Help:Wiki Coding Problems - Eight
| << Back to Coding Problems | Next Problem >> |
United States 
Missouri Adair County
Guide to Adair County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adair County, Missouri | |
| Map | |
 Location of Missouri in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 29, 1841 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Kirksville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Adair County Courthouse 106 W. Washington Kirksville, MO 63501 Telephone: (660) 665-3350 Adair County Website |
County Information[edit | edit source]
Adair County, Missouri Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1883 | 1841 | 1830 | 1841 | 1841 | |
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Recorder has marriage and land records from 1840:
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records; Probate
Clerk has probate records; County Clerk has school enumeration
records[2]
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1841--Adair County was created 29 January 1841from Macon County. County seat: Kirksville [3]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: http://www.genealogyinc.com/missouri/mo-counties/#courthouse Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
- The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Knox • Linn • Macon • Putnam • Schuyler • Scotland • Sullivan
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Wiki Coding Problems - Eight census records online, see: Missouri Census.
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Violette, Eugene Morrow. History of Adair County : together with reminiscences and biographical sketches. Kirksville, Missouri : Denslow History Co., 1911.
- Online at FamilySearch (Free); and at HathiTrust (Free)
- History of Adair, Sullivan, Putnam and Schuyler counties, Missouri : from the earliest time to the present. Chicago, Illinois : Goodspeed Pub. Co., 1888.
- Online at FamilySearch (Free); and at Missouri Digital Heritage (Free)
- John, A. H. Sketch of Adair County, Missouri : plus "patron's business references" by township, telling the section, township and range of their property, where they were born and when they settled in Adair County. S.l. : s.n., 199-?.
- Online at Family Search (Free); PDF at Adairchs (Free)
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Missouri Digital Heritage,
- The area now known as Adair County was first settled in pre-historic times.
- 1804 November 3 - The Treaty of St. Louis, between the USA and the Sacs and Foxes, stipulated that goods and cash be paid to the Sacs and Foxes.
- 1825 - The Big Neck War was fought.
- 1828 - The first white settlement in Adair County.
- 1838-40 - Survey of Public Lands of Adair County was completed.
- 1840 - Both settlers and speculators began a rush to the land office.
- 1841 January 29 - Adair County was founded.
- 1850 - Immigrants started coming to Adair County in large numbers.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Maps of Missouri (1804-1889)
- Interactive map of Adair County townships (Histopolis)
- The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Adair County.
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- - 21st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
:- 21st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
:- 27th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
:- 39th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
:- 7th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company H
:- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri National Guard Infantry (Union), Independent Company
:- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
:- 30th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 50th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 50th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
:- 50th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
Civil War Battle[edit | edit source]
The following Civil War Battle was fought in Adair County
- August 6-9, 1862 = Kirksville[4]
Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Adair County Historical Society has created an obituary and death notice collection on its website. They have been extrated from the Kirksville Daily Express and cover from March, 1979 through December 31, 2010. There are some additional obituaries taken from the Unionville Republican which are earlier than the listed dates above.
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.
In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.
St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births. The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.
Births[edit | edit source]
- 1827 - 1935 Missouri, Births and Christenings, 1827-1935 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1851 - 1910 Missouri Birth Records, 1851-1910 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1866-1867 - Adair County Birth Index, Volume 1, 1866-1867. Batch C514581 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Marriages[edit | edit source]
- 1802 - 1969 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1802-1969 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1750 - 1920 Missouri, Marriages, 1750-1920 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1805 - 2002 Missouri, Marriage Records, 1805-2002 at Anestry.com
- 1850 Missouri Marriages to 1850 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1841-1878 - Adair County Marriage Book 1 Index 1841-1878. Batch M514581 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1871-1884 - Adair County Marriage Books 2 thru 4 Index 1871-1884. Batch M514582 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1884-1885 - Adair County Marriage Books 5 and 6 Index 1884-1885. Batch M514583 at FamilySearch - free.
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
- 1867 - 1976 Missouri, Deaths and Burials, 1867-1976 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1834 - 1910 Missouri, Death Records, 1834-1910 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- List of Missouri Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- Adair County Historical Society
211 South Elson Street,
Kirksville, Missouri 63501-3466.
1-660-665-6502
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
- Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Kirksville Missouri Family History Center 2000 E Normal, Kirksville, MO 63501 United States Location Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
 |
Check back often with these websites. Internet offerings are growing at record rates. Local societies and libraries may know of other websites. |
| Missouri Digital Heritage | Free | digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State |
| ARGenWeb | Free | Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions |
| USGenWeb Archives | Free | Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions |
| RootsWeb resources | Free | Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions |
| Linkpendium | Free | Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($) |
| CyndisList | Free | Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($) |
| StateofUS | Free | family history resources and government records |
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records | |
| FamilySearch catalog | Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box. |
| WorldCat | To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog. |
| Allen County Public Library | located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing. |
| Missouri State Archives Library | catalog; from this page you must search "Adair County" |
| GeneaBloggers | enter "missouri" in the search box to see a list and links to Missouri Blogs | |
| Google+ | Missouri Genealogy Network Community | |
| list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search | ||
| genealogy.com | Adair County, MO Genealogy Forum | |
| ancestry.com | Adair County Message Board | |
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Adair County, Missouri. Page 397 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
