Hanover County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hanover County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Hanover
Organized: 01 May 1721[1]
Parent County(s): New Kent[2]
Variant Spellings: Hannover
Neighboring Counties
Caroline  • Goochland  • Henrico  • King William  • Louisa  • New Kent  • Spotsylvania
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaHanoverCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Hanover County Virginia.PNG
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Hanover County is located in the central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia just north of the state capital, Richmond. Hanover County was named for King George I of England, who was Elector of Hannover in Germany when he came to the throne.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hanover County Courthouse
7530 County Complex Road
Hanover, VA 23069
Phone: 804-365-6151
Hanover County Website

Clerk of the circuit court has marriage, divorce, probate, land and court records from 1865[4]

Hanover County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1865 1853 1865 1865 1865 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
  • Most county court records, particularly deeds, wills, and marriage records, were destroyed by fire in Richmond on 3 April 1865. Circuit Court records are relatively unscathed leaving common law papers and chancery papers after 1831 generated by the Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery, and the later Circuit Court.[6]
  • Weisiger, Benjamin B. Burned County Data 1809-1848 As Found in the Virginia Contested Election Files. Richmond, Va., 1986. FHL Book 975.5 P2w.[7]

Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

King George 1 of England.JPG

The county is named after the Electorate of Hanover in what is today Germany, as King George I of Great Britain (1660-1727) held the title Elector of Hanover at the time of the county's organization.[10]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Hanover silversmiths.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Hanover County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 14,754
1800 14,403 −2.4%
1810 15,082 4.7%
1820 15,267 1.2%
1830 16,253 6.5%
1840 14,968 −7.9%
1850 15,153 1.2%
1860 17,222 13.7%
1870 16,455 −4.5%
1880 18,588 13.0%
1890 17,402 −6.4%
1900 17,618 1.2%
1910 17,200 −2.4%
1920 18,088 5.2%
1930 17,009 −6.0%
1940 18,500 8.8%
1950 21,985 18.8%
1960 27,550 25.3%
1970 37,479 36.0%
1980 50,398 34.5%
1990 63,306 25.6%
2000 86,320 36.4%
2010 99,863 15.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org"

1782 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

  • Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. By Ronald Ray Turner. FHL book 975.5 X2t 1890; film 1425065, item 14. Includes residents of this county.
  • 1890 Veterans Schedules of the U.S. Federal Census. Online at: Ancestry ($). Includes this county.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist

  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Black Creek (1777)[11]
  2. Chickahominy aka Chickahoming (1776).[11] Lists of male members (1812-1826) have been published: Hanover County Historical Society Bulletin, Issue 39 (Nov. 1988).
  3. Hopeful (1807)[11]

Hanover County fell within the bounds of the Dover Association.

Church of England
go to See also St. Martin's Parish
go to See also St. Paul's Parish Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Hanover County is available online.[12]

  • Mason, George Carrington. "The Colonial Churches of New Kent and Hanover Counties, Virginia," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 53, No. 4 (Oct., 1945):243-264. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).

Presbyterian

  • Rachael, William M.E. "Early Minutes of Hanover Presbytery," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 63, No. 1 (Jan., 1955):53-75; Vol. 63, No. 2 (Apr. 1955):161-185. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($). The Hanover Presbytery covered Virginia.

