Hampton County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hampton County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Hampton
Organized: February 18, 1878 [1]
Parent County(s): Beaufort
Variant Spellings: Hompton[2]
Neighboring Counties
Allendale  • Bamberg  • Beaufort  • Colleton  • Effingham (GA)  • Jasper  • Screven (GA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Hampton County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-hampton.png
Adoption
U.S. Congressman Wade Hampton (1752-1835) of South Carolina

[3]

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Confederate Civil War general Wade Hampton, who in the late 1870s was elected as governor of South Carolina. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[4]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hampton County Courthouse
1 Elm Street
Hampton, SC 29924
Phone: 803-914-2252
Hampton County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken[5]

Hampton County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1878 1878 1878 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1890 Lost census

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Nixville


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Hampton County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1880 18,741
1890 20,544 9.6%
1900 23,738 15.5%
1910 25,126 5.8%
1920 19,550 −22.2%
1930 17,243 −11.8%
1940 17,465 1.3%
1950 18,027 3.2%
1960 17,425 −3.3%
1970 15,878 −8.9%
1980 18,159 14.4%
1990 18,191 0.2%
2000 21,386 17.6%
2010 21,090 −1.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

All Saints’ Church, Hampton County, South Carolina Genealogy describes parish records held by the South Carolina Historical Society.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans
United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png African American Resources for South Carolina
Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Bear Head Tract
  • Belmont - Garnett
  • Bo Peep
  • Boggy - Estill
  • Bonnywood
  • Bostick - Estill
  • Broxton Bridge
  • Buckfield - Yemassee
  • Cotton Hall
  • Cubbage Hill
  • Cypress Vale
  • Gravel Hill - Garnett
  • Gregorie Farms
  • Gregory
  • Groton - Solomons Crossroads
  • Hamilton Ridge
  • Ingleside
  • Jericho
  • New Castle
  • Oak Grove - Brunson
  • Oak Ridge
  • Pleasant Hill
  • Possum Corner
  • Sunny Side
  • Upper Place
  • Woodside - Estill
  • Woodstock - Shirley

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Hampton County with Parent Counties and Districts [10]
Date Government Office
1878-present Hampton County
1868-1878 Beaufort County
1865-1868 Beaufort District
1769-1865 Beaufort District Records Lost
1710-1769 Charleston District
1670-1710 Proprietary Land Grants


This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification.All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative. Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

  • Sherrard, Thomas H. A Working Plan for Forest Lands in Hampton and Beaufort Counties, South Carolina. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1903. Digital version at Google Books.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Lewis, Carolyn Baker. "The World around Hampton: Post-Bellum Life on a South Carolina Plantation," Agricultural History, Vol. 58, No. 3, Symposium on the History of Rural Life in America (Jul., 1984), pp. 456-476. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Hampton County Tricentennial Commission.Both Sides of the Swamp, Hampton County ([S.l.] Hampton County Tricentennial Commission, c1970 ), 191 pages. Not from classic sources but from quotations from letters and diaries, articles, editorials, speeches, songs and legends, the legends of memory bequeathed from one generation to another and, includes some biographies, pages 164-179. Book found at FHL 975.797 H2b and Other Libraries.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Screven CountyEffingham CountyJasper CountyBeaufort CountyColleton CountyBamberg CountyAllendale CountySC HAMPTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Hompton County [sic], p. 185. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Hampton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that were formed with many men from Hampton County:

- 2nd Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry Reserves, Company B (also known as the Marion Men of Combahee)
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A (also known as the Marion Men of Combahee), Company E (also known as the Calhoun Mounted Men or Calhoun Minute Men), and Company F (also known as the St. Peter's Guards)

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Hampton County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Hampton County.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Marriages - Indexes and Records

  • 1911-1950 Hampton County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. 1911-1950 [11] FHL Collection - index and records
  • 1911-1954 Hampton County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1911-1954 [12] FHL Collection - records
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found insome counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths - Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Hampton County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Hampton County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Libraries
Hampton County Library'
Address:
12 Locust Street
Hampton, SC 29924
Telephone: (803)943-7528
Catalog: Click here
Library Hours: Monday - Thursday 11:00 am -to 7:00 pm, Friday 11:00 am to 5:00 pm,Saturday 10:00 am to 2:00 pmWebsite

The Hampton County Library is part of the Allendale, Hampton, Jasper Regional Library System. The regional system headquarters is in Allendale. The libraries in this system share their catalog.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Hampton Museum and Visitors' Center
Address:
15 Elm St. E.
Hampton, SC 29924
Phone: (803) 943-5318
E-mail: hmvc9891@yahoo.com
Hours: Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m., 1st Sunday of the month 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m., other times by appointment
Genealogy sources: There are over 50 books to assist with family history and the museum has inventoried over 125 cemeteries. An alphabetical list of people in all cemeteries is available. There re also 5,000 or more photographs to assist in researchWebsite

Exhilits: There are a number of ehibits in the Museum

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Hampton County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Hampton County Historical Society
702 First Street West
PO Box 152
Hampton, SC 29924
(803) 943-5484
E-mail: contact@hchssc.org
Website Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  2. List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883), 185. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive.
  3. The county is named after U.S. Congressman Wade Hampton (1752-1835) of South Carolina."List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, Hampton County, South Carolina in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hampton County, South Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
  5. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hampton County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  7. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Hampton County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hampton_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 24 December 2019.
  10. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  11. South Carolina. Probate Court (Hampton County), Hampton County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. 1911-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001.
  12. South Carolina. Probate Court (Hampton County), Hampton County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1911-1954, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2002.