patrons' directory. The digitized maps are interactive and transcribed by Minnesota Historical Society and posted in Minnesota Digital Library.
  • 1903 Minneapolis Plat Book. at Minnesota University libraries.
  • 1900, 1906, 1918, 1928 Hudson's dictionary of Minneapolis and vicinity; a handbook for strangers and residents at Internet Archive.
  • 1910-1955 Hennepin County map of racial covenants with an animated timeline and zoom features at Minnesota University libraries.
  • 1910-1940 Minneapolis “Mapping Prejudice” pdf maps (to download) of racial covenants for each decade at Minnesota University libraries.
  • 1912-1951 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map Vol. 6a. 73 images. Includes Crystal Bay, Deephaven Station, Edina, Excelsior, Glen Lake, Grove Land, Hopkins, Linwood, Long Lake, Minnetonka Beach, Minnetonka Mills, Morningside, Mound, Navarre, Saint Louis Park. Spring Park, Tonka Bay, Wayzata, and Williston Park at Library of Congress.
  • 1913 P. O. Westby Atlas of Hennepin County Minnesota. Includes comprehensive index to Additions at Library of Congress. For individual 1913 plats of cities and towns, select the name of the city or town of interest:
  • 1921 Hudson's Map Of Minneapolis at Minnesota Digital Library. Map with parkland and streetcar lines illustrated; also includes an index to streets.
  • 1933 and 1944 Hennepin County Maps by the county highway department detailing the types of surfaces of the major roads.
  • 1952 Historical Sites and Progressive Growth of Minneapolis, Minnesota at Minnesota Digital Library. A very unique map showing historical sites and the growth of the city. Facts about the historical sites and valuable dates are listed on the edges of the map.
  • Current: FamilySearch Places Reference for 83 Cities and Towns (current to October 2021) in Hennepin County that includes a location map with latitude and longitude, research links, and alternative names. See also How to Use FS Places.
  • Current: Minnesota Department of Transportation, Hennepin County municipality and township maps

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

circa 1860-circa 1945 Service Record Cards (typed) from Minnesota Adjutant General microfilmed at Minnesota History Center with a portion digitized and online. Cards are in alphabetical order of surnames within each military grouping. Each digitized reel was scanned into one pdf file. All digitized reels are accessed on one webpage (a finding aid) that requires extensive scrolling. Images are not text searchable. The following service records are online:

  • 1861-1865+ All Minnesota Civil War Soldiers.
  • 1890s-1918 Minnesota National Guard Soldiers prior to WWI digitized up to the name of John Glasgow.
  • 1899-1903 All Minnesota Spanish American War Soldiers in the Army, Navy, and Marines; also citations for awards given in 1920s.
  • 1914-1919 Minnesotans who enlisted in military service in a different country (Foreign Service); biographical information. Notation of "soldier plots" in Lakewood: A-24 and B-24, St. Mary’s: Block 3 Section 9, Crystal Lake: Block I Section 21, and Hillside: Lot I and Lot 2 Section Section D.
  • 1917-1919 All Minnesota WWI Soldiers in the Navy and Marines.
  • 1917-1919 Nurses in WWI. Notation: 778 enlisted from Minnesota and 300 served overseas. Service cards document specific locations of service.
  • 1927-1940 All Minnesota Soldiers in the Naval Militia.

The following Service Record Cards have not yet been digitized but are available to view at Minnesota History Center: Home Guard, National Guard, Contract Surgeons, Cemetery Burials, Army in World War I, Minnesota State Guard, World War II, and Mexican Border Conflict.

Civil War

Name of Pensioner Post office Address Cause for which Pensioned Monthly Rate Date of Original

Civil War service men from Hennepin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that included men of Hennepin County.[14]

- 1st Battalion, Minnesota Infantry Volunteers, Companies A, B.
- 1st Battery, Minnesota Light Artillery
- 1st Minnesota Company Sharpshooters
- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Companies A, C, F, G, K, M.
- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Heavy Artillery, Companies A, B, C, H.
- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies D, E, F, I, K. See also Holcombe, R I, Jasper N. Searles, and Mathew F. Taylor, History of the First Regiment Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, 1861-1864. With Maps and Illustrations. 1916. Online at Internet Archive.
- 2nd Battery, Minnesota Light Artillery
- 2nd Minnesota Company Sharpshooters
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies A, D, F, I, L.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, K.
- 3rd Battery, Minnesota Light Artillery
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A, B, F. G, H, I
- 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, K.
- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies D, E, F, G, I, K.
- 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, I, K.
- 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry
- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A, E, H, K.
- 9th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A, B, C, I, K.
- 10th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company K.
- 11th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies F, G.
- Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies A, B, C, D.
- Hatch's Independent Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies A, B, C, D, E, F.