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Beaver Dam Monthly Meeting (1755-1783)Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  • Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting (1721-1860). Attended by "Friends living in the counties of Albemarle, Amelia, Bedford, Campbell, Caroline, Charles City (part), Goochland, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Louisa and Orange counties and Richmond City." Mary Marshall Brewer, Quaker Records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793 (Lewes, De.: Colonial Roots, 2002), Introduction. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b.
  • Bell, James P. Our Quaker Friends of Ye Olden Time: Being in Part a Transcript of the Minute Books of Cedar Creek Meeting, Hanover County, and the South River Meeting, Campbell County, Va. J.P. Bell Publishers, Lynchburg, VA., 1905. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Hinshaw, William Wade, and Marshall, Thomas W. Encyclopedia of American Quaker genealogy. FHL Book 973 D2he v. 6. Edwards Bros., Ann Arbor, MI., 1950. FHL Book 973 D2he v. 6.
  • Brewer, Mary Marshall. Quaker records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b.
  • Meyer, Harold I. Cedar Creek Meeting House, Hanover County, Virginia," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 64, No. 4 (Oct., 1956):454-457, available on JSTOR ($), FHL Book 975.5 BD27M v. 64 (1956)).
  • Pisquinoqy Swamp Monthly Meeting (1719-1775) aka Grassy Swamp aka Swamp

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Chancery Court

  • Indexes and images to Hanover County, Virginia Chancery Records 1831-1913 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.
  • Cocke, William Ronald. Hanover County Chancery Wills and Notes. A Compendium of Genealogical, Biographical and Historical Material as Contained in Cases of the Chancery Suits of Hanover County, Virginia. Columbia, Va.: W.R. Cocke, 1940. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library. Reviewed by John M. Jennings in The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct., 1940):575-576. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($). Reviewed by R.A. Stewart in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 48, No. 3 (Jul., 1940):284. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).

County Court

  • "Records of Hanover County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 21, No. 1 (Jul., 1912):47-63; Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jan., 1913):143-162; Vol. 22, No. 2 (Oct. 1913):114-130; Vol. 22, No. 3 (Jan. 1914):169-174; Vol. 23, No. 1 (Jul. 1914):21-30; Vol. 23, No. 2 (Oct. 1914):117-126. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($). ["There are only two old books in the Clerk's Office of Hanover county, Va. The oldest, designated the 'Small Book' in these notes, covers the years 1734 and 1735, and contains orders, wills, deeds, etc. The other, 'The Larger Book' of these notes, is a deed book for 1780-1790." (21:47)]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American
In 1790, Hanover County had one of the largest enslaved populations in the state (8223 slaves).[13]

"Hanover County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1815," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]

Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized images related to African Americans of Hanover County.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surnme

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Blankenship, Gayle King. Virginia Families of Louisa, Hanover and Monroe Counties. Poquoson, Va.: G.K. Blankenship, 1991. FHL Book 975.5 D2bg
  • Cocke, William Ronald. Hanover County Chancery Wills and Notes: A Compendium of Genealogical, Biographical and Historical Material as Contained in Cases of the Chancery Suits of Hanover County, Virginia. Columbia, Va.: W.R. Cocke, 1940. FHL Film 1421575 Item 4; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Evans, June Banks. Men of Matadequin, Three Hundred Years from New Kent County: Sourcebook for Related Lines, Banks, Blackwell, Burnett, Durvin, Gaulding, Goodman, Lipscomb, McGhee, Parsley, Slaughter, Weisiger, Wood, Zall. New Orleans, La.: Bryn Ffyliaid Publications, 1984. FHL Book 975.54 D2e

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Deeds

  • "Records of Hanover County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 21, No. 1 (Jul., 1912):47-63; Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jan., 1913):143-162; Vol. 22, No. 2 (Oct. 1913):114-130; Vol. 22, No. 3 (Jan. 1914):169-174; Vol. 23, No. 1 (Jul. 1914):21-30; Vol. 23, No. 2 (Oct. 1914):117-126. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($). ["There are only two old books in the Clerk's Office of Hanover county, Va. The oldest, designated the 'Small Book' in these notes, covers the years 1734 and 1735, and contains orders, wills, deeds, etc. The other, 'The Larger Book' of these notes, is a deed book for 1780-1790." (21:47)]

