Hendricks County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hendricks County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Danville
Organized: April 1824
Parent County(s): Delaware New Purchase and Wabash New Purchase
Neighboring Counties
Montgomery  • Boone  • Marion  • Morgan  • Putnam
See County Maps
Courthouse
Indiana, Hendricks County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Indiana, Hendricks County Locator Map.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Hendricks County was named for Hendricks in honor of Indiana's Governor, William Hendricks.[1] It is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hendricks County Courthouse
PO Box 599
Danville, IN 46122-1993
Phone: 317-745-9231
County Website

Hendricks County Health Department
355 South Washington Street, Suite
Danville, IN, 46122
Health Officer: David Stopperich, MD
Phone Number: 317-745-9217
Email: kclick@co.hendricks.in.us
Health Department

County Health Dept has birth and death records from 1882.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1823.
County Auditor has land records.
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Hendricks County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1823 1882 1823 1823 1823 1807
*Statewide registration for births in 1907 and deaths in Oct 1899. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • Parent Counties: Formed from Delaware New Purchase and Wabash New Purchase in 1824.[4]
  • County Seat: Danville [5]
  • February 1831: Hendricks County lost a small portion of Township 17 North, Range 2 East (the northeast corner of present-day Brown Township) to Marion County (part of present-day Pike Township)
  • June 1868: Hendricks County gained a portion of Township 14 North, Range 1 West, and Township 14 North, Range 2 West east of Mill Creek (the southern part of present-day Franklin Township and Liberty Township) from Morgan County.
  • Interactive Map of Indiana County Formation History (1790-1897) - animated maps illustrating Indiana county boundary changes
  • Indiana Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Hendricks County, Indiana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Hendricks County census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1830 3,975 —
1840 11,264 183.4%
1850 14,083 25.0%
1860 16,953 20.4%
1870 20,277 19.6%
1880 22,981 13.3%
1890 21,498 −6.5%
1900 21,292 −1.0%
1910 20,840 −2.1%
1920 20,291 −2.6%
1930 19,725 −2.8%
1940 20,151 2.2%
1950 24,594 22.0%
1960 40,896 66.3%
1970 53,974 32.0%
1980 69,804 29.3%
1990 75,717 8.5%
2000 104,093 37.5%
2010 145,448 39.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org"

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Hendricks County courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Land in Indiana was originally sold to the public by the federal government, through their General Land Offices in various districts. Land in Hendricks County was sold through the district office in Crawfordsville, Montgomery County, Indiana. The Bureau of Land Management's General Land Office records for Indiana are in a searchable database.

In Indiana, land transactions are recorded in deed books, which are kept by the county recorder. There is also a separate set of books, called grantee/grantor, that acts as an index to the entries in the deed books - grantee means the buyer, grantor means the seller. Hendricks County's deed books volumes 1 through 64 (covering 1826 through 1886) and grantee/grantor index books volumes 1 through 9 (covering 1826 through 1889) have been microfilmed. That microfilm is available at the Indiana State Library and through the Family History Library, as well as other libraries.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Hendricks County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Montgomery CountyBoone CountyPutnam CountyMorgan CountyMarion CountyIN HENDRICKS.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Civil War service men from Hendricks County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hendricks County.

Civil War Books

  • "The Civil War" Chapter 5 in Inter-state Publishing Company (Chicago, Ill.). 2002. History of Hendricks County, Indiana: together with sketches of its cities, villages and towns, educational, religious, civil, military, and political history, portraits of prominent persons, and biographies of representative citizens; Also a condensed history of Indiana, embodying accounts of prehistoric races, aborigines, Winnebago and Black Hawk Wars, and a brief review of its civil and political history. (Bowie, Md: Heritage Books.) 977.253 H2h 2002 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries
  • "The Patriotic Roll" Chapter 5 in History of Hendricks County, Indiana, together with sketches of its cities, villages and towns, educational, religious, civil, military, and political history, portraits of prominent persons, and biographies of representative citizens. Also a condensed history of Indiana. 1885. (Chicago: Inter-State Publishing Company.) (page 333-412Regiment, Companies, Names), 977.253 H2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Valenzuela, Karen, Roberto Valenzuela, and Kim Bartrum. 2004. 1862 Indiana, Hendricks County, indexed Civil War draft enrollment lists. [Marion, Indiana (1607 West Jeffras Ave., Marion 46952)]: K. Valenzuela. 977.253 M2v FHL US/CAN BookFHL Collection other libraries

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Hendricks County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Hendricks County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Hendricks County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.

Avon-Washington Township Public Library
498 North Avon Avenue
Avon, IN 46123
Phone: 317-272-4818
Email: awtpl@avonlibrary.net
Website

Brownsburg Public Library
450 South Jefferson Street
Brownsburg, IN 46112
Phone: 317-852-3167
Email: askus@bburglibrary.net
Website

Danville-Center Township Public Library
101 S Indiana St
Danville, IN 46122
Phone: 317-745-2604
Email: help@dplindiana.org
Website

Plainfield-Guilford Township Public Library
1120 Stafford Rd
Plainfield, IN 46168
Phone: 317-839-6602
Email: askus@plainfieldlibrary.net
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Hendricks County Historical Museum
P.O. Box 226
170 South Washington Street
Danville, IN 46122-0026
Phone: 317-718-6158
Email: museum@co.hendricks.in.us
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Hendricks County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Hendricks County, Indiana Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/hendricks/ accessed 3/28/2017.
  2. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Hendricks County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hendricks_County,_Indiana 3/28/2017.
  3. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Hendricks County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hendricks_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  6. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Hendricks County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hendricks_County,_Indiana, accessed 12 December 2019.
  7. ↑ This is an ongoing, fifteen-year project, initiated from the records of the Indiana War Memorial, over 135,000 veterans are listed, but detailed records on only 38,000 to date, but more are added weekly. The detailed records have been scanned directly from the fragile, archival records at the Indiana State Library. The original Indiana military records of the Federal government were completely destroyed in a fire at the National Archives, July 12, 1973 in St. Louis. 80% of the WW1 records were lost, all of the records from Indiana were gone. (WorldWar1Vets.com, http://www.wwvets.com/, accessed 28 Apr 2019).
v • d • e
Links to Indiana-related articles
Topics
Counties
Adams · Allen · Bartholomew · Benton · Blackford · Boone · Brown · Carroll · Cass · Clark · Clay · Clinton · Crawford · Daviess · Dearborn · Decatur · DeKalb · Delaware · Dubois · Elkhart · Fayette · Floyd · Fountain · Franklin · Fulton · Gibson · Grant · Greene · Hamilton · Hancock · Harrison · Hendricks · Henry · Howard · Huntington · Jackson · Jasper · Jay · Jefferson · Jennings · Johnson · Knox · Kosciusko · LaPorte · LaGrange · Lake · Lawrence · Madison · Marion · Marshall · Martin · Miami · Monroe · Montgomery · Morgan · Newton · Noble · Ohio · Orange · Owen · Parke · Perry · Pike · Porter · Posey · Pulaski · Putnam · Randolph · Ripley · Rush · Scott · Shelby · Spencer · St. Joseph · Starke · Steuben · Sullivan · Switzerland · Tippecanoe · Tipton · Union · Vanderburgh · Vermillion · Vigo · Wabash · Warren · Warrick · Washington · Wayne · Wells · White · Whitley
Extinct Co.
Major
 Repositories
Migration
 Routes

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

The collection is free on this subscription website.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Hendricks_County,_Indiana_Genealogy&oldid=4815501"