| Haverford College Library
|
Email: hc-special@haverford.edu
Address:
- Quaker and Special Collections
- James P. Magill Library
- 370 Lancaster Avenue
- Haverford, PA 19041-1392
Telephone:610-896-1161
Hours: Libraries and hours
Directions, maps, and parking:
- Visiting Haverford - options available at bottom of page: Directions, Visit Campus, Campus Map
- Campus Map - select "Type", e.g., Visitor Parking
Internet sites and databases:
- Quaker and Special Collections events, blog, features, new books and finding aids.
- Tripod Catalog Tri-College catalog searchable by keyword, author, title, subject, or call number.
- Haverford Library Visitor Information when you arrive, using materials, computing and wireless Internet, printing and copying.
History of Quakerism from 17th-century Britain to the present day in many parts of the world. Collection includes diaries, photos, family papers, Quaker meeting and organizational records; 35,000 books, 2,400 linear feet of manuscripts. Rare books and manuscripts cover all fields of knowledge with particular strengths in American and British history. Founded by Orthodox Quakers, the school is now non-denominational with a Quaker influence.[1] [2]
If you cannot visit or find a source at the Haverford College Library, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
Overlapping Collections
- National Archives at Philadelphia records of federal agencies and courts for Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia, censuses, ships lists, naturalizations, and military records.[3]
- Pennsylvania State Archives, Harrisburg, indexes and original sources of Pennsylvania Archives, such as vital records, military records, naturalization, prisoners, land records, censuses, and ships lists 1728-1808. Also, unfilmed transcripts from many historical societies and courthouses.[4] [5]
- State Library of Pennsylvania, Harrisburg, indexes and surname files, histories, atlases, land records, maps, ship lists, church and cemetery records, censuses, regimental histories, ethnic and religious groups, newspapers, obituaries, naturalizations, and city directories.[6]
Similar Collections
Neighboring Collections
Delaware County
- Delaware County Archives, Lima, births 1852-1855, 1893-1907, deaths 1852-1855, 1893-1906, marriages 1852-1855, 1855-1930, civil and criminal cases, naturalizations 1795-1990, prisoners 1873-1917, wills 1789-1940.[8]
- Delaware County Historical Society, Chester, birth, marriage, burial, census, church, court, genealogical, and land records, maps, newspapers, telephone books, city directories, yearbooks.[9]
- Rachel Kohl Library, Glen Mills, genealogy programs and collection.
Chester County
- Chester County Archives and Records Services, West Chester, online indexes and births 1852-1855, 1893-1907, deaths 1852-1855, 1893-1906, marriages 1852-1855, 1855-1930.[10]
- Chester County Historical Society, West Chester, genealogy, local history, family papers, records of businesses, organizations, churches and schools, maps, newspapers, censuses, and databases.[11]
Lancaster County
- Evangelical and Reformed Historical Society (ERHS), Lancaster, Reformed Church records and genealogy resources including parish registers.[12]
- Franklin and Marshall College Library, Lancaster, "Hessian" (German) soldiers in the American Revolution, history, government, Pennsylvania-German culture, U.S. Civil War.[13]
- Lancaster Mennonite Historical Society, card index to over 800,000 persons, genealogies, local histories, biographies, directories, passenger lists, census, deeds, obituaries, surname files.[14]
Philadelphia County
- Pennsylvania Division of Vital Records, Philadelphia, birth and death records 1906-present.
- Philadelphia City Archives births 1860-1915, marriages 1860-1915, divorces before 1914, deaths 1860-1915, naturalizations 1800-1930 (except 1905-1913), deeds, tax lists, prisoners, mayors' warrants, cemeteries, constables, streets and city directories.
- City of Philadelphia, marriage license records 1885-present.
- City of Philadelphia, divorce records 1875-present.
- City of Philadelphia Department of Records, deeds, mortgages, and partnerships; access to process for obtaining archival birth, death and marriage records.
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, has early Quakers, Germans, Scots-Irish and other ethnic groups in PA, NJ, DE, and states east of the Mississippi River, Balch Institute passenger arrival lists, huge manuscript collection including many indexes, and Philadelphia neighborhood records.
- Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, has great online indexes to books, periodicals, family folders, genealogies, and research aids for Pennsylvania and surrounding states.
- Library Company of Philadelphia has huge German-American collection, Pennsylvanians in the Civil War, and early Philadelphia documents as if it were a second city archives.
- Free Library of Philadelphia very large book collection, periodicals, genealogies, city directories, maps, family folders, vertical files, manuscripts, and Pennsylvania histories.
- University of Pennsylvania Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center, Philadelphia, many manuscripts, newspapers, county records, ethnic sources, denominational records, and county histories.
- Temple University Urban Archives, Philadelphia, churches, fraternal groups, unions, guilds, clubs, businesses, and societies especially related to the growth of Philadelphia and vicinity.
- U.S. District Court Clerk, Eastern District of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, court records.[15]
- American Swedish Historical Museum, Philadelphia, Swedish heritage in the Delaware Valley.
- Chestnut Hill Conservancy, images, maps, real estate atlases, deeds, diaries, genealogies, and oral histories of the western-northern most part of Philadelphia.
- The German Society of Pennsylvania, Catalog and Research Tools, Philadelphia, church history, genealogy, immigrants, immigrant aid records, German newspapers, old GSP memberships, and German-American periodicals.
- Germantown Historical Society (Germantown, Mt. Airy, Chestnut Hill) manuscripts, maps, deeds, business records, newspapers, church and cemetery records, oral histories, and photos.
- Jewish Genealogical Society of Greater Philadelphia, Melrose Park, Jewish genealogy research manuals, society newsletters, regional cemeteries for south PA, NJ, and DE.
- Lutheran Archives Center at Philadelphia, ELCA archives for Eastern Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Upstate New York (excluding New York City) and New England. Includes clergy and synod papers, and some parish registers (baptisms, marriages, funerals, confirmations) (some in German).
- Presbyterian Historical Society, Philadelphia, national archives of the Presbyterian Church (USA).
- Repositories in other surrounding states: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Virginia, West Virginia, and Ontario.
- Historical Society of Delaware Library, Wilmington, colonial records, newspapers, church records, state records, Revolutionary War records, Civil War records, Delaware histories, and genealogies
- Handley Regional Library, Winchester, VA, records of Germans and Scots-Irish who traveled the Great Valley Road from Penn. to Virginia, including manuscripts, newspapers, biographies, and histories.
- Archives of Ontario, Toronto, births, marriages, deaths, wills, land, naturalizations, passenger lists, maps, cemeteries, church, court, military, hospital, schools, city directories, and voters’ lists.
|