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Sullivan and Hudgins. 451 patents dated 1653-1819 in what is now Hanover County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2008. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Lancaster, Robert Bolling. A Sketch of the Early History of Hanover County, Virginia, and Its Large and Important Contributions to the American Revolution. Richmond, Va.: Whittet and Shepperson for the Bicentennial Committee for Hanover County, 1976. Reviewed by W. Alexander Mabry in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 85, No. 1 (Jan., 1977):110-111. Review available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Henrico CountyGoochland CountyLouisa CountySpotsylvania CountCaroline CountyKing William CountyNew Kent CountyVA HANOVER.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1977):287-292. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Hanover County's 1788-1789 Delinquent Lists appear on pp. 290-291.]
  • Glazebrook, Eugenia G. and Preston G. Glazebrook. Virginia Migrations. Hanover Co. Vol. I. 1723-1850. Wills, Deeds, Depositions, Invoices, Letters and other Documents. Richmond, Va. Reviewed by Beverley Fleet in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 52, No. 2 (Apr., 1944):161-162. Review available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. Online at: Ancestry ($). Identifies some Hanover County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Internet Archive. Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Hanover County, see pp. 86-87, 111.
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.


Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshals of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Eastern District, Hanover County on page 131.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.

Regiments. Service men in Hanover County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Hanover County supplied soldiers for the:

- 5th Virginia Regiment
- 14th Virginia Regiment (1st Company, possibly 6th Company)[14]


War of 1812

  • Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL. [Includes Hanover County.]
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). See Vol. 5, Virginia, Hanover County, p. 83. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Regiments. Hanover County men served in the 74th Regiment.[15]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Hanover County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 4th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 15th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Patrick Henry Rifles), Company E (Ashland Grays), and Company I (Hanover Grays).[16]
- 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Ambler Grays).[17]
- 56th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Harrison's Guards).[18]

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Hanover County:

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Local Court

  • "Records of Hanover County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 21, No. 1 (Jul., 1912):47-63; Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jan., 1913):143-162; Vol. 22, No. 2 (Oct. 1913):114-130; Vol. 22, No. 3 (Jan. 1914):169-174; Vol. 23, No. 1 (Jul. 1914):21-30; Vol. 23, No. 2 (Oct. 1914):117-126. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($). ["There are only two old books in the Clerk's Office of Hanover county, Va. The oldest, designated the 'Small Book' in these notes, covers the years 1734 and 1735, and contains orders, wills, deeds, etc. The other, 'The Larger Book' of these notes, is a deed book for 1780-1790." (21:47)]

London Courts

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of York River and Hanover County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

Original Wills

  • Bazile, Leon M. "The Wills of the Reverend Patrick Henry [dated and proved in 1777] and Walter Coles [dated and proved in 1815] of Hanover County, Virginia," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 58, No. 1 (Jan., 1950):120-130. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($). [Source: certified copies of original wills.]
  • Cocke, William Ronald. Hanover County Chancery Wills and Notes. A Compendium of Genealogical, Biographical and Historical Material as Contained in Cases of the Chancery Suits of Hanover County, Virginia. Columbia, Va.: W.R. Cocke, 1940. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library and World Vital Records ($). Reviewed by John M. Jennings in The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct., 1940):575-576. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($). Reviewed by R.A. Stewart in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 48, No. 3 (Jul., 1940):284. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Cole, Robert F. and Marguerite S. Parrish. "Will of William Fleming Sheriff of Hanover County, Virginia, 1727-1728," [dated 1742, proved 1744] The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct., 1935):424-427. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($). [Found in Louisa Co., Va. Chancery Suit "McAllister versus Bibb, May, 1770," found in loose papers at the Louisa County Courthouse.]
  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1987. Available at FHL. [Includes Hanover County.]
  • King, George H.S. "Will of George Hudson of Hanover County, Virginia," [dated 1770, proved 1773] The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 66, No. 1 (Jan., 1958):85-87. Available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($). [King found this will among the Henry Clay Papers at the Library of Congress. Clay was Hudson's grandson.]
  • "Will of Robert Jennings, 1750," Typescript, Library of Virginia. Genealogical Notes [Collection] Box 6, Jen. Microfilmed. FHL Film 29885 Item 1