Spanish-American War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

SVC NO NAME BR RANK OCCUPATION DOB CITY DATE RESULT

Vietnam War

SVC NO. NAME BR RANK OCCUPATION BIRTH CITY CASUALTYLOCATION DEATH DATE CASCODE CASUALTY CAUSE VN WALL

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Minneapolis

Rural Areas

  • 1850-1950 Myers, Pamela J. Classroom Voices: Students' Memories : Grade Schools and Mound Consolidated High School, District #85, Mound, Mn, 1850s-1950. Minneapolis, MN: Syren Book Co, 2009. Print. Available at Westonka Museum and online store.
  • 1910 -1960 The Senior and The Agrarian yearbooks for the School of Agriculture (St. Paul) University of Minnesota. The "Farm School"; beginning age was 15; use a surname or a hometown in search feature.
  • 1924-1940 Minnesota School for the Blind. Superintendent reports include names of staff, students, awards. Use keyword "hennepin". Available at Internet Archive.

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Since Minnesota tax records include only persons who owned taxable property, many residents were not included. Still they complement land records and can be used in place of missing censuses or the years between censuses. There may also be gaps. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Hennepin County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Hennepin County. For state-wide library facilities, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

American Swedish Institute
2600 Park Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55443
Phone: 612-871-4907
Email: info@asimn.org
Website
ASI’s library, archives, and object collections support the work of the museum as well as provide resources for scholarly research into Swedish and Swedish-American culture and history.

Center for Human Resources & Labor Studies
Carlson School of Management
321 19th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Phone: 612-624-7011
Website

The Gale Family Library
Minnesota History Center
345 W. Kellogg Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55102
Phone: 651-259-3000
Email: infodesk@mnhs.org
Website

Hennepin County Library System
James K. Hosmer Special Collections
Minneapolis Central Library
300 Nicollet Mall
Minneapolis, MN 55401
Phone: 612-543-8200
Website
Serving at 42 libraries: Locations

Immigration History Research Center (IHRC)
University of Minnesota Elmer L. Andersen Library
222 21st Ave S, Suite 311
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Phone: 612-625-4800
Website

University of Minnesota Libraries
Website
Reference page for locations and services.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Excelsior-Lake Minnetonka Museum
305 Water Street
Excelsior, MN 55331
Phone: 952-221-4766
Website

Hennepin Medical History Center
Lower level of the HCMC Blue Building
915 S 8th St
Minneapolis, MN 55415
Phone: 612-873-6090
Website

Hennepin History Museum
2303 3rd Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55404-3505
Phone: 612-870-1329
Website
Includes Research Library and Archival Collections.

Historic Fort Snelling
200 Tower Ave
St. Paul, MN 55111
Phone: 612-726-1171
Email: ftsnelling@mnhs.org
Website

The Hmong Cultural Center Museum and Library
375 University Avenue, #204
Saint Paul, MN 55103
Phone: 651-917-9937
Website

John H. Stevens House & Museum
4901 Minnehaha Avenue S.
Minneapolis MN 55417
Phone: 612 722-2220
Email: info@johnhstevenshouse.org
Website

Minnesota African American Heritage Museum and Gallery (MAAMG)
1256 Penn Avenue N., Fourth Floor
Minneapolis, MN 55411
Email: info@maahmg.org
Website

Minnesota Military Museum and Library
Camp Ripley
15000 Highway 115
Little Falls, MN 56345
Phone: 320-616-6050
Website
Includes 15,000 circulating books, manuscripts, and pamphlets with an online catalog.

Norway House
913 East Franklin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN, 55404
Phone: 612.871.2211
Email: info@norwayhouse.org
Website

The Somali Museum of Minnesota
1516 East Lake St. Suite 011
Minneapolis, MN 55407
Phone: 612-234-1625
Website

Westonka Museum
Mound Centennial Building, levels 4 and 5
5341 Maywood Rd
Mound, MN 55364
Phone: 952-472-9800
Website

WHCPA Pioneer Museum & Research Facility
1953 West Wayzata Blvd
Long Lake, MN 55356
Phone: 952-473-6557
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Hennepin County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Minnesota Societies.

♦ denotes society has online archives and local publications available

Brooklyns Historical Society ♦
5600 85th Ave
Brooklyn Park, MN 55443
Phone: 763-392-5356
Website
Serves Brooklyn Center and Brooklyn Park.

