Hawkshead, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hawkshead, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hawkshead, Lancashire
Hawkshead Church Lancashire.jpg
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Ulverston
Registration District Ulverstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1689
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Furness and Cartmel
Diocese Chester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HAWKSHEAD (St Michael), a market-town and a parish, in the union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 28 miles north by northwest of Lancaster, comprising the townships of Claife, Hawkshead, and Monk-Coniston with Skelwith, and the chapelry of Satterthwaite. Other places in the parish include: Borwick, Claife, Dale Park, Field Head, Gallowbarrow, Upper Claife, Grizedale, Hawkeshead with Monk Coniston and Skelwith, Henakin, Lower Claife, Monk Coniston and Skelwith, and Graythwaite. In the hamlet of Hawkshead Hill is a small place of worship for Baptists which began in 1709. Methodists also have a chapel, built around 1862, and Quakers by the year 1658 in Colthouse, 3-4 miles away.[1]

Here is a list of chapelries or chapels of ease built within the boundary of Hawkshead St Michael's Parish (as of 1848; see "Church Records" below for others):


To view a further historical summary of this ancient parish, visit The Ancient Church of St Michael and All Saints page (also see the footnote below).

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

The Family History Library's British collection has monumental transcriptions of Hawkshead parish and for the Society of Friends old burial ground.

Census[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Civil Registration of Births, Marriages & Deaths - 1837 to the Present[edit | edit source]

Read about England Civil Registration (vital records) of birth, marriages and deaths on the England main page.

Online Indexes

There are two separate (free) indexes available for Lancashire civil registration of births, marriages and deaths. One index covers all registrations nation-wide, and one index covers the copies of the local registration district office's certificate copies for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, as follows:

  • FreeBMD - an online (free) index to the certificates held at the General Registrar's Office, formerly in London, now in Solihull, Merseyside, UK. The years currently covered in this index include July, 1837 to at least 1940.
  • LancashireBMD - an online index (free) to the local superintendant's registrar of births, marriages and deaths for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, for the following range of years and their events: births 1837-1974; marriages 1837-2010; deaths 1837-1975.
  • Lancashire-OPC.org.uk provides numerous parish and chapel transcriptions online (free) for the post-1837 to 1910 period.

Indexes

FamilySearch's Family History Library British collections holds the quarterly indexes of births, marriages and deaths from July, 1837 to 1983 in microform media.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Chapelries of Hawkshead[edit | edit source]
  • Brathay Holy Trinity Chapelry - 1837
  • Finsthwaite Chapelry - 1776
  • Low Wray St Margaret Chapelry - 1856
  • Satterthwaite All Saints Chapelry - 1776
  • Sawrey St Peter Chapelry - 1870

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Hawkshead Parish Records
All Chapelries Found in Hawkshead are included in these links.
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records with indexes are available for Hawkshead Parish
[edit | edit source]

Go to the Lancashire Probate Records and follow the step by step instructions to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction and search the records.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

  • 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Hawkshead. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692. Also includes Graythwaite.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 447-450. Adapted. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.