Probate

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Original versions
Original Hanover County land tax lists are held at the Library of Virginia. Microfilm reproductions (years: 1782-1863): FHL Films 29931-29938. Original Hanover County personal property tax lists are also held at the Library of Virginia. Microfilm reproductions (years: 1782-1863): FHL Films 31946-31953; (years: 1792-1828): FHL Films 29297-29298

Published versions

  • 1753-1763 Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Rent Roll of Hanover County, Virginia, 1753-1763," The Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 1 (Spring 2000):71-80. FHL Book 929.105 G286n v. 14 (2000) [Discovered at The National Archives, Kew, England, Reference AO 13/30/110-129.]
  • 1763, 1770 Woodson, Robert F. and Isobel B. Woodson. Virginia Tithables from Burned Record Counties: Buckingham, 1773-1774; Gloucester, 1770-1771, 1774-1775; Hanover, 1763 and 1770; James City, 1768-1769; Stafford, 1768 and 1773. Richmond, Va.: I.B. Woodson, 1970. FHL Book 975.5 R4w
  • 1782-1815 Heinegg, Paul. "Hanover County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1815," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1782-1815 Cocke, William Ronald, III. Hanover County Taxpayers Saint Paul's Parish 1782-1815: A Register of Taxpayers, with Legends, Together with Individual Lists and Descriptions of Their Assessable Personal Property. 1956; reprint, Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2000. Original edition: FHL Book 975.5462 R4c; digital version at Ancestry ($).
    • Reviewed by Malcolm H. Harris in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 65, No. 1 (Jan., 1957):117-118. Review available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1782-1863 Personal property tax lists of Hanover County [Virginia 1782-1863] at FamilySearch; images
  • 1783 Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; transcribed index online at Revolutionary War Service - scroll to Virginia section.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. FHL Book 975.5 R4sn v. 2 [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Hanover County appears in Vol. 2.]
  • 1788-1789 Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1977):287-292. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 21 (1977); digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Hanover County's 1788-1789 Delinquent Lists appear on pp. 290-291.]
  • 1792-1828 Personal property tax lists of Hanover County [Virginia 1792-1828] at FamilySearch; images
  • 1799 1799 Personal Property Tax List online at Genealogy Trails - free.
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Saint Martin's Parish, The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 6, No. 3 (Jul. 1962). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 6 (1962); digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 29, No. 1 (Jan. 1985); Vol. 29, No. 2 (Apr. 1985). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 29, digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. FHL Book 975 E4w v. 1. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Hanover County is included in Vol. 1.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Vital Record Substitutes

  • Early marriage registers have been lost. Yates, a professional genealogist, collected marriage data on residents of Hanover County, Virginia from a variety of substitute sources:[27]
  • Yates, Helen Kay. Some Early Marriages of Hanover County, Virginia. Mechanicsville, Va., 2004.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Ljundstedt discovered a few early marriage licenses:

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Hanover County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Hanover County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Hanover County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t [For Hanover County, see p. 58]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Newberry
  3. http://www.co.hanover.va.us/history.htm
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 2-3, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  7. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Burned County Data 1809-1848," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 31, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1987):60-61.
  8. Newberry
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Hanover _ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hanover_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 20 January 2020.
  10. Wikipedia Contributors, "Hanover County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hanover_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 118-119. Digital versions at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive.
  12. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  13. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  14. E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 71. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  15. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 101. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  16. Louis H. Manari, 15th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 78.
  17. Kevin C. Ruffner, 44th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 39.
  18. William A. Young Jr. and Patricia C. Young, 56th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 63.
  19. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)
  20. Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  21. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)
  22. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  23. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  24. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)
  25. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  26. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
  27. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Some Early Marriages of Hanover County, Virginia," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 49, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2005):159. digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($); FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 49 (2005).
  28. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.