Champlin Historical Society
Champlin City Hall
11955 Champlin Drive
Champlin, MN 55316
Facebook

Deephaven Historical Society
20225 Cottagewood Rd
Deephaven, MN 55331
Website

Excelsior-Lake Minnetonka Historical Society ♦
Archives at Old Excelsior Public School Building
261 School Avenue Lower Level, Suite 102
Excelsior, MN 55331
Website

Eden Prairie Historical Society
Eden Prairie City Center
8080 Mitchell Rd
Eden Prairie, MN 55344
Phone: 952-949-8580
Website

Edina Historical Society ♦
4711 W. 70th Street
Edina, MN 55435
Phone: 612-928-4577
Website

Golden Valley Historical Society
6731 Golden Valley Rd
Golden Valley, MN 55427
Phone: 763-588-8578
Website

Greenfield Historical Society
Phone: 763-498-7328
Email: rajendro@q.com
Website

Hanover Historical Society ♦
1010 River Road NE
Hanover, MN 55341
Phone: 612-470-2182‬
Email: info@hanoverhistoricalsociety.org
Website

Hopkins Historical Society ♦
Hopkins Activity Center
33 14th Avenue N
Hopkins, MN 55343
Phone: 952-548-6480
Website

Maple Grove Historical Preservation Society ♦
9030 Forestview Lane N
Maple Grove, MN 55369
Phone: 763-494-5983
Website

Minnetonka Historical Society ♦
C/O City of Minnetonka
14600 Minnetonka Blvd.
Minnetonka, MN 55345
Phone: 952-930-3962
Email: minnetonkahistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Website

North Hennepin Pioneer Society
P.O. Box 391
Hanover, MN 55341
Phone: 763-286-0877
Website
Serves Burschville area and School District #107.

Plymouth Historical Society ♦
3400 Plymouth Blvd
Plymouth, MN 55447-1448
Email: info@plymouthmnhistoricalsociety.org
Website

Richfield Historical Society ♦
History Center and Museum
6901 Lyndale Ave S
Richfield, MN 55423
Phone: 612-798-6140
Website

Robbinsdale Historical Society ♦
4915 42nd Ave North
Robbinsdale, MN 55422
Phone: 763-392-5356
Website

Rockford Area Historical Society ♦
8131 Bridge Street
Rockford, MN 55373
Phone: 763-477-5383
Website

St. Bonifacius Minnesota Historical Society ♦
P.O. Box 774
St. Bonifacius, MN 55375
Phone: 952-938-3601
Website

St. Louis Park Historical Society ♦
3700 Monterey Drive
St Louis Park, MN 55416-4902
Phone: 952-924-2538
Website

Wayzata Historical Society, Archives and History Center ♦
Wayzata Library, lower level
620 Rice Street East
Wayzata, MN 55391-1651
Phone: 952-473-3631
Website
Serves Wayzata and the Lake Minnetonka area.

Western Hennepin County Pioneer Association (WHCPA)♦
1953 West Wayzata Blvd
Long Lake, MN 55356
Phone: 952-473-6557
Website
Archives include family files (with online search), area newspapers, family genealogy books, and yearbooks.
Serving the communities of Long Lake, Wayzata, Orono, Minnetonka, Medina, Independence, Maple Plain, Armstrong, Plymouth, Stubbs Bay, Corcoran, Crystal Bay.

Westonka Historical Society ♦
Chamber Room of Mound Centennial Building
5341 Maywood Rd
Mound, MN 55364
Phone: 952-472-9800
Website
Serves Minnetonka Beach, Minnetrista, Mound, Orono, and Spring Lake.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 1/19/2021.
  2. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 1/19/2021.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Hennepin County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hennepin_County,_Minnesota accessed 12 Jan 2021
  4. 1858-1934 An Inventory of Its Civil Case Files and Index at the Minnesota Historical Society: Government Records. http://www2.mnhs.org/library/findaids/gr00087.xml
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 1/19/2021.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 1/19/2021.
  10. Wikipedia contributors, "Hennepin County, Minnesota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hennepin_County%2C_Minnesota, accessed 12 Jan 2021.
  11. National Grange of the Order of Patrons of Husbandry: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Grange_of_the_Order_of_Patrons_of_Husbandry
  12. Maps at MNHS: Public Land Survey. https://libguides.mnhs.org/maps/pls
  13. Maps at MNHS: Fire Insurance. https://libguides.mnhs.org/maps/fi
  14. Warner, George E; Foote, C.M.; Neill, Edward D.; Williams, John Fletcher; History of Hennepin County and the city of Minneapolis: including the explorers and pioneers ... (Minneapolis: North Star Publishing Company, 1881)