Hancock County, Maine Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hancock County, Maine ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Ellsworth
Organized: May 1, 1790[1]
Parent County(s): Lincoln [2]
Neighboring Counties
Waldo  • Penobscot  • Washington
See County Maps
Courthouse
Maine, Hancock County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Me-hancock.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Hancock County was named for John Hancock. The county is located in the southeastern area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hancock County Courthouse
70 State Street
Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone: 207-667-4621
Hancock County Website

Town clerks have birth, marriage and death records. Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce and court records. Probate office has probate records. County Clerk has marriage records 1789-1891. [4]

Hancock County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1892 1789 1892 1790 1790 1790 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1892. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1933 Hancock Hall, which housed the records for the City of Ellsworth, was destroyed by fire on May 7, 1933. [6]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

MaineHancock CountyWaldo CountyKnox CountyPenobscot CountyPiscataquis CountyWashington CountyPenobscot Indian Island ReservationTownship 4 North Division and North Strip (aka Oqiton Township)Township 3 NDTownship 41 MDTownship 40 MDTownship 39 MDTownship 32 MDGreat PondTownship 34 MDTownship 35 MDTownship 28 MD BPPAuroraAmherstMariavilleOsbornTownship 22 MDTownship 16 MDEastbrookWalthamOtisDedhamBucksportVerona IslandOrlandEllsworthFletchers Landing TownshipFranklinTownship 9 SDTownship 10 SDTownship 7 SDGouldsboroWinter HarborSorrentoSullivanHancockLamoineTrentonBar HarborMount DesertCranberry IslesSouthwest HarborTremontSwan's IslandFrenchboroSurryPenobscotBlue HillCastineBrooksvilleSedgwickEagle Island TownshipBrooklinDeer IsleStoningtonIsle au HautVinalhavenNorth HavenIslesboroLincolnvilleNorthportBelfastSearsportStockton SpringsProspectSwanvilleFrankfortMonroeWinterportSteubenMilbridgeHarringtonCherryfieldColumbiaDebloisTownship 18 MDTownship 19 MDTownship 25 Middle DivisionTownship 24 MDBeddingtonDevereau TownshipTownship 30 MDDay Block Township (Township 31 MD BPP)Township 37 MDTownship 36 MDTownship 43 MDTownship 42 MDSakom Township (Township 5 NDTownship 6 NDGrand Lake Stream (Plantation)Township 6 R1 NTalmadgeOrneville TownshipMedfordMiloLake View PlantationBrownvilleNewburghHampdenOrringtonHoldenBrewerEddingtonCliftonCarmelHermonBangorVeazieBradleyOronoGlenburnKenduskeagLevantOld TownMilfordGreenfield TownshipSummit TownshipGrand Falls TownshipCorinthCharlestonHudsonBradfordAltonArgyle TownshipGreenbushLagrangeEdinburgPassadumkeagHowlandMaxfieldEnfieldSeboeis PlantationTownship 2 R8 NWPMattamiscontis TownshipChesterLowellLincolnBurlingtonTwombly Ridge Township (3 R1 N)LeeSpringfieldLakevilleCarroll PlantationWhitney Township (aka Pukakon) (5 R1 NBPP)Kossuth TownshipTopsfield
Modern town borders in Hancock County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.


For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[9]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Census-designated places
Unorganized territories


Extinct Towns and Plantations:[10] Eagle Island Military Plantation | Islandport | Mansel | Number 28 MD Plantation | Seaville[11]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Hancock County, Maine online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maine Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 9,542
1800 16,358 71.4%
1810 30,031 83.6%
1820 31,290 4.2%
1830 24,336 −22.2%
1840 28,605 17.5%
1850 34,372 20.2%
1860 37,757 9.8%
1870 36,495 −3.3%
1880 38,129 4.5%
1890 37,312 −2.1%
1900 37,241 −0.2%
1910 35,575 −4.5%
1920 30,361 −14.7%
1930 30,721 1.2%
1940 32,422 5.5%
1950 32,105 −1.0%
1960 32,293 0.6%
1970 34,590 7.1%
1980 41,781 20.8%
1990 46,948 12.4%
2000 51,791 10.3%
2010 54,418 5.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Hancock Maine Genealogy
Website

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Maine Land and Property for databases, early land grants to individuals, and more information.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Hancock County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information, see Maine Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Penobscot CountyWaldo CountyHancock CountyWashington CountyME Hancock.jpg
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]


Revolutionary War


Civil War


Regiment. Civil War service men in Hancock County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Regiment, Maine Infantry, Company B.


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. For databases and more information, see Maine Taxation

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Abbe Museum
"Inspiring New Learning About the Wabanaki Nations with Every Visit"
Two Locations:
26 Mount Desert Street
Bar Harbor, Maine 04609

Abbe at Sieur de Monts Spring
Acadia National Park
(207)288-3519

Societies[edit | edit source]

Hancock County Genealogy Society
Website
Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Hancock County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hancock_County,_Maine."
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hancock County, 181, and 304. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hancock County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
  6. Ellsworth, ME Great Fire, May 1933 http://www.gendisasters.com/maine/11041/ellsworth-me-great-fire-disaster-may-7-1933
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub.,2002), Maine.At various libraries (WorldCat);FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Hancock County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hancock_County,_Maine, accessed 8 March 2019.
  10. Before an extinct town was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  11. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 99. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.